• Information
  • Details
  • Map
  • Products 5
  • Deals 1
  • Reviews 84

A boutique style holiday park centrally located in the Marlborough Sounds.

Smiths Farm was developed in 1997 by Chris and Barbara Faulls. Situated on Barbara's family farm, guests can relax and soak up the sights and sounds of paradise or opt to explore the wonderful local area.

Wander through the farm to the bush walk that leads you to a big waterfall. Try our night time adventure and visit the glow worms in their magical dell. Feed the pet animals and just enjoy being in the country in a unique part of NZ.

Just 3km away at Anakiwa is the start of the Queen Charlotte Track. Talk to Chris and Barbara about options for walking, mountain biking or kayaking on the Queen Charlotte Track or in the Queen Charlotte Sound itself.

Take a mail boat cruise, hop on a scenic cruise or a mussel cruise or pilot your own boat at your leisure.

The Waikakaho Walkway is also just a few kilometres away and you can explore the old goldmining area of Cullensville.

If that doesn't take your fancy, then drive the 40minutes to Blenheim and either self drive around the many vineyards and attractions or hop onboard a guided tour. Sample some of the amazing fresh food at the many excellent restaurants and cafes or visit the Saturday artisan's market or the Farmers market on Sunday.

Learn more…

Cattle at Smiths Farm

Cattle at Smiths Farm

Smiths Farm Holiday Park

Smiths Farm Holiday Park

Contact Details

Email: cbfaulls@xtra.co.nz

Website: Smiths Farm Holiday Park - Havelock

Phone: (03) 574 2806

Havelock Address:
1419 Queen Charlotte Drive, Linkwater

map

Smiths Farm is located 13km from Havelock and 22km from Picton.

  • Default

    Tent Site

    Our tent sites are spacious and quiet.

    Base Rate (2 persons) $32/day
    Adult $16/day
    Child $5/day
  • Default

    Powered Site

    We have twelve powered sites.

    Base Rate (2 persons) $36/day
    Adult $18/day
    Child $5/day
  • Default

    Standard Cabin

    These are one room units and you share facilities such as showers and toilets in the main building.

    Base Rate (2 persons) $60/day
    Extra Adult $20/day
    Extra Child $7/day
  • Default

    Self-Contained Unit

    We have two self-contained units.

    Base Rate (2 persons) $110/day
    Extra Adult $23/day
    Extra Child $10/day
  • Default

    Park Motel

    Two roomed unit in the peace of the country.

    Base Rate (2 persons) $130/day
    Extra Adult $25/day
    Extra Child $12/day

View All 204 Deals

Access Hundreds of $$ of savings from just $1 per day.

82 reviews with the most recent first, showing page 1 of 7.

Daniel Unkel's avatar

Daniel Unkel

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

Super nature, friendly pets, yummie muffins, impressive night walk, warm shower cabin, our children loved this place.

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Eric Adelman's avatar

Eric Adelman

Ranking: 10/10

What a fantastic place. The owners are friendly and incredibly helpful. The facilities are clean and well maintained. The waterfall and glow-worm grotto are spectacular. This was one of the best places we stayed during our month in New Zealand. Highly recommended!

Alan Honey's avatar

Alan Honey

United Kingdom

Ranking: 9/10

We stayed here in a self contained campervan the night before catching the ferry, for which it was ideal. We much appreciated the warm muffin and sheep food on arrival. We arrived just in time to walk up to the waterfall for dusk and to see the glowworms, which we enjoyed. A torch and sturdy footwear were essential. The tail end of a cyclone went through overnight. In the morning the pitches were wet and muddy, but we had no problem getting off or accessing the dump station.

Smiths Farm Holiday Park - Havelock is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Jo Clarke's avatar

Jo Clarke

Ranking: 8/10

Lovely spot. We arrived late at night and in torrential rain. Too wet to tent as planned with the area hit by the edges of Cyclone Cook. Our hosts went out of their way to sort us into a cabin overnight. Cabin was warm and clean. A fire was burning in the common area, and we were welcomed with a little basket of fresh, warm muffins. Will definitely be back to stay longer, in our tents and the sunshine!

