Hahei Holiday Resort


144 Rankers Reviews

79 Face-to-Face

8 Hahei

  • Phone Enquiry

    • Call and discuss your needs.

    • Instant personal connection.

    • Credit card booking.


Online Maps

FREE Header

Camping NZ NEW

Welcome to New Zealand's most comprehensive database of freely available camping information. This is the only travel map of its kind in NZ.


Arial view looking towards Hahei Holiday Resort
Sunrise over Hahei Beach


In a park-like setting by the sea, this is paradise on the beach.

Leave the city behind and join us for some laid-back beach time, Pohutukawas with rope swings, BBQ’s on the sand and plenty of adventure. Meet the sunrise with a swim or sleep under the stars like we've been doing since 1958 - live like a local.

With over 16 acres of award-winning grounds there’s plenty of space to spread out and let the kids roam wild. If you want to treat yourself, then book a Sea View Villa, Beach Front Bach or get nostalgic in a Coastal Cabin.

Hahei is regularly voted one of the best beaches in NZ and…


Feature Value Info


North IslandCoromandelHahei


  • Camping Grounds
  • Dump Station
  • Backpackers

Operating Season And Hours

7 days a week, 365 days a year. Office hours may vary during the quieter months.


Showing 8 reviews of 138.

Trish's avatar


Ranking: 9/10

stayed here 5 nights & although it's out of season there are facilities still available. The reception staff especially Grant has been very helpful

Reviewed 5 months ago

Ashleigh's avatar


Ranking: 8/10

Beautiful place to stay. Right on the beach, and easy to find. Facilities were ok, showers were hot. I think it was slightly over priced. We stayed in the cheapest spot (2 mins from the beach front), at $55 for two people and a powered camper. We were tucked away in a quiet spot under some beautiful trees. I don’t think the beach front spots are worth $75. Beach here is stunning.

Reviewed 7 months ago

Avoid Camping Fines!

Each camping location is approved by a regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Maria's avatar


Ranking: 8/10

Very expensice and facilities are not great (but not bad either)... but the sea view camp sites are AWSOME.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Gareth's avatar


Ranking: 7/10

Fantastic location and wonderful staff, great if you have kids. However if you don’t, it’s not great during summer holidays as they take the place over. Not quite our scene but for facilities and location it’s decent

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for the review. It's certainly paradise for kids.

L&A's avatar


Ranking: 3/10

Close to the beach but 65 eur for 2 ppl unpowered site is way to much.
Tiny kitchen for a huge campong ground, no pots or pans, shower 5min warm (that's alright in Januarys heat). Wifi not working at our site, it's at the very end of the campsite.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for your review. We offer many different types of beachfront and camping sites. Depending on which site you chose and how many nights you booked the prices would vary, especially during our peak January period with multiple minimum night requirements. Our most expensive non-powered site for two people would have been $75NZD (43 euros) per night and our non-powered reserve would have been $65NZD (38 euros) per night in January for two people. The WiFi is now free and unlimited. We also look to make improvements each year and a new kitchen is on our wish list.

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Bert's avatar


Ranking: 6/10

The place is ok, but for us the facilities were quite far from our site. Also the kitchen facilities were not great for such a big campground. If you want to stay in Hahei on a campground, there are not a lot of other options though.

Reviewed almost 2 years ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

There are four toilet blocks and a central kitchen hub. Outside of the peak January period, you can virtually choose a site where you want.

Timo's avatar


Ranking: 10/10

Absolutely nice Place. Several powered places with sea view. Beautiful Beach and in the Beat of the cathedral Cove.

Kirchen, shower and toilets are clean and well equipped.

Reviewed almost 2 years ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for the review.

Charlotte's avatar


Ranking: 9/10

BEAUTIFUL location! We stayed in the powered sight on the beach and it was stunning. Free wifi. Toilets and showers in fairly good condition. Showers were a bit of a walk if staying on the beach.

Reviewed about 2 years ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for your review.