Happy Campers

Happy Campers


249 Rankers Reviews

105 Face-to-Face

  • Compare Prices

    • Easily contact many companies.

    • Receive responses via email.

    • All within 24 hours.

Online Maps


Showing 8 reviews of 244.

Thomas MULLER's avatar



Ranking: 1/10

I have a bad experience with Happy Campers' customer service. On the last day of our rental, a car hit us on the back of our vehicule and damaged the back door. When we went back to return the campervan, Happy Campers asked us to pay 500NZD for the reparations and told us they would contact the other's driver insurance for compensation of the damages, as we established an accident report with the other driver. However, Happy Campers never answered to my emails after the lockdown and I have no information to know if the procedure is effectively ongoing.
Concerning the van itself, you get what you pay for, but everything was working correctly during our trip even f the van had more than 400000km.

Reviewed 3 months ago and experienced in February 2020

Campervan bookings…  Compare and Book Campervans  … best price guarantee!

Jul Dy's avatar

Jul Dy

Ranking: 1/10

Don't rent Happy Campers, we absolutely don't recommand it! We had a van for 1 month in New Zealand in january 2020, in very bad shape, with tyres so old that we had a low tyre. We had to pay (tyre and AA intervention) and Happy Campers did not pay back and still don't answer our mails 4 months after. Many other problems including security. We wish we had paid a little more with other companies with vans in better shape.

Reviewed 8 months ago and experienced in January 2020

Avoid Camping Fines!

Each camping location is approved by a regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Quentin Goutard's avatar

Quentin Goutard

Ranking: 2/10

They are thieves!! run away from them !! we rented for three months an autonomous van which had only problems (electricity, leaks, ...) it spoiled our trip! we had to return it after 1 month because of the Covid-19 they did not return anything! they kept several thousand dollars for them for no reason! other travelers were happier with other rental companies!

Reviewed 9 months ago and experienced in March 2020

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Simone's avatar


Ranking: 1/10

We booked a camper van for April. Due to corona crisis we had to cancel but didn't get back any money . They making money out of this crisis!!! A NO GO

Reviewed 9 months ago

Peter's avatar


Ranking: 1/10

Happy Campers NZ

We booked from 31.3. - 17.4. a camper. Unfortunately, the Corona crisis forced us to cancel the trip. There was no response from Happy Campers to a goodwill inquiry regarding the repayment of the rental price. Since this is a case of force majeure, we had expected more accommodation.
Unfortunately we cannot recommend Happy Campers NZ.

Reviewed 10 months ago

Sheila Thorp's avatar

Sheila Thorp

Ranking: 5/10

We picked up the campervan from Christchurch. Staff were helpful, but the van was tired and grubby. Some of this was not immediately apparent, but a lack of preparation was. The fittings were obviously old (‘armyl surplus’ blinds and storage pockets) and the bedding, though clean, was pretty much thrown across the seats. Additional towels and bedding were later offered. Subsequent examination found the fridge to be rusty and stained. It needed cleaning, and so did the floor. There was no evidence that the van had been cleaned and prepared properly in between clients.
The following day we had to return to exchange the stove and the satnav, neither of which were working properly.
The van drove well and there were no issues on the road, but the state of the living accommodation was unsatisfactory.

Reviewed 11 months ago

Jenny's avatar


Ranking: 8/10

Rented a black sheep van from Christchurch for 2 weeks.
It was well equiped. Linen was good. Staff were efficient and friendly. Van was sound and surprisingly comfortable. Would I use them again. Yes.

Reviewed 11 months ago

Michiel's avatar


Ranking: 9/10

Saw a few very bad reviews but my experience was excellent. Value for money, great and friendly service and good camper van. Christchurch location.

Reviewed 12 months ago