Hahei Holiday Resort

79%

Details

142 Rankers Reviews

79 Face-to-Face

80 Camping Grounds

88 Dump Station

6 Hahei

Maps

Photos

Arial view looking towards Hahei Holiday Resort
Sunrise over Hahei Beach

Information

In a park-like setting by the sea, this is paradise on the beach.

Leave the city behind and join us for some laid-back beach time, Pohutukawas with rope swings, BBQ’s on the sand and plenty of adventure. Meet the sunrise with a swim or sleep under the stars like we've been doing since 1958 - live like a local.

With over 16 acres of award-winning grounds there’s plenty of space to spread out and let the kids roam wild. If you want to treat yourself, then book a Sea View Villa, Beach Front Bach or get nostalgic in a Coastal Cabin.

Hahei is regularly voted one of the best beaches in NZ and we’re proud of the fact that the resort runs along a big part of it. When you stay with us you have direct access to the beach so you can live a local.

We’re walking distance to Cathedral Cove (so put the car keys away and avoid the parking hassle). The Hahei Village with its general store, craft brewery and cafes is a short stroll (although we have Barista made coffee onsite) and Hot Water Beach is a quick drive.

Give us a call to talk through the options.

Learn more…

Details

Feature Value Info

Location

North IslandCoromandelHahei

Categories

  • Backpackers
  • Dump Station
  • Camping Grounds

Operating Season And Hours

7 days a week, 365 days a year. Office hours may vary during the quieter months.

Contact

Calllocal

Accommodations

  • Thumb

    Beach Front Powered Sites

    Unbeatable sea views - the perfect place to relax, unwind and soak up the sun

    Base Rate (2 persons) $50/day
    Extra Adult $25/day
    Extra Child $12/day
  • Thumb

    Powered Sites

    Perfect for a summer family camping holiday or for a couple looking to escape from the city

    Extra Adult $21/day
    Extra Child $12/day
  • Thumb

    Non-Powered Sites

    Classic kiwi camping

    Extra Adult $20/day
    Extra Child $12/day
  • Thumb

    Basic Cabins

    Relax and enjoy your beach holiday in one of our Basic Cabins

    Base Rate (2 persons) $70/day
    Extra Adult $20/day
    Extra Child $12/day
  • Thumb

    Kitchen Cabin

    Kitchen Cabins are similar to a Basic Cabin, yet with the additional feature of a private kitchen

    Base Rate (2 persons) $80/day
    Extra Adult $20/day
    Extra Child $12/day
  • Thumb

    Comfort Cabin

    Less than 75m to the beach, our Classic Comfort Cabins offers a relaxed space for a couple or trio

    Base Rate (2 persons) $125/day
    Extra Adult $25/day
    Extra Child $15/day
  • Thumb

    Sea View Villas

    Sea View Villas offer a unique, beach front experience not to be missed

    Base Rate (2 persons) $260/day
    Extra Adult $25/day
    Extra Child $15/day
  • Thumb

    Family Cottage

    Your family holiday is all set to go in our classic Kiwi-bach-style Cottage

    Base Rate (2 persons) $110/day
    Extra Adult $25/day
    Extra Child $15/day
  • Thumb

    Backpackers Lodge

    Budget style accommodation just 200m from the beach.

    Adult $30/day
  • Thumb

    Garden View Studios

    Peaceful & private - our Garden View Studios offers motel style accommodation

    Base Rate (2 persons) $90/day
    Extra Adult $25/day
    Extra Child $15/day
  • Thumb

    Beach Bungalows

    Spacious two bedroom Bungalow less than 50m from Hahei beach

    Base rate (2 persons) $190/day

Reviews

Showing 13 reviews of 136.

Maria's avatar

Maria

Ranking: 8/10

Very expensice and facilities are not great (but not bad either)... but the sea view camp sites are AWSOME.

Reviewed 10 days ago

Gareth's avatar

Gareth

Ranking: 7/10

Fantastic location and wonderful staff, great if you have kids. However if you don’t, it’s not great during summer holidays as they take the place over. Not quite our scene but for facilities and location it’s decent

Reviewed 2 months ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for the review. It's certainly paradise for kids.

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

L&A's avatar

L&A

Ranking: 3/10

Close to the beach but 65 eur for 2 ppl unpowered site is way to much.
Tiny kitchen for a huge campong ground, no pots or pans, shower 5min warm (that's alright in Januarys heat). Wifi not working at our site, it's at the very end of the campsite.

Reviewed 3 months ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for your review. We offer many different types of beachfront and camping sites. Depending on which site you chose and how many nights you booked the prices would vary, especially during our peak January period with multiple minimum night requirements. Our most expensive non-powered site for two people would have been $75NZD (43 euros) per night and our non-powered reserve would have been $65NZD (38 euros) per night in January for two people. The WiFi is now free and unlimited. We also look to make improvements each year and a new kitchen is on our wish list.

