Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park

Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park



137 Rankers Reviews

93 Face-to-Face

9 Camping Grounds

10 Dump Station

6 Russell



Showing 8 reviews of 123.

Belinda & Jean-Michel's avatar

Belinda & Jean-Michel

Ranking: 10/10

We got stranded in NZ under Covid-19 level 4 and 3 lockdown and were so lucky to find this place. The campsite is beautiful, set on a few levels looking out over Russell & the bays. The staff - AMAZING! They went out of their way to look after us (safely & respecting the rules of course) - we even had a weekly zoom pub quiz! The location is also fantastic, walking distance to supermarkets, beaches & forest walks.

If we come back to NZ, we’ll definitely stay here again!

Reviewed about 1 month ago

Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

We are pleased that you were able to stay with us during this isolating and uncertain time. We really do hope you come back to see us one day however and we wish you safe and happy travels in the meantime.

Conservation Campsite Pass

Save up to 70% on campsite fees! Support conservation and experience the natural beauty of NZ. 78 Department of Conservation campsites, one convenient pass.

Get the Pass

Gary Major's avatar

Gary Major

Ranking: 10/10

Expensive but value for money. By far the best camp ground we have stayed at in New Zealand.
Facilities cannot be faulted. Quiet night in our Motorhome. We could find no faults hence the 10 rating

Reviewed 4 months ago

Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

Well, we can't ask for any more than that Gary!! Thank you ever so much for the wonderful review. We're pleased you had a relaxing stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Safe and happy future travels.

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Mike Smith's avatar

Mike Smith

Ranking: 10/10

Amazing place. Expensive but worth it. Pay extra for the view. Toilets and showers spotless. Lots of fun activities close by. Easy walk to town. Level sites with nice grass. Dump station and water at site. Nice sunsets. Would come back again for sure.

Reviewed 5 months ago

Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

Love that you love it Mike. We hope that you DO come back again and we look forward to welcoming you.

Su's avatar


Ranking: 10/10

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our trip and it was great. I paid for the premium site on the hill which does indeed have fabulous views. The facilities were excellent - very clean and well maintained. Great playground for the children and a lovely location - a short walk into Russell and a slightly longer walk to Long Beach.
The only small quibble I have is that the sites weren’t big. They each had their own picnic table which was nice, but a little more space would have been nice.

Reviewed 7 months ago

Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

Thanks Su, a wonderful review with great feedback and we can't ask for anything more than a 10/10 rating.

Avoid Camping Fines!

Each camping location is approved by a regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Bert's avatar


Ranking: 7/10

Everything allright at this campground. Nice staff and good facilities. We just did not like the setting so much, there is one enourmous rectangular field. That makes it feel quite massive and not cozy.

Reviewed 7 months ago

Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the site at the bottom of the park Bert. Maybe, if you return to see us, take one at the top. We promise you'll love it ;)

Suzanne J's avatar

Suzanne J

Ranking: 10/10

Loved it!! Had everything you could want, even things you didn't know you needed, like automatic air mattress pump!! Staff fabulous, facilities spotless, view stunning. Can't recommend it highly enough .... best park we stayed in on the north island.

Reviewed 10 months ago

Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

Thank Suzanne.

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Scooper's avatar


Ranking: 8/10

We loved Russell and the Bay of Islands so much we stayed three nights and really enjoyed this ground. Like other reviewers, we paid extra for a site at the top with a view which was lovely. The staff here were all awesome - friendly, interested in what we did each day, gave us really great advice and information. The facilities were clean, but I never enjoy the timed showers like they have here and quite frankly for the price of the site it was unexpected and not appreciated. Also the kitchen, while clean, had a very odd smell. Our kids enjoyed the play facilities. It is a short walk into the township. Would stay again but really hope they change the showers!

Reviewed 11 months ago and experienced in May 2019

Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

Hello Scooper, unfortunately, the shower times are here to stay. Russell is regularly low on water and this way we are doing our bit to preserve what there is and ensure the shower lines are nice and quick during our peak periods. Sorry you don't like them, however our intentions are pure and good. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay regardless of your negative shower experience and hope you'll come back and stay with us again soon. We look forward to welcoming you.

Sheryl Mackintosh's avatar

Sheryl Mackintosh


Ranking: 10/10

Fabulous park - we paid the extra for the sites on the hill and thought it was well worth it - the view is amazing. Hands down the cleanest amenities I’ve seen anywhere and nice touches like real hand towels (not paper or air) and hairdryers. Great location to walk into town and wharf.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park responds:

Brilliant feedback Sheryl, thank you for sharing.