Cruzy Campers

92%

Details

248 Rankers Reviews

22 Face-to-Face

13 Motorhomes

Maps

Photos

Information

Our "SELF CONTAINED "campers include everything needed to create your home away from home. Cruising New Zealand with CRUZY CAMPERS is travelling with the confidence and knowledge you have all the support you will never need!

Welcome to Cruzy Campers. The home of Cruising NZ!

We specialize in providing backpackers and all budget conscious travellers the ultimate way to explore New Zealand in a comfortable,homely, reliable Camper van.

In many popular areas you can only camp if you are self contained. ALL our camper vans are "Certified Self Contained".

Our family owned and operated company ensure you have the best possible holiday while travelling in NZ! Our vans are so well equipped that all you need to bring is your camera, sense of adventure and of some time to stop and admire our majestic country .

All our campers come complete with outside tables and chairs, heaters and up to date Hema maps. We even provide a free phone to help plan your next adventure!
We proudly provide our customers with as many home comforts as we can. Clean linen, wine glasses and even a hot water bottle for the cooler evenings.

Your van will be bought to a location convenient for you, where one of our small family based friendly team will take the time to show you through your home away from home
We understand that for first time campers there can be a lot to absorb so we are available for assistance 24/7 and happy to answer any question and enable you to make the most of your experience travelling NZ!

All our rentals include comprehensive insurance with an excess/ deductible payable should the unfortunate occur? Our wonderful MTA assured workshop is just a phone call away should assistance be required and an outstanding support network across NZ enables you to travel with confidence.

Our quotes do NOT have hidden charges! We like to keep things simple.

New Zealand is the most beautiful country with so many amazing places and things to see and do. Cruzy Campers enables travelers to see her most hidden secrets.

When you book a Cruzy there are no hidden costs! You will receive personal service by a caring Kiwi family that really will go the extra mile to ensure your holiday is as Cruzy as it possibly can be!

Details

Feature Value Info

Location

South IslandCanterburyChristchurch

Categories

  • Motorhomes

Business Times

Cruzy Campers is available by email 24/7!
You can check out our new website www.cruzycampers.co.nz and follow the links to email or our quick quote system.
Kylie or Daniel will happily answer any questions you may have.

Contact

Campers

  • Thumb

    2 Berth and 3 Berth Diesel- Automatic and manual transmission

    All our campervans are "Certified Self Contained" for Freedom Camping as required by the NZ Freedom Camping Regulations.

  • Thumb

    Budget Petrol Hi Top 2/3 berth

    Self contained as required by the New Zealand Free Camping Reulations. Easy to drive and park. Economical to run.

Reviews

Showing 13 reviews of 248.

Compare and Book Campervans

Barbara  James's avatar

Barbara James

United Kingdom

Ranking: 9/10

We hired the van for 6 weeks; the handover included a thorough briefing and they repaired a broken bulb while we did our first shop. The next 42 days were trouble free. The van was old but a character and everything was clean and comfortable. Some of the fittings had seen a lot of use but worked ok.
Cruzy’s service was exceptional, always answering emails promptly and even helping my daughter with a problem with her own van. They were always friendly and helpful. We had a great trouble-free holiday and highly recommend Cruzy to others. Great value for money as everything was included in the price.

Reviewed about 16 hours ago

Conservation Campsite Pass

Save up to 70% on campsite fees! Support conservation and experience the natural beauty of NZ. 74 Department of Conservation campsites, one convenient pass.

Get the Pass

Lambertus Faber's avatar

Lambertus Faber

Netherlands

Ranking: 9/10

The service of Cruzy Campers is great, everything we wanted was included in the price. We didn’t have to pay extra for km. Although the campervan was reasonably old it worked perfectly.

Reviewed 4 days ago

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Baptiste's avatar

Baptiste

New Caledonia

Ranking: 9/10

We met Kylie and Daniel at Christchurch when they brought us the van to our accomodation. They are very friendly and efficient, gave us a phone to be able to call them at any time.
The van is old but good (like old wine) and made the job very well. All those make our trip become one of our bests !

Reviewed 10 days ago

Cruzy Campers responds:

Hi guys. It was lovely to meet you both. So pleasedyou had an amazing holiday while travelling with us.
Kylie and Dan

Campervan bookings…  Compare and Book Campervans  … best price guarantee!

