Mad Campers

97%

Details

45 Rankers Reviews

0 Face-to-Face

5 Motorhomes

Maps

Photos

Mad Campers
External canopies available for hire
Large bed perfect for watching sunset!
Pull out kitchen equipped with everything you need.
Extendable water hose for after the beach!

Information

Experience all New Zealand has to offer in one of our certified self contained Mad Campers. We've got the most innovative 2-berth and 1-berth campers on the market, allowing you to go wherever you want in comfort... and at whatever pace you desire!

Certified Self Contained Mad Campers have been thoughtfully designed to optimize your travel experience with a high quality, innovative and functional fit out. We're really proud to offer added extras such as an extendable hose tap, a switch board controlling your electrics from the back of the van, and our innovative pull out kitchen that provides you with HEAPS more living space!

Details

Feature Value Info

Location

North IslandAuckland RegionAuckland

Categories

  • Motorhomes

Contact

Campers

  • Thumb

    MAD2 - 2 Person Self-Contained Campervan

    We’re travellers too and understand life’s much better when you are cruising in comfort, so we’ve developed the most comfortable and functional 2 berth campers on the market. Our fleet is entirely AA Safety Certified. Enjoy your NZ adventure!

  • Thumb

    MAD1 - 1 Person Self-contained Campervan

    There are a multitude of reasons people choose to travel alone - and here at Mad Campers we respect them all. In fact we’ve gone a step further and created New Zealand’s FIRST single berth self-contained campervan especially for our solo adventurers!

Reviews

Showing 13 reviews of 45.

Compare and Book Campervans

William Nash's avatar

William Nash

United States

Ranking: 10/10

We had an amazing couple of weeks cruising around the North and South Island in our Mad2 (Mt Lincoln). We did a bunch of research and was tempted to go with one of the bigger brands (we had previously had a Spaceship and Wicked Camper in Oz). But after reading all the reviews, comparing photos and pricing there was only one winner. The camper van was literally spotless when we picked it up, we were given a personalized tour of the van and didn’t feel rushed at all- we even were given two T-shirt’s to complete our Mad Camper challenge and chocolate!! The van had relatively low mileage and you could tell it had a recent facelift.
We booked campsites all around NZ, so we only used the gas burner a couple of times, but when we did it was super easy and fast. The bed only took 2mins to set up and was very comfortable. There was plenty of storage for two of us. We did stay at one freedom campsite as we had the self contained sticker (didn’t use the toilet onboard once, but it’s there for emergencies).
A massive bonus is that the van has two batteries. One that starts the car and operates headlights etc. the second operates the fridge, LED lights in the back and power outlets inc. USB’s. So you don’t have to worry about the van not starting in the morning or paying extra for a powered spot at a campsite.
After seeing the Juicy/Spaceship/Wickeds, we were so happy with our decision! Many of the other campervans looked run down and identical to what we rented a few years ago!
We completed the Mad Camper challenge (doing things like eating fish and chips on a beach with your MadCamper T-shirt on and posting it on Instagram) it was fun to do and we got 5% off our rental! I don’t write many reviews, but felt compelled to for Mad Campers as it’s such a cool company and made our trip so easy!

Reviewed 7 days ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thank you SO much for your kind review, William!! We are so stoked you had an incredible time with Mt Lincoln and were happy with your decision to travel with us :)

Congratulations again on completing the Mad Challenge - you guys did an epic job! Thanks again for sharing your New Zealand adventure with us and welcome to the MAD Family!!

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Milena Tkotz's avatar

Milena Tkotz

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

The car was as expected, small but very well designed. With the free included roof box your suitcase is not in the way once it has been unpacked. Sadly we had a broken radiator in our last week. The emergency response from Mad Campers was fantastic. They immediately organized a workshop, which diagnosed the error and as soon as it was clear, that the car will not be repaired today, they organized an other car and a motel so we could continue our trip and do our booked experiences in Kaikoura. Thanks for the great time!

