Thornton Beach Holiday Park



22 Rankers Reviews

3 Face-to-Face

154 Camping Grounds

81 Dump Station

6 Whakatane



We are a beautiful beachside AND river side location.
We keep our all new facilities spotless.
Covered Gas BBQ's and dining areas
We also have contemporary designer 2 bdrm bachs for sale!
Beachfront access with views of Whale, White & Rau Rimas Is.
Plenty for the kids to do too!
Bring your boat on holiday! Boat ramp is only 200m away!


We are a beachfront & riverside location with first class facilities and a heap of affordable activities. Only a few k's the beaten track but still within minutes of great shopping and country cafes - we're beach front camping the way it used to be!

Thornton Beach Holiday Park near Whakatane is a great destination for a fantastic New Zealand beach holiday with heaps of fun for the whole family. We have many campsites available and various types of accommodation to suit all needs and budgets.

There are many great new facilities at Thornton Beach Holiday Park:
• Large undercover outdoor BBQ area
• Communal kitchen with electric hobs, fridge/freezers, jugs, a toaster, coffee machine, and a microwave.
• Coin operated laundry facilities
• Jumping Pillow
• Internet access with WiFi hotspot
• Baby Bath and changing table
• All new ablution block
• Our showers are purpose built for families, with 3 large family size showers available. A baby bath and changing table is available and for little boys, we even have a lower urinal!

• Safe swimming in the estuary
• Pedal powered Berg Go-Karts
• Wharf fishing and boat ramp only 200m from the Park
• Playground right beside the Park
• 5 Golf Courses within 30mins of the Park
• 3 superb Country Cafes only minutes from the Park
• Multitude of affordable attractions within a short distance of the Park - Just ask.

Above all else a nice relaxed beachfront atmosphere within lovely landscaped grounds.

Learn more…


Feature Value Info


North IslandBay of PlentyWhakatane


  • Dump Station
  • Camping Grounds






  • Thumb

    Camping and Caravan Sites

    78 campsites, all with power and water. If you enjoy camping, you’ll love staying with us! There are so many great spots at Thornton Beach Holiday Park to set up your tent or park your motor home.

    Child $10/day
    Adult $20/day
  • Thumb

    Standard Cabins

    A double bed & 2 single bunk beds in the room. Our Standard Cabins are basic but comfortable, with plenty of sleeping space comprising a queen-size bed and a bunk bed in the same room. The Standard Cabin sleeps up to 4 people.

    Base Rate (2 persons) $80/day
    Extra Person $20/day
  • Thumb

    Tourist Flats

    Sleeps: 4 people. A queen size bed in one room and 2 single bunk beds in another. The recently renovated, self-contained Tourist Flats at Thornton Beach Holiday Park have two bedrooms and an open space lounge/kitchen/dining area for you to use.

    Base Rate (2 persons) $105/day
    Extra Person $20/day
  • Thumb

    Park Motel Units

    Sleeps: 5 people. 1 queen size bedroom downstairs and 1 queen size bed and single bed in another room upstairs. Our comfortable and spacious 2-storey Park Motel is a fantastic choice of accommodation for a great beach holiday with the family.

    Base Rate (2 persons) $130/day
    Extra Person $20/day


Showing 13 reviews of 22.

Featured review

Thornton Beach Holiday Park has selected this customer review to be pinned to the top of this page.

This review was selected by Louise of Thornton Beach Holiday Park on Tue 09 May, 2017.

Jackie Takerei's avatar

Jackie Takerei

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

What a Great 12 days at Thornton Holiday Park. Very Clean bathroom/family showers great kitchen/laundry facilities, most of all very safe for my 3 grandchildren aged 9,6 & 6. We nicknamed the Jumping Pillow our "Babysitter", as it rises at 8am & deflates at 8pm. Our grandchildren loved it, made alot of friends too. Would recommend this to everyone. Beach is just out the main entrance & the wharf 2 minute walk. Hoping to book in early again for this year. Great Staff...just Fantastic!!

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Thornton Beach Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for the great review Jackie, we do try very hard to make our camp a great choice. Thanks Thronton Beach Holiday Park.

Joanne's avatar


Ranking: 7/10

Cute campsite near the beach. Note there are no beach sites available for campervans or tents. The view of the beach is blocked by permanent motor homes/cabins.
Price on Rankers completely wrong. $40 for two people powered site (no unpowered available). Extra cost for shower of $1 each.

Facilities fine.

Overall nice campsite but overpriced compared to others on our 5 week trip.

Reviewed about 1 month ago

Anders Knutsson's avatar

Anders Knutsson


Ranking: 8/10

Nice place by the sea, very beautiful. Well maintained holiday park with friendly staff.

