Travellers Autobarn

83%

Details

53 Rankers Reviews

7 Face-to-Face

18 Motorhomes

Maps

Photos

Information

Travellers Autobarn is a budget/backpacker campervan rental company with locations all around Australia & New Zealand

Travellers Autobarn is offering a wide range of campervans, campers, and vans for hire from two locations in New Zealand – Auckland and Christchurch. As a proud and well established Australian campervan company, Travellers Autobarn (est. 1993) has been operating in New Zealand since 2009 and is the perfect ’one stop shop’ for backpackers and budget travellers planning their self drive trip around New Zealand in a campervan. Our campervans are all factory built, purpose built for you to rent. They are reliable and functional, there’s plenty of space, and they are about the smallest vehicle that can truly to be called a campervan.

Details

Feature Value Info

Location

North IslandAuckland RegionAuckland

Categories

  • Motorhomes

Business Times

9 am to 4 pm Monday to Friday.
9 am to noon Saturdays (closed 1st May to 31st August).
Closed Sundays (drop offs still available on request).

Contact

Campers

  • Thumb

    Stationwagon

    The backpacker classic! Nothing beats a stationwagon for touring New Zealand. Perfect for tourists on a budget who still want to experience New Zealand up close – not through the window of a bus!

  • Thumb

    HiTop Campervan

    The Hitop Campervan is a thoughtfully designed vehicle that sleeps for 2 to 3 people.

  • Thumb

    Kuga Campervan

    Travellers Autobarn has launched its brand new Kuga Campervan models in New Zealand – which come with brand-new fit-out (2016). So if you like something NEW this is the right camper for you!

  • Thumb

    HI5 Campervan

    Travellers Autobarn is launching our custom-built Hi5 Campervans in New Zealand! The Hi5 Camper is our biggest camper yet, seating and sleeping up to 5 people.

Reviews

Showing 13 reviews of 53.

Compare and Book Campervans

Alice's avatar

Alice

Ranking: 9/10

Have used them twice now, both in New Zealand and in Australia in different vans and have loved both experiences. Really helpful service insuring that we had everything we wanted for our trip and the van worked great. We had a slightly older model with a few bumps and dents on the body work, but the internal fit was still very good and we had no problems with the engine. Would highly reccommend and if we are ever back this way, we will book again with TA!!

Reviewed 4 days ago

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Arnold van der Linden's avatar

Arnold van der Linden

Sweden

Ranking: 5/10

Campervan was good, refridgerator was making terrible noise and battery only holding max 12 hours from full charge.
When calling customer service you end up in Australia at a friendly person but unable to solve any issue.

Reviewed 3 months ago

Campervan bookings…  Compare and Book Campervans  … best price guarantee!

Karen Gething's avatar

Karen Gething

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

Easy pick up and drop off. Clear and easy to understand rental agreement and online pre check in procedure. Loved driving the van,it’s not as glitzy as others you see on the road but it had loads of storage, good fridge and lots of worktop space for food preparation. It was a little scuffed on thecinternal paintwork but if I’m honest that made it less intimidating to drive and use. Bit slow going up hills but we were there to see the scenery so that was fine. My daughter and I had a great time and would definitely recommend these vans,

Reviewed 3 months ago

Anne Wallace's avatar

Anne Wallace

Australia

Ranking: 10/10

Hired from the Christchurch depot of Travellers Autobarn their newly remodelled/refitted Hi5 Campervan. We needed a vehicle that seated and slept 4, this hi top van accommodated 5. Pick up and drop off was absolutely smooth and very professional. Their depot is very easy to get to catching the No. 29 bus and then a 10 minute walk if you want to use public transport. We had our nominated drivers collect the vehicle and drive to our accommodation to pick up the other passengers, this saved having to take our luggage to the depot. No issues with the van whatsoever during our month long trip of the South Island, all ran well. The remodel is fabulous making it easier to have separate areas for cooking and leisure seating/sleeping with easier access to the seating area from the sliding door access. Very happy with it's handling of some of the windy roads we travelled, would not have wanted the stress of driving a larger vehicle as some roads and bridges are very narrow. In all a great hire choice and would strongly recommend for a stress free travel experience.

Reviewed 4 months ago

Avoid Camping Fines!

The only camping map where each location is approved by every regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

JC Oli's avatar

JC Oli

Argentina

Ranking: 10/10

Rented a Kuga campervan for 20 days, great experience! Campervan was great, everything worked as expected. Very comfortable bed, fridge was big enough and microwave was an awsome plus.