Reviewed 8 days ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks Milena!! It was great to send you guys off on your NZ adventure. Unfortunately these things can happen with cars/vans, but we appreciated your cooperation and are happy to hear you were pleased with how we dealt with the issue for you. The most important thing to us is our travellers experience, and we are stoked you had a great one and got to see the dolphins!! All the best for any future adventures :)

Campervan bookings…  Compare and Book Campervans  … best price guarantee!

Bob Bergman's avatar

Bob Bergman

United States

Ranking: 10/10

Had a lovely 12 day South Island tour. Very glad I chose Mad Campers. Met up with some friends not as happy about their customer service from other rental company. Appreciated the little extras like salt and pepper and laundry soap. Will be a return customer if I make it back there.

Bob

Reviewed 10 days ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks Bob!! So stoked to hear you were happy with your decision to share your adventure with Mad Campers :)
Welcome to the Mad Family and hopefully we can send you off on another NZ roady some day soon!

Chris Bollington's avatar

Chris Bollington

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

Good experience with no hassles. The van was exactly as described. Could have done with a few more BHP on some of the hills.

Reviewed 22 days ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks Chris!! We hope you loved your time in NZ and enjoyed the camper :)

Avoid Camping Fines!

The only camping map where each location is approved by every regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Sean Seguin's avatar

Sean Seguin

United States

Ranking: 10/10

Mad Campers was an absolute pleasure to rent a campervan from. From the moment we began communicating with us, their friendliness and level of service was extremely noticable. They were very responsive over email and I could tell that every member of the team really cared about our travel experience. We rented the MAD2 model, a 2-person campervan, which was designed extremely well. Mad Campers is the kind of company that takes customer service seriously and they really deliver. I highly, highly recommend going with them!

Reviewed 23 days ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks so much for the kind words, Sean! We are so happy you enjoyed your time in NZ, experience with Mad Campers and the camper itself! All the best for any more adventures in 2019 :)

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Matthijs de Jong's avatar

Matthijs de Jong

Netherlands

Ranking: 10/10

Mad campers provide great vans! Perfect service, easy to ride, and everything is included in the small vans! The roofbox is included for free! The bed is cosy, but works perfectly for 2 tall Dutch people! The fridge and stove works fine! Also nice is the Madcampers Challenge which gives 5% retour of the total price, if you do 9 challenges! The challenges are worth it as you get a nice inside in what New Zealand has to offer!

Mad campers! Thanks for making our trip a success!
Matthijs & Marijn

Reviewed 24 days ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks guys!!! It was awesome to send you both off on your Kiwi Adventure and we are so stoked you enjoyed the camper! Congratulations on completing the Mad Challenge and welcome to the MAD Fam :)

fabien Lafond's avatar

fabien Lafond

France

Ranking: 9/10

Very nice trip! Mad camper’s guys are very helpful and kindness! The van was perfect for the road.
We spend very good and fun time.

Reviewed about 1 month ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks so much Fabien! We're happy to hear you had a great trip and loved sending you off on the adventure - thanks for sharing it with us :)

Kristen Rodgers's avatar

Kristen Rodgers

United States

Ranking: 10/10

Fantastic service, quick to respond, very friendly and helpful. Great camper van that had a lot of thought put into design. Easy to drive and park, comfortable, and had everything we needed for our two week trek around the South Island! Plus the Mad Challange was lots of fun!

Reviewed about 1 month ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks Kristen!! So stoked you enjoyed the camper and your experience with Mad Campers! Welcome to the Mad Family, thanks for sharing your adventure with us :)

Catherine Henry's avatar

Catherine Henry

United States

Ranking: 10/10

We would highly recommend MadCampers vans to anyone who wants to go the camper van route while visiting New Zealand. Both the employees and the van went above and beyond our expectations, and I have to say I am a hard one to please!

We were supplied all the information we needed before arriving in NZ; including some free downloadable apps to find free or paid campsites. They promptly picked us up at the airport and dropped us off in time to catch our flight out (only took about 20 minutes from the time we pull into the drop off location) They also worked quickly to fix a loose wire that was causing electrical issues. You find out the true character of a company when the unexpected happened, and we couldn't have been more pleased with the way things were handled to correct the problem.