Adrian Harris's avatar

Adrian Harris

England

Ranking: 9/10

Vans are dated but we knew that and they don’t say otherwise
Everything worked perfectly and we had no issues whatsoever
Pick up and drop off in Auckland was a breeze we met with Linda & Graham who were friendly & professional
Would definitely hire again as the van fulfilled our needs and was quite possibly the best family holiday we’ve had so far!

Reviewed 12 days ago

Cruzy Campers responds:

Hi adrian. Its great to hear you had an amazing family holiday! It can be tricky travelling with littles so im pleased our van suited your needs.
Hope to see you again some day. In the mean time,travel safe.
Kylie and Dan

David v's avatar

David v

Switzerland

Ranking: 9/10

We (couple) spent 17 days travelling the south island in a Diesel/automatic transmission van from Cruzy Campers. It was our first time travelling with a campervan and it ended up being a great experience. The van had everything we needed and the limited amount of space inside was put to good use so that everything was functional and easy to use. The bed was good too. I'm 2 meters tall and was able to sleep comfortably in it (I was also able to stand upright in the van which was great). The camper was a bit old but it gets you everywhere and it is great value for money. We will definitely consider renting it again if we ever return to New Zealand.
Pick up and drop off worked like a charm at our accommodation in Christchurch. The owners Kylie and Daniel are very friendly and accommodating. We could always call their cell phones whenever we had an issue or even just questions. It's a far more personal experience renting a van from a family business rather than from one of the large rental companies. We also liked that all the necessary equipment came with the van and we didn't have to pay extra for anything.

Reviewed 18 days ago

Cruzy Campers responds:

Hi Guys, thank you for travelling with us. Dan loved meeting you guys a the "jailhouse" so pleased you had all you needed in our van. Maybe we will see you again someday when you travel the north island?
In the mean time we wish you safe travels and the next leg of you adventure.
Best wishes
Kylie and Dan

Avoid Camping Fines!

The only camping map where each location is approved by every regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Heidi Harting's avatar

Heidi Harting

United States

Ranking: 10/10

We had a wonderful time traveling on both the South and North Islands for about 2 weeks. Process to book the van was easy, and Kylie dealt nicely with my numerous questions before I arrived. They were flexible as we changed our plans a bit from the original booking. The van is a bit older and worn, but this is how was advertised, and things worked fine.And loved having the personalized licence plates as it was SOOO easy to remember when we had to give our plate number. :-)

Reviewed 19 days ago

Cruzy Campers responds:

Hi Heidi. It was great to see the mum daughter team off on a wee adventure!
We wish you all the best for the future and your daughter best wishes for the rest of her study in NZ .
Warm regards
Kylie and Dan.

Steve Roome's avatar

Steve Roome

Ranking: 10/10

Very easy process to go through. From van quotes, bookings, van orientation and van drop off. Travelled round the beautiful south island for 3 wks with not a single issue. Used the van instructions book a couple of times as had forgotten a one or two things, easy instructions to follow. Was nice to hire the van from a family owned business and thought the service was second none. The south island of New Zealand is stunning. Highly recommend Cruzy Campers. Thank you Kylie and Dan for a wonderful holiday.

Reviewed 20 days ago

Cruzy Campers responds:

Hi Steve,
its great to hear the instruction book was helpful. We understand there a re alot of instructions when we first show you through the van so the instruction books have been kept simple so people can refer to them at a later date if need.
So pleased you had a great time.
Look forwards to see you again someday.
Kylie and Dan

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Viv's avatar

Viv

Ranking: 5/10

Important - read part one review Sandy Bufton UK this is second part of review that was not showing. We met with Kylie & Dan they hadn’t seen van discussed all issues showed around the van no issues were disputed at this time the van didn’t start due to flat battery when Dan went to drive away. Replacement van PAD1 substantially better no faults clean and a pleasure to drive for remainder of trip. We felt cheated we didn’t have this standard of van from beginning we decided we deserved to be compensated as first 23 days were spoilt by these issues and impacted not only on our time but with no fridge working on gas we couldn’t freedom camp as much. Unfortunately Kylie & Dans attitude changed they backtracked and contradicted themselves about problems. Most issues blamed on cleaning offered refund of cleaning fee $250 & $250 for mouse this offer falls far short of our claim so regretfully we will now seek redress through legal channels. On a positive note we were captivated by New Zealand and the warm and friendly people. We did research carefully and chose crazy campers as was small family business vehicles “meticulously maintained “ unfortunately not for us for our 23 days there are a lot of companies offering camper vans choose carefully
VIV and Sandy .