Jason Morehouse's avatar

Jason Morehouse

Canada

Ranking: 10/10

We were on our way to Nelson and need a stop over as our ferry got in later. We were just planning to pop in, sleep and head out. We were warmly greeted when checking in and felt very welcome (warm muffins go a long way). After arriving, we considered staying another night to explore the area, but the timing didn't work out -- next time.

The place is spotless and compared to other parks we've stayed in very roomy (doesn't feel like a parking lot). We met several friendly families and overall the place had a very good feeling to it.

Highlights for the kids were the animals on the farm and the hike to the glow worms at dusk as suggested by the hosts. A bag of feed was also provided for each child at check-in. With three weeks in our campervan, this was an unexpected highlight for all of us.

Great value for the price and amazing hosts that made you feel like family, even for a short stay. Highly recommended, especially if you are travelling with children.

Thanks,
-Jason

Avoid Camping Fines!

The only camping map where each location is approved by every regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Alan Brown's avatar

Alan Brown

United Kingdom

Ranking: 5/10

Friendly and helpful welcome, with lots of information. The lady booked our kayaking trip for us. Powered pitches quite small. But the real complaint was with the facilities. For toilets: 1 male, 1 female, 1 disabled and 1 urinal. This was a big campsite and we quite often had to wait for a free toilet. Showers were similarly inadequate. There were no separate wash basins, so people were cleanng their teeth in the laundry sinks.With a second shower block this site would be transformed, as there were a large number of tent users who really needed good facilities.

Smiths Farm Holiday Park - Havelock responds:

Hi Alan, We are disappointed that you did not come and talk to us before posting your comments. Our powered sites are actually above the average size in NZ. We are not a big park: we believe we are actually the smallest holiday park or campsite by allowed number of guests and powered/tent sites in NZ. We limit our numbers to 80 people at any one time (and our motels and self contained Units have their own showers, toilets, kitchens, etc). Yes, we only have one access unisex facility, one female toilet, one male toilet and one urinal. We have the correct amount for our allowed guests on tent sites. As for the sinks in the laundry area, they are for brushing your teeth in. There is one main laundry sink which is right next to the washing machine, the other two sinks are for face washing and teeth brushing. There are also sinks in the toilet areas which people use to brush their teeth. We are a small privately owned park: we are not some big chain park and make no claim to be one. Those people preferring lots of showers and toilets can also expect lots of other people, i.e big parks= big amounts of people: this won't ever be happening here as we prefer to stay small and personal so that we can continue to give a friendly and helpful service. When the park is full, we stay up often until midnight each night to ensure that the facilities are kept in a clean and hygienic manner.

Matthias Wohlgemuth's avatar

Matthias Wohlgemuth

Ranking: 7/10

A powered site for 2 people costs $36. Family friendly campsite. For the greeting you get a muffin and food for the sheep and goats. Glowworms can be seen very close by. Unfortunately, only three showers which are a little shabby. Too little for all the families. Fortunately the toilets are separate. Mediocre cost / benefit ratio.

Smiths Farm Holiday Park - Havelock responds:

Thank you for your review Matthias and we are sorry that you had a mediocre experience. We note that when you stayed with us it was the very height of the Christmas/New Year holiday season and so we were at "No vacancy" with 80 people in the park (which is our limit). Yes, we only have three showers and three toilets plus a urinal: this is what we are required to have on a ratio to guests as at least 20 of the guests use their own showers and toilets in their self contained units or motels. The cost of $36 for two adults on a powered site has been the same since 2010 and is below the average cost in NZ (even for some DOC sites). We believe it is a fair and reasonable cost for what you get: power, hot and cold (safe to drink) water, rubbish disposal, waste water disposal, animals to feed, a walk to the glowworms, security, information about the local area and the rest of NZ and muffins, plus courteous, friendly service. We also try very hard to keep the facilities clean for all of our guests. We clean the main building in the morning, check it regularly through the day and clean it again at 11.30pm in the evening.

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Leilani Lemusu-Read's avatar

Leilani Lemusu-Read

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

We love Smiths. The beautiful hospitality of the hosts matches the stunning landscape in which you find this farm park. If you're looking for a truly relaxing holiday experience, Smiths can give you what you're looking for - from the amazing mountain views, to the well kept facilities, to the animals you can pet and feed, to the wonderful walks.

