Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday...

Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park

85%

Details

123 Rankers Reviews

72 Face-to-Face

167 Camping Grounds

92 Dump Station

16 Whitianga

Maps

Photos

Deluxe Villa

Information

A visit to New Zealand is not complete without soaking in a hot pool you have created with your own hands - at the world renowned Hot Water Beach.

Hot Water Beach Top 10 is a family owned and operated Holiday Park, located just 700 metres from one of the top surf beaches on the stunning Coromandel Peninsula.

Our holiday park accommodation has a wide range of choices to satisfy the needs of all travellers. From our deluxe family villas, deluxe villas, ensuite villas, two or three bedroom motel, ensuite units, deluxe cabins, standard cabins, backpacker lodge, through to powered and non powered sites.

Most of our well-sheltered sites are 10m x 10m, so there is plenty of room for all your camping gear - even the boat! We've got a great range of on-site facilities, and we're within walking distance from the cafes and art shops.

Free spade hire is available.

Learn more…

Details

Feature Value Info

Location

North IslandCoromandelWhitianga

Categories

  • Dump Station
  • Camping Grounds

Contact

Calllocal

Callintl

Accommodations

  • Thumb

    Deluxe Family Villas

    A wonderful choice of accommodation, especially for families who like to indulge a little while on holiday.

    Base Rate (4 persons) $280/day
  • Thumb

    Deluxe Villas

    A wonderful choice of accommodation, especially for couples who like to indulge a little while on holiday.

    Base Rate (4 persons) $280/day
  • Thumb

    Deluxe Cabins

    Our deluxe cabins are uniquely designed and hand crafted from New Zealand grown timber. These are a rewarding option for the traveller on a tighter budget.

    Base Rate (2 persons) $100/day
  • Thumb

    En-Suite Units

    Our en-suite units are a great choice for families, with full bathroom facilities and sleeping four people.

    Base Rate (2 persons) $150/day
    Extra adult $25/day
    Extra child $25/day
  • Thumb

    Family Cabins

    Our family cabins are clean, affordable and are ideal for families or groups travelling together.

    Base Rate (2 persons) $100/day
    Extra adult $25/day
    Extra child $25/day
  • Thumb

    Queen, Trio & Twin Cabins

    Our queen cabins are clean, affordable and are perfect for couples. Our twin cabins contain twin beds, sleeping two people and our trio cabin option contains a trio bunk set sleeping up to three people.

    Base Rate (2 persons) $90/day
    Extra Adult $25/day
    Extra Child $25/day
  • Thumb

    Backpackers Lodge

    Finish your day chilling out on the sprawling deck of the brand new, purpose built, self-contained backpacker lodges at Hot Water Beach, just a couple of minutes walk from the beach.

    Adult/Child $30/day
  • Thumb

    Powered Camp Sites

    Powered sites are designed for the modern camper. Eight of these are drive-through, so there is no awkward reversing required for larger campervans or motorhomes!

    Adult $22/day
    Child $12/day
  • Thumb

    Non-Powered Sites

    Our non-powered sites are great for tents of all sizes, as well as vans or motorhomes that require no power, looking for a safe haven for a night or two.

    Adult $22/day
    Child $12/day

Reviews

Showing 13 reviews of 114.

TOP 10 Holiday Park Member

Sign up as a TOP 10 Member and receive 10% off every stay.

Member Benefits

Edward Lowe's avatar

Edward Lowe

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

Wouldn't bother with the actual hot water beach itself if we come to NZ again, but this holiday park was good. Had a nice campervan parking spot with bushes either side for privacy. Bathroom was good, could have done with a bit more counter space, but that's all I can say for negative. Showers were free and had good temperature and pressure.

Reviewed about 1 month ago

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Geoff Walker's avatar

Geoff Walker

Ranking: 10/10

The best camp ground we have ever been to! Great spaces, very friendly for young children. Good price for the facilies

Reviewed 2 months ago

helen reeve's avatar

helen reeve

United Kingdom

Ranking: 9/10

Very friendly staff and helpful. Facilities clean . Close enough to walk to hot water beach. Highly recommend.

Reviewed 3 months ago

Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Chelsea's avatar

Chelsea

Ranking: 8/10

We spent a night here to recharge our battery, do washing and showers. The facilities were great, the owners friendly. The kitchen was stocked with utensils but no washing liquid.

Reviewed 5 months ago

Michael McMahon's avatar

Michael McMahon

United States

Ranking: 10/10

This is a great little destination spot. The park is pretty big but located back in the trees so it is quiet at night. There is an on site fish and chips and burger shack. They have all the necessary facilities and a very helpful staff. Hot water beach is a pleasant 10 minute walk through the woods and there are glow worms in the rocks at night. Nice spot. The kitchen gets a lot of action!

Reviewed 10 months ago

Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

Hi Michael,
Thanks for your awesome review - hope you had a wonderful holiday.
Many Thanks
Lynette

Avoid Camping Fines!

The only camping map where each location is approved by every regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Eversons's avatar

Eversons

Ranking: 9/10

Very convenient for hot water beach... just a walk away. Large busy site but pitches are big and private. Good showers. Friendly staff. Camp shop. Fish chips and breakfast available.

