Wendekreisen Travel

84%

Details

444 Rankers Reviews

158 Face-to-Face

20 Motorhomes

Maps

Photos

Koru Star 6-Berth
Koru 4-Berth
Koru 2+1 Berth
Koru 2

Information

Wendekreisen Travel Offers Quality Campervan and Motorhome Rental in New Zealand.

Wendekreisen Travel Ltd is an award winning, family owned and operated New Zealand campervan rental and motorhome hire company. We also manufacture campervans and sell a range of brand new conversions. Incorporated in 1990, we have been offering quality motorhome, campervan and car rental for almost 30 years. Whilst carefully considering how we conduct business, we strive to provide competitively priced, quality vehicles with transparent terms and conditions and no hidden extras. Long serving, experienced staff combine our customers' interests with leading sustainable business practices relating to social and environmental initiatives.

Details

Feature Value Info

Location

North IslandAuckland RegionAuckland

Categories

  • Motorhomes

Business Times

8:30am - 5:00pm Mon-Sat
8:30am - 3:00pm Sundays

Contact

Campers

  • Thumb

    Koru 2 Berth

    Based on the Volkswagen T5, this model offers a comfortable and economical 2 berth campervan option.

  • Thumb

    Koru 2 Berth ST

    A compact 2 berth camper with shower and toilet

  • Thumb

    Koru 2 Berth ST XL

    The Wendekreisen Koru 2ST XL offers a large version 2 berth campervan.

  • Thumb

    Koru 2 Berth ST

    This model's comfortable layout and easy driving make it a very popular campervan in New Zealand.

  • Thumb

    Koru 2+1 Berth

    Ideal for a couple or small family, this New Zealand 3 berth campervan provides an economical way of sleeping in comfort and cooking a meal for up to three adult persons.

  • Thumb

    Koru Star 2ST Walkthrough

    Koru Star 2ST Walkthrough was designed to allow immediate access to the front cabin of the vehicle. It is therefore a 2-seater campervan able to accommodate two individuals only.

  • Thumb

    Koru Star 2ST Premium

    The Wendekreisen Koru Star 2ST Premium is the upgraded version of our initial LDV campervan conversion.

  • Thumb

    Koru 4 Berth

    Wendekreisen 4 berth motorhomes offer warm and comfortable living and sleeping space for up to 4 adults.

  • Thumb

    Budget 2 Berth ST

    This model's comfortable layout and easy driving make it a very popular campervan in New Zealand. It offers a New Zealand 2 berth campervan hire.

  • Thumb

    Koru Star 6 Berth

    The Koru Star 6 Berth is our largest and latest vehicle on offer. It is able to accommodate a group or family of up to 6 people.

  • Thumb

    Budget 2+1 Premium

    The Budget 2+1 Premium Campervan offers a newer range vehicle in the 2+1 berth category.

  • Thumb

    Budget 4 Berth

    Be impressed by this fully self contained and reasonably cheap New Zealand motorhome.

  • Thumb

    Budget 6 Berth

    The Budget 6 Berth Motorhome New Zealand offers comfortable living and sleeping space for a family of up to six adults.

  • Thumb

    Budget 2 Berth

    The Wendekreisen Budget 2-Berth New Zealand campervan was introduced to our fleet in the year 2000.

  • Thumb

    Budget 2+1 Berth

    Budget 2+1 campervan is a proven workhorse on New Zealand roads and well known by New Zealanders.

Reviews

Showing 13 reviews of 429.

Compare and Book Campervans

Sybren Renema's avatar

Sybren Renema

Netherlands

Ranking: 9/10

We are very satisfied about Wendekreisen Travel. We have rented a good camper for a good price. Also the customerservice at Auckland was at a high level. Thanks for all of that ! Kind regards, Sybren Renema

Reviewed 1 day ago

Conservation Campsite Pass

Save up to 70% on campsite fees! Support conservation and experience the natural beauty of NZ. 74 Department of Conservation campsites, one convenient pass.

Get the Pass

Patricia Parkin's avatar

Patricia Parkin

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

We hired one of the 4 berth budget vans for 5 weeks.
We found everyone we dealt with in the company, whether it was by email, phone or in person, to be very helpful and friendly, before, during and at the end of our stay.

The campervan was brilliant- it may have been a little slower up some of the mountains than newer vans, but that didn't matter to us! It was well kitted out with everything from bedding to pots, pans and cutlery etc. and got us everywhere we wanted to go.

We'd thoroughly recommend hiring from Wandekreisen and we intend to do so again, as we'll definitely be back!

Reviewed 7 days ago

Wendekreisen Travel responds:

Hello Patricia, thank you very much! We are looking forward to meeting you again.

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Jonas P.'s avatar

Jonas P.

Ranking: 2/10

I cannot recommend Wendekreisen. We had a stationwagen + roof tent, which was not exactly in perfect condition, but it seemed alright for the road trip to come. Problems arised on the second day, when the car would not start anymore. Support was quick to come over and replace the battery, but they were also quick to place the blame on us by accusing us of leaving the lights on (thus draining the battery), which we didn't do as we drove only by daylight and had no need for the lights.