Smiths Farm Holiday Park - Havelock responds:

Thank you so much for your review Leilani. It was lovely seeing you again and meeting your new addition to the family was a highlight! Sadly, the weather wasn't so great while you were here, but we're pleased you had fun anyway. All the very best for 2017 and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Barbara and Chris

Kathrin Weigl's avatar

Kathrin Weigl

Ranking: 10/10

Awesome place, very clean facilities. Owners are so friendly.

Smiths Farm Holiday Park - Havelock responds:

Thank you Kathrin! It was lovely meeting you both and we wish you all the best for the rest of your travels around NZ. Kind Regards, Barbara and Chris

Campgrounds

Award-1-24px Congratulations Smiths Farm Holiday Park - Havelock

We love how Smiths Farm chooses a humble cow for their profile picture. Their customer service levels are anything but humble.

Top Ranked NZ Awards 2016 Campgrounds Supreme Winner

Yachar Tajamady's avatar

Yachar Tajamady

Ranking: 10/10

Best campground ever. The surroundings are really beautiful and calm. Owners are so kind and helpful, they offered us muffins on our arrival, explained us everything. They give you food for the animals (sheep, goats) so you may feed them, original and fun ! And the facilities are a breeze. Thank you so much !

Smiths Farm Holiday Park - Havelock responds:

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you found it beautiful and calm as we have tried to create a park-like feeling where guests can really relax and just unwind after stressful times at work or the exhaustion of travelling. The sheep are looking particularly fat at present as they are so well fed and the Spring grass is very lush! We hope that the rest of your travels in NZ go well. Kind Regards, Barbara and Chris

Tina Brill's avatar

Tina Brill

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

Very friendly welcome and very helpful. The warm muffins went down well with a cuppa once we were sorted. Site small and adequately equipped. Great fun feeding the sheep. Didn't make it to the waterfall and glow worms due to not having right footwear for the conditions under foot. Be warned - if there's been lots of rain there are some boggy bits. Overall would definitely recommend this site

Smiths Farm Holiday Park - Havelock responds:

Thank you for your review Tina. Yes, we have had a lot of rain this summer so there are some boggy patches but we always try to point them out to guests so they don't end up in them! On the plus side, the waterfall is amazing with the extra Spring rain and is well worth a visit (although the track is slippery). The glow worms are also awesome at the moment and the sheep are still greedy!. We hope that the rest of your travels went well and that you had a fantastic time. Kind Regards, Barbara and Chris

Smiths Farm Holiday Park - Havelock is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Robert Ciarrocchi's avatar

Robert Ciarrocchi

Ranking: 10/10

Absolutely exceptional park with amazing staff, superb facilities, and great winter deals (3 days for the price of 2). Free hot showers, dairy and petrol down the road, lovely scenery. When I was sick they brought me lemons and honey! Could very well be the best park in NZ!

Smiths Farm Holiday Park - Havelock responds:

Thanks Bob! We're sorry that you caught the flu and weren't so well while you were here, but it's great that you managed to see some of the lovely Marlborough countryside anyway. All the best for your stay in ChCh. Kind Regards, Barbara and Chris

Courtney's avatar

Courtney

Ranking: 10/10

What an amazing stay! Welcoming and warm atmosphere, great info on what to do in the area, short walk to see the glow worms and a stunning waterfall. Nice grassy sites, very clean amenities, great little fire in the winter in the kitchen area. We loved our short stay here. Farm animals were fun as well! Sheep, bunny rabbits, a goat and some chooks. Highly recommended, only a short 30 min drive from Picton so works really well if leaving on the Ferry the next day or a great place to stay after a long ferry ride!

Smiths Farm Holiday Park - Havelock responds:

Thank you Courtney! We're pleased that you felt so welcome and enjoyed your stay even though it was short. Hope the ferry trip and the rest of your stay in NZ went well. Kind Regards, Barbara and Chris

Smiths Farm Holiday Park - Havelock Products

Medium

Tent Site

Our tent sites are spacious and quiet.

Medium

Powered Site

We have twelve powered sites.

Medium

Standard Cabin

These are one room units and you share facilities such as showers and toilets in the main building.

Medium

Self-Contained Unit

We have two self-contained units.

Medium

Park Motel

Two roomed unit in the peace of the country.