Budgy Campers

74%

Details

62 Rankers Reviews

1 Face-to-Face

27 Motorhomes

Maps

Photos

The Budgy Traveller - Perfect for 2 adults and 1 child.
Budgy Sleeper - Comes with a permanent double bed.
Traveller Plus - Additional height so you can stand inside.
Familia 6 - Offers shower, toilet and heating.

Information

Are you travelling on a budget? Then this selection of fully self-contained campervans and sleepercars are for you. They have a few miles on the clock but their robust safety checks ensure a safe, reliable and comfortable camper.

DEALS ON OFFER
Winter Special: Travel New Zealand in Winter and grab 25% discount. Valid for travel: 01 June - 31 July 2019. Sale ends: 15 May 19.
Summer Sale: Book and Pay to save 15%. Valid for travel: 01 Nov - 20 Feb 2019. Sale ends: 31 May 19. *Valid for Budgy Familia 6

Choose Budgy if you want to get more out of your New Zealand Adventure! We know you are excited about enjoying the all-natural theme park of New Zealand and we want to help you explore by offering you an affordable safe and reliable camper.

With your Camper we also provide you with a cool ‘Goodies Package’ so you can drive, stay and play independently.

ONE PRICE PACKAGE

Over the years we have gathered customer feedback on what products and fees are most necessary to include in a Motorhome holiday. We have worked to refine our package and have come up with our ‘One Price Package’ offer. This includes:

Self-Containment Certificate – allows you to freedom camp so you will save money on campsite fees. This gives you the chance to spend and play more on other activities during your holiday.

Insurance Cover – travel with peace of mind knowing you are covered in case of an incident. Cover includes: Tyres, windscreen replacement (one incident), an extra driver and road side assistance. The excess is NZD250.

Media Kit – helps you to stay safe and intouch with your family and friends. This includes: Inverter or 12V Charger, Phone and NZ SIM Card, Travel Adapter, Tourism Radio and Audio guide.

Additional Items – let’s not forget all the other items we give you for free. These include: one-way fee, unlimited km, airport transfer (airport depot/depot airport) fuel discount card, road map, camping chair and camping table.

*Travel from 01 May 19 - Cell Phone and NZ SIM Card. There will be a $25 charge for the GPS.

Details

Feature Value Info

Location

South IslandCanterburyChristchurch

Categories

  • Motorhomes

Business Times

Monday to Sunday: 8am - 4pm
Public Holidays: 8am - 4pm
Branches are closed: Christmas day (25th December and New Years Day (1st January)

Contact

Campers

  • Thumb

    Budgy Sleeper

    The Budgy Sleeper comes with a fully-equipped kitchenette in the rear including; a gas cooker, cooler box, plates, pans and cutlery. You will also find bedding, bath towels and kitchen towels – making this a very well equipped camper.

  • Thumb

    Budgy Traveller

    Our Budgy Traveller comes with a fully equipped kitchen, a gas cooker, a fridge, bedding inclusive, 2 towels per person and tea towels and is therefore a great vehicle for every backpacker’s heart.

  • Thumb

    Budgy Traveller Plus

    The Budgy Traveller Plus is certified self containted and comes with a fully equipped kitchen, gas cooker, small fridge and other gear. This Campers offers more height and is a bit newer than the Budgy Traveller

  • Thumb

    Budgy Familia 6 Motorhome

    The Budgy Familia offers great comfort for up to 6 people. It is the perfect family motorhome due to its interior layout!

Reviews

Showing 13 reviews of 62.

Featured review

Budgy Campers has selected this customer review to be pinned to the top of this page.

This review was selected by Philip Knowles of Budgy Campers on Fri 16 Sep, 2016.

Justine ROUSSARIE's avatar

Justine ROUSSARIE

Australia

Ranking: 10/10

Euro Campers had an amazing customer service from the booking until the drop off of the van. They were quick to answer my questions prior to our trip and great with logistics (pick up, airport transfer, drop off). The staff was quick, efficient and friendly. Fabian was expecting us for the drop off and made it easy for us to give the campervan back and head to the city.
The campervan (Budget Traveller 2+1) was great for 3 people used to travelling together, it felt more spacious than some bigger vans we've had in the past. Even though the vehicle is quite old, everything worked perfectly well and we had no problem on the road. We also felt that if any problem were to happen, Euro Campers would help us out anywhere around the south island to help us keep on travelling.