Reviewed 23 days ago

Cruzy Campers responds:

Hello Viv and Sandy. We thought we have discussed this on the previous review, but here we are.....

We feel you were disappointed right from the start and determined to find fault no matter how hard we tried. Maybe you shouldn't have traveled in a budget camper?
Sometimes problems do happen on the road, this is the nature of it when working with people and vehicles. We work really hard to keep our clients as happy and moving on the road. Dan has a philosophy about it is how you deal with a problem that is important. When you had a problem, were were available (even at 9 pm) to assist.
Asking for refund at the end of that is like going to a restaurant, eating a steak, then demanding a refund that it wasn't cooked enough.
We maintain that we have tried everything we can to keep you both happy, but some people can not, or will not, be pleased.

You spent 21 days in the north island in a van that mechanically didn't miss a beat. You had problems with the interior and cleanliness, we apologized it wasn't up to your standard ( the only complaint for the last 4 seasons regarding cleanliness) we offered a remedy, a financial refund ( which you refused) and then a full van replacement.
We advertise our fleet as older and well maintained, that is what you received. The interior is older but tidy and they are mechanically meticulously maintained.

Dan did get the fridge going in front of you no problem so we put that down to operator error.
Also as you had run out of LPG we figured that you must have used the gas fridge because a cooker does not use that much.
We dont want to go over all the nitty gritty on a public platform. This is not the place.

We hope you find happiness in today.
Travel safe
Kylie and Dan

sandy bufton's avatar

sandy bufton

United Kingdom

Ranking: 5/10

Thought long and hard over this a review of 2 halves. Picked camper up in auckland 46 days rental. Older model 17 YEARS old. Clean usual dinks dents of age. Inside dated & tired original fixtures & fittings im sure he could sèe from our faces not as nice as we expected. The cab old, ripped fluffy seat covers, wind up windows (tempermental). Sat nav(84 months (7 yrs) out of date. Looks like old works transit. Graham shows us round he cant get fridge to work on gas says he will come back to it still dosnt work which impacted on freedom camping. Kylie informed.
Issued raised in 1st 23 days;
Needed cleaning shelf behind cooker/sink found mouse droppings..air vents filthy. Crockery fitted unit but kids size. Cutlery tarnished rusty replaced from charity shop. Photos. Kylie informed. Good kitchen eqipment.
Beddingdamp musty smell.pillows inadequate just kapok pieces.
There was a bad smell which was worse after long drive. Viv decided coming from seat covers so decided to take off seats might be better they weren't we discover DEAD MOUSE lodged in side of drivers seat (remember droppings) we had been sat on this for two days disgusting. Photo/e mail kylie. She is shocked offers sat av/bbq free. Iim to angry to talk to her will discuss in person later.
Cant swop&go gas bottle as graham said-wrong size.out of date certificate by 18 months needs retesting before refill. Buy another but another garage to refill. Bought/replaced brake light bulb reimbursed.photo.
In heavy rain ignition off dashboard lights came on. Short circuited. Found solution leave windscreen wipers in ON position. Intermittent problem.Offered hire car for day while van serviced in christchuch.
Returned to van 9.30pm again heavy rain to find roof o/head storage leaking half our bedding soaked. ENOUGH i want replacement van. Kylie agrees arranges motel & exchange next day.
Ww met kylie & dan very understanding, embarrassed couldnt apologise enough not the standard they send vans out from christchurch

Reviewed 25 days ago

Cruzy Campers responds:

