Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park

83%

60 Rankers Reviews

5 Face-to-Face

12 Russell

  • Phone Enquiry

    • Call and discuss your needs.

    • Instant personal connection.

    • Credit card booking.

    • Realtime booking engine.

    • Automatic standard pricing.

    • No personal connection.

Accommodations

Online Maps

FREE Header

Camping NZ NEW

Welcome to New Zealand's most comprehensive database of freely available camping information. This is the only travel map of its kind in NZ.

Photos

Rare North Island weka roam free around the park
Site for tents, caravans & campervans.
Immerse yourself in nature.
Tipi - overlooking Orongo Bay
Share stories & star gaze around the campfire.

Information

When you stay with us, you’ll be immersed in a natural playground, see rare North Island weka and pateke roam free around the park and you may even have the chance to see brown kiwi in the surrounding native bush.

Wake up to the sound of native birds, hear the call of the kiwi at night as you gaze at the star filled sky or sit around the camp fire. It’s the perfect setting to make memories as nature intended!  
 
You’ll have the best of both worlds when you stay with us. We’re set amongst 14 acres of native New Zealand bush and only minutes away from the centre of Russell and Oneroa Bay one of the many gorgeous beaches. 
 
We are the perfect location for families, large groups or couples to have a relaxing and fun filled holiday with affordable accommodation to suit any budget.
We have…

Details

Feature Value Info

Location

North IslandNorthlandRussell

Categories

  • Camping Grounds
  • Backpackers
  • Dump Station

Reviews

Showing 8 reviews of 60.

Stephanie Hei's avatar

Stephanie Hei

Ranking: 10/10

It was so welcoming and such am awesome place for kids and families. Staff were on point except it says coffee and that was suppose to be available but wasn't, that is my only complaint.

Reviewed 3 months ago

Jennifer's avatar

Jennifer

Ranking: 2/10

52 for one person - and not even a cold shower is included. Definitely the worst camping I did so far. And not worth the money at all.

Reviewed 12 months ago

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park responds:

Hi Jennifer, we do have single person special pricing available so we apologise if you were charged for 2 people - booking online automatically does this. If you had raised it during your stay we would have been more than happy to refund you to a single person rate. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We have nice hot showers but we do limit water take by charging for shower times at peak periods as we are on tank water that is naturally sourced from a waterfall and we are subject to council water take limits so we want to make sure there is enough hot water to go around. Off peak times we offer free hot showers wherever possible. We wish you all the best.

Avoid Camping Fines!

Each camping location is approved by a regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Carys's avatar

Carys

Ranking: 10/10

I would highly recommend this campsite and cannot wait to return! Had the best time here and was actually sad to leave. The owners James and Tori are the loveliest couple you will ever meet with a beautiful family! Great swimming pool to relax in and the facilities are spot on! Great kitchen full of utensils and even has a pizza oven and fish smokery. The showers were good strength and hot. Thanks for the great stay!

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Sam's avatar

Sam

Ranking: 10/10

$19pp for unpowered site in May. Friendly staff - amazing location.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Josie's avatar

Josie

Ranking: 9/10

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Clean showers and bathrooms and the kitchens had everything we needed. We were lucky to be there during the kiwi mating season so they were very active. You could go out around midnight and take a stroll in their territory.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Dirk's avatar

Dirk

Ranking: 8/10

Nice campsite, close to Russell. Facilities are somewhat older, but the showers are nice and hot. Lovely owners who helpt us a great deal when we need to go to the hospital!

Reviewed almost 2 years ago and experienced in November 2018

Franz's avatar

Franz

Ranking: 4/10

It would be a nice place, but way to expensive.
If i have to pay 55$ for a site with power and then an extra 2$ for shower and extra for wifi that's to much.

Wouldn't come again.

Reviewed about 2 years ago

Markus's avatar

Markus

Ranking: 10/10

Nothing to complain.
Great area, great KIWI WALKS, many birds, good facilities.

Reviewed about 2 years ago