Really friendly and efficient staff, great customer service and great quality of the vehicle and care package! We were all very pleased with our choice and highly recommend the company.

Reviewed over 3 years ago

Budgy Campers responds:

Hey Justine,

you were very nice and refreshing guest and it was a pleasure to have you here.
We are happy that all went well, you liked our vehicle and service and of course, that New Zealand presented itself at its best :)

Thanks again for travelling with us.

Best wishes,

Euro Campers

Compare and Book Campervans

Fabian Kerchere's avatar

Fabian Kerchere

United Arab Emirates

Ranking: 10/10

The staff were organised and efficient Very helpful with local tips when leaving Auckland.
Overall excellent customer service and satisfied with the Camper. Easy pick up and drop off and the informations provided was updated..
We rent the Budgy Familia. Was good size. Getting older inside, but I expected that as it is budget.
Thankyou.

Reviewed 4 months ago

Budgy Campers responds:

Hi Fabian,
Thanks for your review. It was great to meet you - and so pleased that you got to walk the Tongariro Crossing with such great weather.
Lovely to meet you, Jenny and your family. The Budgy is a great family camper - cheap and comfy.

See you again,
Budgy Campers

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

June Pascal's avatar

June Pascal

Spain

Ranking: 10/10

“We were so happy with our lovely Budgy Sleeper! We had no issues or problems and the Budgy Campers staff is really easy-going and friendly! The pick up and drop off were so easy. I can absolutely recommend this camper rental company! Thank you so much for making our amazing travel around the South Island possible :)”

Reviewed 4 months ago

Budgy Campers responds:

Hi June,

You sure did have a great time - thanks for the 10/10! I think you made us all laugh the most trying to speak 'Kiwi'!

We look forward to seeing your photos on instagram #budgycampers of your successful roadtrip of the South Island.

Cheers
Budgy Campers

Campervan bookings…  Compare and Book Campervans  … best price guarantee!

Geoff Scott's avatar

Geoff Scott

England

Ranking: 10/10

My family (4) hired the Budgy Familia 6. It was great! - It's not expensive and was as budget as they said it was - but it was clean and everything worked! Staff were friendly and easy to deal with. The kids were given toys from the owner which was a nice touch.

If you are after a simple camper without the bells and whistles then Id recommend Budgy Campers.

Thanks for having us!
Geoff and family

Reviewed 5 months ago

Budgy Campers responds:

Hi Geoff,

The Budgy 6 seems to be a very popular Camper this season! I think because of the value for money. Yes - it's older, but the price is right - and sleeps a family of 6 easily.

Great to meet you Geoff,
Budgy Campers

Sasha Mieler's avatar

Sasha Mieler

Iceland

Ranking: 9/10

Great camper, clean and maintaince good. We got a good deal and would recomend budgy campers to any backpcker. We did have a problem with the fridge box, staff swapped and fixed problem very quick.

Reviewed 9 months ago

Budgy Campers responds:

Hi Sasha,
Thank you for your feedback. The Budgy Sleeper is a great camper for travelling and staying in New Zealand. Thanks for your understanding with the fridge box issue and we are pleased we could resolve this quickly for you.
All the best, and we look forward to seeing you back in New Zealand soon.
Regards
Budgy Campers Team.

Avoid Camping Fines!

The only camping map where each location is approved by every regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Xin Zhough's avatar

Xin Zhough

Japan

Ranking: 10/10

We had a awesome time in our 2 x Budgy sleeper touring around New Zealand- 22 days.
Kitchen was great and had everything we needed, bed was soft and clean, car was well maintained. We were very happy with the conditions of the rentals, staff were helpful and friendly, and pick-up/drop-off was fast and easy.
We would definitely recommend Budgy.

Reviewed 10 months ago and experienced in May 2018

Budgy Campers responds:

Hi Xin,

Thank you for your review. It was great to meet you and you enjoyed your time in the Budgy Sleeper. You travelled a great deal of the country in your 22 day hire, and we are pleased it was a beautiful clear day so you saw Mt Cook.

All the best, and we look forward to your return trip in March 2019.