Reviewed 4 months ago and experienced in December 2018

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Ray Tombs's avatar

Ray Tombs

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

A wonderful family motorcamp, clean, well kept NZMCA discount. Awesome managers.
Highly recommended, we loved it and will sure be back.
Ray and Cindy. ROTORUA

Reviewed 8 months ago

Peter's avatar



Ranking: 10/10

Brilliant site. Great facilities on a fabulous beach with really friendly, helpful hosts.
Definitely stay here again.

Reviewed 12 months ago

Thornton Beach Holiday Park is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Truds/ Shaun McGregor's avatar

Truds/ Shaun McGregor

Ranking: 10/10

Lovely people, clean camp,no complaints at all...nice size sites...would visit again

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Peter Edmead's avatar

Peter Edmead

Ranking: 7/10

Large campsite near beach. Friendly manager and happy to give the 10% Rankers discount. Everything very clean and modern. Appears to be geared towards large groups visiting - eg school trips - and has large semi open eating area next to kitchen. However, when we visited it was quite cold and it really needs an indoor space to eat meals when there are only a few guests staying in cold weather.

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Avoid Camping Fines!

The only camping map where each location is approved by every regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Mark Phillips's avatar

Mark Phillips

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

Geat experience for new campers. The facilities are so amazing. Just like being at home. The beach was beautiful and the swim in the river is safe and good for children. We had good internet access. Recommend everyone try and good rates.

Reviewed almost 2 years ago

John Tait's avatar

John Tait

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

We stayed at Thornton Beach Holiday park for over a week in our Van. We found the facilities in the ablution block spotless, showers hot, powerful and worth the small fee of $1 charged. The beach and river are ideal for swimming. Campsites are larger than most and are sheltered from wind. Staff where excellent - will definitely be coming back!

Reviewed about 2 years ago

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Russell Hopkins's avatar

Russell Hopkins


Ranking: 10/10

What a magical place! From the time we walked into reception till the day we left we where treated with the most helpful friendly team. The facilities are excellent, the beach is beautiful and the grounds are kept immaculate. Close to everything you should need. Recommend this park to everyone. Best park in Nz thus far !

Reviewed about 2 years ago

Paul Smith's avatar

Paul Smith

Ranking: 9/10

Well kept, clean and tidy site right on the beach and river estuary. Plenty of room in the well kept park. Facilities immaculate.

Reviewed about 3 years ago

Thornton Beach Holiday Park responds:

Thank you Paul for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed our Park.

Thornton Beach Holiday park

Thornton Beach Holiday Park is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Philippa and Adam's avatar

Philippa and Adam

Ranking: 3/10

We had a poor night of sleep due to a group partying in a cabin until about 4am - the noise echoed around the whole site as far as the toilets. The owners didn't do anything (and apparently from chatting to a regular site user this is not the first instance of rowdy behaviour being ignored by the owners). And $40 for two on an unpowered site in March is very expensive. Facilities are clean, location is great right next to the beach. It would have been an 8 out of 10 if not for the above issues.

Reviewed about 3 years ago

Thornton Beach Holiday Park responds:

We are very sorry to hear about your interrupted sleep. Unfortunately, occasionally after being asked by the owners "several times to keep the noise level down during the night and to return indoors" these are still ignored.

We do strive and try our best to keep it enjoyable for everyone staying at the camp.

Thornton Beach Holiday park

S Scott's avatar

S Scott

Ranking: 8/10

Great camping! Big, clean and close to the beach and fishing dock. Very friendly staff and awesome infrastructure. My boys (7-11) loved it!! We will come back!! We definitely recommend it :))

Reviewed over 3 years ago

Thornton Beach Holiday Park responds:

Thank you for the great review. Look forward to seeing you again.

Thornton Beach Holiday park.

Wout van Dijk's avatar

Wout van Dijk

Ranking: 7/10

Nice campsite at the beach. The owners just bought the place 7 months ago. There is a nice field to camp and the spots are spacious. The kitchen and washrooms are OK. Though you had to dry your hands with a towel, which could be improved. It was a bit expensive $40 in November for 2 persons and you had to pay for the showers as well. But overall a good campsite to stay the night.

Reviewed over 3 years ago

Thornton Beach Holiday Park responds:

Thank you for the review. We listen to all remarks and have since purchased hand blowers for our Ablution block bathrooms.
As for charging for showers this is a way to prevent people having a 30min shower, it saves money in the long run for everybody including the environment.

Thornton Beach Holiday park

Love Christchurch