We had 2 big suitcases and were able to store them in the upper level. May be too small for 3 people.

Reviewed 4 months ago

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Christian Cippis's avatar

Christian Cippis

Belgium

Ranking: 10/10

Amazing camper! Amazing Times! Thanks a bundle!

Reviewed 5 months ago

Joseph's avatar

Joseph

Ranking: 10/10

Excellent service and vehicle, we had a great time!

Reviewed 8 months ago

alc012's avatar

alc012

Ranking: 1/10

We had an incredibly stressful and disappointing experience with Travellers Autobarn after booking one of their vans via the recommendation of a travel agent for a 10 day trip around the south island. The trip started off smoothly and we were thrilled with how clean and spacious the van was. After trouble with a dead battery in Milford Sound, we jumped our car twice after it stalled mid-drive- the break assist, power steering, and gas all stopped. This was absolutely terrifying, especially with the steep drive back to Queenstown. After driving 4 hours nonstop with no air or radio on for fear of draining the battery. We were confident that the battery would be recharged and the van safe to drive after this, but it stalled again 3 times when we arrived back in the town center in Queenstown which was super concerning. We called the Christchurch office the next day and encountered a pretty rude staff member who insisted that this was all our fault because of the dead battery, even though that is not normal after a jump start and 4 hours of driving to recharge. She told us to call someone to diagnose the problem which we paid for out of pocket. This man wasn't a mechanic and couldn't tell us what was wrong besides that it was not due to the previous death of the battery. So we ate that cost and had no answers. We called customer service in Australia and had much better service with a woman who showed concern and put us in touch with her personal mechanic in Queenstown. This mechanic was very helpful and seemed qualified and smart. However after hours of looking at our van, he came up with hundreds of solutions that could fix our van but concluded that it was a really complex issue and that the van needed to be taken out of commission and looked at. He did say that the battery was 8 years old and overdue to be replaced as well as the spark plugs which made us furious, as we assumed we were renting a safe and up to date van........

Reviewed about 1 year ago and experienced in March 2018

Travellers Autobarn responds:

Hi Avery,

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your road trip with us. It’s very tricky situation when you have a breakdown on the road, we try our best to source the best professionals to assess and fix these problems as they happen. In this case, you advised you had an issue and when we sent you to a mechanic, but they indicated there is no problem with the vehicle. Three different mechanics assured us on each occasion that there were no safety issues with the vehicle. We would not allow you to continue with an unsafe vehicle.

In the event of a mechanical breakdown we refund you for the time spent off the road and in this case, we refunded $330. It's difficult to predict if a vehicle is going to break down and we think this is the fairest to compensate for lost time. We are sorry you had a to deal with a breakdown and that you felt unsafe, that is not the outcome we want for our customers. I hope you we able to achieve some enjoyable experiences on your trip and enjoyed New Zealand overall.

laurent twardowski's avatar

laurent twardowski

Belgium

Ranking: 9/10

Everything was perfectly good with TA. The van was clean and well maintained. The pick up and drop off were easy going, effective and fluent. I would recommend it without any doubt. Laurent

Reviewed about 1 year ago

João Carvalho's avatar

João Carvalho

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

Very satisfied. The Kuga campervan didn't present any problem during the 17 days. Confortable bed and all commodities as advertised.

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Tim Pellenkoft's avatar

Tim Pellenkoft

Netherlands

Ranking: 8/10

Nice campervan, all the facilities you need. Cold inside once summer is over.

Reviewed about 1 year ago

yvonne smolders's avatar

yvonne smolders

Netherlands

Ranking: 10/10

We have rent a kuga van for 5 weeks and we really enjoyed it! Great service and clear communication at arrival in Auckland and drop of in Christchurch.
The van was in good condition. Good value for the price, so we definitely recommend it!

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Sasa Jamsek's avatar

Sasa Jamsek

Slovenia

Ranking: 9/10

We have picked up our KUGA campervan at Christchurch office. The process was quite fluent. The van was in good conditions with some minor scratches. It served us well during our 23 day rental period. The only issue we had was with additional heater which didn't work. We were offered the reimbursement. Kuga van was spacious enough for two (OK, sometimes we missed some extra space). Fuel consumption was less than described on spec sheet. When deciding about choosing KUGA campervan we were not sure if it is manual or automatic since data on web page and on PDF spec sheet were different. After inquiry the data sheet was updated. Kuga is automatic. The drop off proces in Auckland depot was so fast we forgot to claim reimbursement for the heater:)

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Compare and Book Campervans

Love Christchurch