Hi Sandy and Viv. Yes, the dead mouse would not have been a nice find at all! As the vans travel up and down the country this does happen from time to time, especially when the Beech Trees flower more than once in a summer.
It was a shame that the LPG bottle expiry was not picked up by the technician that filled it just before we handed the van to you in Auckland. We understand that you felt the van was not clean enough when you received it in Auckland, for this we were sorry and did offer a reimbursement which you refused. This has been the only complaint we have had regarding cleanliness from our Auckland branch, but this has given us the opportunity to refresh our systems. We work hard to provide a clean, friendly reliable service for our clients, which was why you chose to travel with us, the reviews are honest and consistent.
The leak you experienced was during the worst storm Kaikoura had seen in years and was remedied easily, we are pleased that you were able to make use of the hotel we provided for you.
Overall we are pleased that the little things you did not like, bedding,cutlery and plates did not stop you from travelling our magnificent country.
It was lovely to meet you briefly in Christchurch and we are so pleased that the van you received then met your expectations and you carried on without any incident.
We wish you well on your future travels.
Kylie and Dan

Cristina's avatar

Cristina

Ranking: 10/10

We had a wonderful time with our Cruzy Camper! It was great travelling during more than 2 weeks all around both islands with it. We picked it up in Christhurch and dropped it down in Auckland with no problem and a very fair price.
The staff is super friendly and we were explained how everything worked. We were also given some fun tips, a mobile phone, and a super useful map that took us to the most magnificent sceneries. We had no problem at all with it, the bed was big and comfortable, and it had all the acessories we needed: blankets, pillows, a heater, a kettle, pans and kitchen accessories. Also 2 comfy chairs and a portable table to eat outside, and plenty of space to store all the souvenirs we bought along the way!
Driving it was fun and safe. We knew it wasn't as new or as full equipped as other companies campers (maybe our backs are used to newer shock absorbers), but we enjoyed it a lot. There's nothing we would change.

Reviewed 3 months ago and experienced in November 2017

Cruzy Campers responds:

Hi Cristina. So pleased you had a great holiday and you had fun while travelling with us.
Kylie and Dan

Francis's avatar

Francis

Ranking: 10/10

We had the van for 3 weeks traveling all around the southeren island, from the uppermost northern tip to the most southern tip and the van always handled it with grace. The insides were also excellent and no complaints of the bed.

Reviewed 6 months ago and experienced in November 2017

Cruzy Campers responds:

Hi Francis, so pleased you enjoyed to NZ holiday.
Kylie and Dan

Franzi and Marcel's avatar

Franzi and Marcel

Ranking: 10/10

We rented a Cruzy Camper for 3 weeks for a fair price. Snoogs had everything you could wish for. But sadly we had a problem with the power steering when we came back from French Pass on a Saturday afternoon. Of course every workshop was closed until Monday morning. So that we are not stuck in Nelson, Kylie got us a rental car and we could spent the weekend at Golden Bay. When we came back, they checked Snoogs but couldn’t repair because of a missing spare part. Than we drove with Snoogs to Westport, met there with Kylie and Dan to change the camper.
It doesn‘t matter that the campers are old – they are well maintained and of course you can have a problem with a new camper too. But than it depends how your rental company is dealing with problems. Kylie and Dan made a perfect job and we even managed to stick on our route. So definitely 10 stars.

Reviewed 7 months ago and experienced in March 2018

Cruzy Campers responds:

Hi Guys,
thank you for being so helpful and easy to deal with. Sometimes things do wrong while traveling in a car but we work hard to keep our clients mobile so as to not upset their holiday.
We hope to see you again sometime.
Kylie and Dan

Marc's avatar

Marc

United States

Ranking: 10/10

My girlfriend and I toured the South Island for 5 weeks in January and February 2018 in a Cruzy Camper, clocking just under 6,000 kilometers. Our van, TOAD II, was no young buck with over 470,000 kilometers, but was clean, ran well and got us around just fine. Kylie and Dan, were great to work with, and very responsive. We had two incidents (broken wheel lug and broken roof vent), which they fixed quickly and got us on our way. Thank you Cruzy Campers!

Reviewed 7 months ago and experienced in January 2018

Cruzy Campers responds:

Hi Marc, so pleased we could get you moving again quickly. Dans Dad is a great help on the west coast! Im pleased you had great holiday while travelling with us.
Travel Safe.
Kylie and Dan

Compare and Book Campervans