Bert's avatar

Bert

Ranking: 6/10

The place is ok, but for us the facilities were quite far from our site. Also the kitchen facilities were not great for such a big campground. If you want to stay in Hahei on a campground, there are not a lot of other options though.

Reviewed 4 months ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

There are four toilet blocks and a central kitchen hub. Outside of the peak January period, you can virtually choose a site where you want.

Hahei Holiday Resort is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Timo's avatar

Timo

Ranking: 10/10

Absolutely nice Place. Several powered places with sea view. Beautiful Beach and in the Beat of the cathedral Cove.

Kirchen, shower and toilets are clean and well equipped.

Reviewed 6 months ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for the review.

Charlotte's avatar

Charlotte

Ranking: 9/10

BEAUTIFUL location! We stayed in the powered sight on the beach and it was stunning. Free wifi. Toilets and showers in fairly good condition. Showers were a bit of a walk if staying on the beach.

Reviewed 9 months ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for your review.

Avoid Camping Fines!

Each camping location is approved by a regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Kate's avatar

Kate

Ranking: 9/10

Large holiday park but almost had it to ourselves in off season. We just made check in at 9pm! Staff were awesome and friendly. Lots of info of nearby walks etc. About an hour walk to cathedral cove along coast path. Beautiful long beach on the doorstep and a hot tub that can be rented overlooking the beach. A sunset must! Clean facilities, 6 min showers but adequate $42 for 2 people per night. Good WiFi and laundry

Reviewed 11 months ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for your review - we appreciate your feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed the campsite and the many nearby activities that Hahei has to offer. Sunsets along the beach are always a great delight when staying at our resort. Our staff are always happy to help in any way we can and hopefully we get to see you again some time.

Maggie's avatar

Maggie

Ranking: 8/10

We really enjoyed being so close to the water and Cathedral Cove hike! Bathrooms are a little dated, but I believe you pay for the spot!

Reviewed 12 months ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for your review. The convenience of having the beach right next to our campsites is always amazing. We strive in having our bathrooms and kitchens cleaned regularly but we are also always looking to make improvements each year and new bathroom facilities is in our sights.

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Margie's avatar

Margie

Ranking: 7/10

Was quoted $22.50 power for one on phone then charged me $25 (in April). Nice lawn site but the furtherest away have ever been from facilities, only 1 shower block in middle of very large camp but shower was great. Facilities average & kitchenette near back field really was dirty & neglected. The beach is magnificent.

Reviewed 12 months ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the beautiful Hahei beach. We offer many different beachfront rooms and campsites and always try to accommodate our guests in relation to location of their campsites. But depending on when you book (especially during our peak January period) the sites can be taken up very quickly. We also always try to make improvements and updating our communal kitchen facilities will be on the cards.

Stefan Miedzinski's avatar

Stefan Miedzinski

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

Nice clean place, hot shower is awesome, yummy burgers, good coffee, nice stuff, direct access to the beautiful beach, 1h walk to cathedral Cove.
Bit pricey but okay for what you get.

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thank you very much for the review and hope to see you again some time.

Hahei Holiday Resort is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Micaela C.'s avatar

Micaela C.

Ranking: 10/10

Overall great experience. Free 5 minute hot showers, a small amount of free wifi each day and clean facilities. Friendly and helpful staff. $23 per person, per night unpowered site. Stayed in the furthest camping area, was really nice. 15 min drive to Cathedral Cove/ Hahei.

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very appreciative of your review. Hope to see you again some time.

Andy and Julia's avatar

Andy and Julia

United Kingdom

Ranking: 9/10

A second time stay here for one of us in Hahei, and it will be worth another visit. Large campground right next to absolutely stunning beach, and an hour walk Cathedral Cove, plus a short drive to hot water beach. So perfectly located. Clean toilets always close enough to the camp sites, and drinking water stations everywhere! Good size kitchen with many places to cook. Same with the showers, always available. A couple of downers, the tv room was out of action, which would of been handy on the rainy day we had there, and a fair few ants in the kitchen grabbing loose scraps. But, was free WiFi for March, good connection throughout the park, managed to watch Netflix in the evening. Staff were super friendly, really helpful for everything we needed, they pushed the score to a 9. We will be back!

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for the feedback. Very delighted that you enjoyed the beach and nearby activities. The direct walk from the resort to Cathedral Cove is about 3.5 kms each way but there is a track all the way so you don't have to walk on any roads which is great. We are always striving to keep the kitchen immaculate by having it routinely cleaned three times a day.

Michael's avatar

Michael

Ranking: 6/10

We stayed three nights on a campervan site with beach view. The site was spacious, had a picnic table and a clothes line and the best view we had on a paid site so far.
The park itself is huge and the kitchen, laundry and showers are located in the middle of the park. There were additional toilets on two other locations, but it felt like everything was very far away. The facilities are old, not very good maintained, but at least clean. The playground is very small and old, we expected more from such a huge park.

Reviewed about 1 year ago