Cheers
Budgy Campers

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Jasmin's avatar

Jasmin

Ranking: 3/10

the stuff is very friendly, but I had a lot of problems with the budgy sleeper campervan. it was an old one in a really bad condition. I lost a lot of days because of waiting at the garage for a few times. they told me there'll we a refund for the time I lost, but I didn't. I'm sorry, because the stuff is really nice and helpful but I wouldn't rent a van with euro/budgy campers again.

Reviewed 11 months ago and experienced in March 2018

Budgy Campers responds:

Hi Jasmin,
Thank you for your review.

Sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you and and discussed with you at the time of your hire.

Regards
Budgy Campers

Martha Godon's avatar

Martha Godon

New Zealand

Ranking: 4/10

Older van with older van problems. We got exactly what we reserved but after a week we noticed that the ceiling of the van was full of mold. Also the engine light went on and off a few times throughout the road trip. Frustration mounted at the return of the vehicle - the Christchurch office told us "at 3pm", when in fact it was 2:30 to not miss the airport shuttle. They are very strict about their policy and we had to take a taxi.

Reviewed 12 months ago

Budgy Campers responds:

Hi Martha,

Thank you for your review and we are sorry about your experience. The van has been taken through a vigorous winter check and is back up and running top notch.

Our shuttle time runs on a schedule as we have other customers drop off and collect at the airport which is prearranged. These times are outlined at the collection of the vehicle so we can ensure you are here for your transfer. Sorry it was not interrupted this way.

We do hope you enjoyed your trip of New Zealand.

Regards
Budgy Campers

David Mooney's avatar

David Mooney

Australia

Ranking: 3/10

We rented a 6 berth motorhome from Euro Campers for a 17 day circuit of the South Island. I was surprised when we picked the van up that all the final paperwork was actually with Budgy Campers and not Euro with whom I had made the booking. The van was 8 years old and definitely showing its age with a number of items either not working or broken at pick up (eg: water storage gauges). The water pump broke down after one day and although the company were quick to find a repairer, we lost half a day whilst it was fixed. The brakes were definitely in need of a service and one of the rear passenger seats was only attached to the vehicle with some old velcro (!) and slid off on corners or when braking. Clearly dangerous. The motor would take 2-3 minutes to start from cold due to a fault with the glow plugs and the engine malfunction indicator light came on many times during the trip - making me wonder whether we were about to be stranded somewhere. I can’t help thinking that this is a van that is nearing the end of its rental life. The van did not meet our expectations nor I believe the Company's own marketing materials. Overall we noted a total of 18 issues with the van - 5 of which were of a critical or dangerous nature. Despite going through these issues with staff when we returned the van and, as requested, emailing the list to the Company on the following day (over a week ago now), I have had no response from the Company. It seems like they just don't care. The condition of the van significantly impacted the enjoyment of our trip and based on our experience, I cannot recommend Euro (or Budgy) Campers.

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Budgy Campers responds:

Hi David,

We are sorry that you did not understand that you had booked with Budgy Campers. This is outlined in your quote and on your booking confirmation letter. The camper is older, however you do only pay the price for the budget camper.

Thank you for your feedback on issues with the Camper. The issues you have identified have been noted and sent direct to the mechanical team to check.

All of our Vehicals do go through the mechanical checks and we are sorry you had this experience.

Regards
Budgy Campers

Annika Schmitt's avatar

Annika Schmitt

Germany

Ranking: 7/10

They have really nice staff and always forward coming. We had a great time with the campervan. We basically had everything we needed.
However there were a few flaws that's why they won't get the best ratings.
In our campervan the fridge was very old, rusty and you couldn't close it properly anymore. Our linen sheet had weird, dirty stains like they haven't been washed. We felt so uncomfortable that we washed them and the stains were gone. Totally a no goer. We were happy about the GPS and with this company there weren't any additional charges but it hasn't been updated for years (e.g. most parts of the highway to Wellington weren't didn't exist). Also if you haven't plugged the van to a power station only the fridge and lights will work nothing else. That was kind of a downer and I know other companies with newer vans where you don't have this problem. In addition in February / March the nights were very very cold in the van. The van comes with a heating station but it's also a very old model ergo very noisy and impossible to leave it on during the night.
All in together if you're not so picky Euro Camper is definitely a good solution. But if you want an up to date campervan with newer equipment I'd pay a bit more to be fully satisfied. For the next trip I'd choose the latter.