Reviewed 10 months ago and experienced in February 2018

Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

Hi Eversons,
Thanks so much for your 9/10.
Great that you had a good time.
Cheers
Lynette

Magenta McHalick's avatar

Magenta McHalick

Ranking: 8/10

Good clean facilities but quite expensive. $26 per person for non powered site. $5 shovel rental + $20 refunded deposit. Hot water beach within short walking distance but gets really crowded, you have to show up 2 hours before low tide to find a good spot for a hole. Very touristy and more family oriented.

Reviewed 10 months ago

Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

Hi Magenta,
Thank you for your review. Hot water Beach can be crowded during summer as the higher accommodation prices on the Coromandel.
We do run a family orientated holiday park, but cater for all travellers.
Many Thanks
Lynette

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Shira LA's avatar

Shira LA

Ranking: 9/10

The food stand was nice and unique, and selling food at the reception was convenient; The kitchen was over-crowded at dinner, and with such a large park should consider adding a kitchen. The showers over-crowded when everyone returns from the sea together. renting shovels was nice. One of our favorite parks in NZ

Reviewed 11 months ago and experienced in January 2018

Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

Hi there Shira,
Thanks for your review. The Coromandel does get crowded over summer as it is a popular holiday destination for all.
We do have 2 kitchens in the holiday park as well as extra BBQ's for the guests use and 22 showers around the park so we do our best to accommodate all.
Awesome that we are one of your favourite parks.
Thanks
Lynette

Alyson Reid's avatar

Alyson Reid

Ranking: 7/10

$52 for two adults for an unpowered spot. The campground is very busy in the summer, as is the beach. The campground is basically just a big open field. The shower and toilet facilities are shared amongst the entire holiday park but they are clean.

Reviewed 11 months ago

Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

Hi Alyson
Thank you for your review.
We cater for all guests from fully self contained accommodation to specified powered and non powered sites. The Outback camping is on an open field and is only used for camping when we run out of specified spaces or we are booked up or guests ask to go to that area. We have 2 kitchens and 22 showers around the park.
Kind Regards
Lynette

Award-2-24px Congratulations Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park

Rankers TravellerVoted Awards 2010 Camping Grounds / Holiday Parks Finalist

Kimberley Timberlake's avatar

Kimberley Timberlake

Ranking: 9/10

This was our favourite camp site on the North Island! My husband and I stayed here the 1st night due to location and then the 2nd night because we liked the area so much and didn’t want to leave this camp! It is in a beautiful location and only a short walk via trail or road to Hot Water Beach. Powered camper van sites here are large and clean and come with a nice picnic table. The community kitchen is quite large and was always clean. The bathrooms were clean and there was never a line for toilets or showers. The hot showers are free but limited to 5 minutes. This is enough time, you just have to move fast! It is in line with the camp’s ideals for conservation of resources and green living. 😊 There many are recycling bins throughout the site. Staff is friendly and helpful. There is a small store on site with groceries and snacks. We didn’t buy food there, but we did purchase some local craft beers available there! There is playground equipment for kids (or adults, haha! We tried the bounce pillow and the swings and had great fun!) You must try Fish n Chips for dinner while you are here. The fish and chips were amazing and reasonably priced. Only drawback is that the WiFi is unreliable, as others have mentioned. It works, but kicks you off frequently. Not a big deal, really. We highly recommend this place and would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

Hi Kimberley,
Thanks so much for your awesome review and appreciation of our efforts to maintain a sustainable environment for our guests and community. Yes the wifi can be difficult and we as a company appreciate this. However we are remote, located in a dip and surrounded by trees, but are working on regional council to consider us when installing more technology to the area.
Kind Regards
Lynette

Jye Hurrell's avatar

Jye Hurrell

Ranking: 9/10

Front desk staff were very helpful and ensured a quick check in, kitchen was very well equipped and modern, nice facilities all round - if you want to see the hot water beach, be sure to go down at low tide, and do yourself a favour - hire a spade, I think they were $20 deposit, with a $5 dollar hire fee? Made all the difference.

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

Hi Jye,
Thanks for the great rating and appreciation of our park.
Many Thanks
Lynette

Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Liz Quilty's avatar

Liz Quilty

Ranking: 5/10

Nothing to do other than visit the beach. The beach is half a km walk vs the advertised 'just down the road', and it's not a particularly nice beach.
Staff were friendly and helpful, but the place we boring with no cell signal. Paid for wifi, but that was not working most of the time, so waste of money.
Showers limited to 5 mins, but were clean, as were the toilets.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Julia Kurtz's avatar

Julia Kurtz

Ranking: 9/10

Nice staff and great place. Clean facilities and family showers. Great play area for kids. Walking distance to hot water beach. Only downside is its pricy and there is always a short line at the office, even off season. But we would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed almost 2 years ago

Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

Hi Julia,
Thanks for your review. We do our best to satisfy our guests and their families. We work hard on keeping our holiday park up to standard and because we are off the beaten track it is vital that we keep our infrastructure continuously up to date.
Hope to see you again soon.
Cheers
Lynette