In addition to fabulous employees, their van was hands-down the best on the road! It had everything we needed to stay at the free, self-contained campsites, which saved us a lot of money. The van was easy to use, had ample storage for all our gear for a two week trip, and we got some jealous looks from other campers and passersby when they saw our amazing cooking stove and bed set up. Other things we really loved about the van: the mini fridge, running water, extra battery to run the electrical when engine isn't running, and 4 wheel drive. We also had tons of fun doing the Mad Challenge scavenger hunt while we drove the nearly 3000km around the south island.

MadCampers made our trip an awesome one! This is how a company should be run!

Reviewed 2 months ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks again so much for your lovely review Catherine!! We are SO glad you had an amazing experience in New Zealand and with Mad Campers! We loved meeting you and sending you off on your Kiwi Adventure. Hopefully we can send you off on another some day soon. Welcome to the Mad Family!!

Laura Morley's avatar

Laura Morley

Australia

Ranking: 10/10

Friendly, efficient service! Van was just was described - had everything we needed / asked for. Not the flashiest set up, my perfect for rattling around the countryside. Easy to deal with, no sneaky catches.

Reviewed 3 months ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks Laura!! We hope you had a wonderful time cruising around NZ's countryside :)

William Swann's avatar

William Swann

United States

Ranking: 10/10

Easy to work with, great van, great price! Van comes with everything you need. Self-contained status gives you tons of flexibility on where to stay.

Reviewed 3 months ago

Mad Campers responds:

Cheers Will! Hopefully we can send you off on another NZ adventure soon :)

Julie Robinson's avatar

Julie Robinson

United States

Ranking: 10/10

Wonderful experience! Everyone was so nice and helpful and our van was great. They even had showers and coffee for us after they picked us up from the airport. The showers Were such a bonus after 24 hours of traveling to get to New Zealand!

Reviewed 3 months ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks so much Julie!! It was lovely to meet you & send you off on your adventure. Happy New Year & hopefully 2019 brings lots more adventures :)

Caroline Creekman's avatar

Caroline Creekman

United States

Ranking: 10/10

Mad Campers was wonderful to work with. They picked us up direct from the airport. The camper itself was a great size and seemed fairly new/updated. The logos are not to garish like some companies so you don't feel like you're sticking out too much as a tourist. The second battery was really the deciding factor when we were deciding between vans and having it really paid off. Since we were driving almost every day we could keep the fridge on all the time without worrying about running down the battery. This meant we could carry yogurt, sandwich fixings, cold drinks, and never worry about things warming up. Being able to charge phones and devices both in the front, while driving, and in the back meant that we were never worried about running out of power. The bed was really comfortable and with the linens/duvet they provided we never had a problem keeping warm during the chilly spring nights. Storage was pretty good as well - though definitely would not work with hard suitcases. With a couple of travel backpacks and soft cases you're able to keep everything in the middle aisle and then just fold down the bed on top at night. You could prob keep it folded down as added camouflage while out tramping. We didn't have to use the provided toilet since most locations we stayed had something, but being certified self-contained made it so stress-free knowing we could camp at any of the various site, with no issue. The camper itself was nice and reliable - we drove all around both islands, up and down steep hills and twisty turns and had no issues. The compact size of the camper also made it easy to get around in cities and some of the tighter back roads.

We were also able to complete the "Mad Challenge" where you complete 9 simple challenges - posting photos of various tasks or locations and get 5% back. A great way to encourage kiwi experiences.

Everyone we interacted with at Mad Campers was so friendly and helpful, would definitely use them again if given the chance.

Reviewed 3 months ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks so much for your kind words, Caroline!!! We really appreciate it. It was awesome to send you off on your Kiwi Adventure and we are SO stoked you had a great time!! Hopefully we can send you off on another one soon :)

Compare and Book Campervans

Love Christchurch