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Budgy Campers responds:

Hi Annika,

Thanks for your response, and I do appologise for your experience. All of our linen is washed at the dry cleaners and bought back to us in handy packed bags.

The GPS are all being updated as part of the Winter checks.

The heating does work well, and with all older model campers, there is a bit of noise as the diesel runs the heating system.

Again, this is a Budgy - Budget Camper, which is stipulated in all of our marketing material. You only pay the price for a Budgy Camper.

Regards
Budgy Campers

Eva Hantke's avatar

Eva Hantke

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

We had amazing 6 weeks with our "Budgy Sleeper". Not the joungest car, but in great shape. Small but extremely cozy. Especially the kitchen was excellent manufactured (all the other campers were so jealous) and well equipped. Despite beeing such a small car our "Lucy" had a lot of storage room. The technical equipment, especially the SIM-card and the charger were very useful. The staff in Christchurch and Auckland was super friendly and very helpful - in the office and on the phone. We had to exchange some equipment, like the USB-charger, but it was no problem at all to get a refund.

One tiny thing to improve: The hooks of the curtain got loose from ceiling very soon, we couldnt fix them properly. Maybe there is another method to fix them!?

It was one of our best campervan-experiences (and we had had a lot of them before) :)
Thanks a lot! We hope to come back to New Zeeland soon.

Reviewed about 1 year ago and experienced in November 2017

Budgy Campers responds:

Hi Eva,

Thanks for your review and the photos you sent through to us. It sounds and looked like you had an amazing campervan holiday and we would certainly welcome back for your next holiday. Let us know, and we will give you a repeat customer discount!
Kind regards
Budgy Campers

Cynthia Cilyo's avatar

Cynthia Cilyo

United States

Ranking: 2/10

The Eurocamper staff were very friendly, helpful in planning in advance of our arrival and sought to have an all inclusive package with all items necessary for a vacation. The vehicle was clean, however it was poorly maintained, and inadequately equipped for remote travel in the South Island where there is often no cell phone coverage. It had no spare tire or adequate jack. The emergency travel services we called when we broke down, did not have the instrumentation to diagnose or fix the camper where we were and the recommended a towing service that could not tow our 7 m camper. The GPS unit supplied worked about a 1/3 of the time and routinely quit in the middle of a route. We spent vacation days and money purchasing SIM cards, tools, hoses, electrical tape, windshield wipers and other items to get through our trip. The free app Campermate and purchased NZ SIM cards and phone and plans saved us in navigating and localizing where we were for the Emergency services.

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Budgy Campers responds:

Dear Cynthia,
Thank you for your review. New Zealand does offer its challengers in terms of travelling through remote areas. We certainly advice that not all of the country offers cell phone coverage and you need to be prepared when travelling by Camper to remote spots - this includes GPS. Unfortunately we can't help with this challenge. We do recommend the travel App - Campermate is downloaded on your phones before travel, so you have access to helpful, free maps, information and advice on things to see and do in NZ.

We do hope you enjoyed New Zealand,
Regards
Budgy Campers

Raphael HANNOIR's avatar

Raphael HANNOIR

Belgium

Ranking: 7/10

Very good service. Unfortunately, brakes were completely out of order. But they arranged all to fix it rapidly and made a refund for the lost day. I recommend them as all was well prepared when pick-up. No bad surprise

Reviewed about 1 year ago and experienced in January 2018

Budgy Campers responds:

Hi Raphael

Thank you for your review, and we were pleased that we were able to get the brakes fixed and have you back on the road. Thank you for recommending us.

Regards
Budgy Campers

Jo Hoggi's avatar

Jo Hoggi

Austria

Ranking: 10/10

Thanks for the super nice van. We loved him and he brought us everywhere! Our budgy was very well equiped, and we was totally self contained! The staff is very friendly, super customer service, and pick us up and drop us off at the airport, thanks for that! Toyota Hiace best van on the plan(et)!!

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Budgy Campers responds:

Hello Jo,

Thank you for your review. It was great to hear all about your holiday, and especially the feedback about how much you enjoyed the Budgy Traveller. It has a few miles on the clock - but it runs well and has everything you need for a perfect holiday.

Let us know when you are coming back to NZ, and be sure to book with us again :)
Regards
Budgy Campers

Compare and Book Campervans

Love Christchurch