On the fourth day, the speedo light and rear lights failed, and we needed to take the car to a garage. This forced us to stay one night and nearly had us miss our great walk reservation the following day. Still, the car could not be fixed and needed to be replaced, which cost us even more time, as a promised call-back about the meeting place was not made.

When we wrote an email to complain about the trouble and dared to ask for some kind of compensation, Wendekreisen did not exactly prove open to criticism. The even went as far as making false statements about the car's roof tent, forcing us to take pictures and prove them wrong about the functionality of their own cars (!). This is a no-go in our opinion and left a shady impression.

The company has low-cost offers, which may be alright if the car does not break apart. The support was also okay, but the whole experience left a sour taste somehow.

Reviewed 10 days ago

Wendekreisen Travel responds:

Dear Jonas, we are sorry that you feel this way about us, but this is only your side of the story. I would like to point out, that I personally was dealing with your multiple emails. You demanded a substantial refund after your vehicle return. I checked again and again your claims. Each time I gave you the benefit of the doubt, beside the fact that you made it clear, that you intend to expose us/me on social media if we don't give in. As one can see below, Wendekreisen did not let this get in the way when making the decisions in this case.

1. The car did not start because you left the park light on. Known to you or not, but this was noticed by the mechanic that we sent out to attend to your problem. You refused to accept his findings and instead accused us of sending you out with a faulty battery, which does not make any sense. The charge for the call out like this is NZ$200.00.
2. There was later a problem with the cars dashboard ( you referring to it as speedo light?). We organized a replacement car from our Depot to your location - 2.5 hours away. You called us back before we even had time to prepare the car, get a driver and a way of return for him. We agree that this problem took time of your holiday, hence we noted a compensation of a day worth of hire NZ$115.75
3. Your accusation that we do not know our cars and roof tents is simply false. You claim that you could not detach the cover of your roof tent. Instead you thought it would be right to have a large cover hanging down, flapping in the wind, damaging the car. Common sense would tell anyone that this can not be the intended way of usage, a call to us would have cleared this up in a minute,
Considering the whole,we believe that there was no reason to offer you more refund above not charging you for the call out costs. We are sure that everyone reading can follow our logic of instead refunding you $115.75, we decided to not charge you $200 call out fee.
Kind regards, the Wendekreisen Team

Campervan bookings…  Compare and Book Campervans  … best price guarantee!

Glenn Doll's avatar

Glenn Doll

Canada

Ranking: 8/10

Our van while not fancy served our purpose. If I had to do it again I would have rented a diesel van due to the price of gas vs diesel. I don’t think having a shower in the van helped as I found we either had a shower in the campground or a river or lake to use.

Reviewed 10 days ago

Wendekreisen Travel responds:

Thank you for the review and great advise to travelers. Diesel is cheaper but there can be a bill at the end of a hire. Nearly all rental companies charge the Diesel Road User Fees of about NZ$6 per 100km. Wendenkreisen has these costs included in the daily rate. Kind regards Your Wendekreisen Team

Ann Hayes's avatar

Ann Hayes

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

Our first choice was unavailable, but we rearranged, for a discount.

Reviewed 13 days ago

Wendekreisen Travel responds:

Thank you, we are glad that our alternative option worked for you. Your Wendekreisen Team

Avoid Camping Fines!

The only camping map where each location is approved by every regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Paul Rees's avatar

Paul Rees

Ranking: 10/10

We rented one of the new model 'Koru Star 2ST Freedom' campervans for 4 weeks, and it was perfect. Coupled with the friendly, helpful staff at Wendekreisen which we encountered throughout, we can definitely highly recommend the company. Thank you Wendekreisen!

Reviewed 14 days ago

Wendekreisen Travel responds:

Kia Ora Paul. Thank you so much. We are very happy that you liked our new vehicles as much as we do and that our friendly staff completed your great experience with us. Kind regards Your Wendekreisen Team

Tim Kantrud's avatar

Tim Kantrud

Ranking: 7/10

We enjoyed two weeks on the North Island in a VW diesel small motorhome. It was over 10 years old with lots of creeks and groans but mechanically worked great. A little expensive for what we got. The only problem we had was a way to short explanation of how everything worked. We have our own motorhome but this one had a few quirks. We never did get the radio to work. The old refrigerator actually woke us up at night.

Reviewed 16 days ago

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Anastasia O'Shea's avatar

Anastasia O'Shea

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

From start to finish the campervan hire was excellent, customer service and communication superb. price was also amazing for what we got. Fantastic and we would definitely hire from them again and highly reccommend them to anyone

Reviewed 28 days ago

Wendekreisen Travel responds:

Thank you Anastasia. We hope to see you again in New Zealand. Your Wendekreisen Team

Simon Kaeser's avatar

Simon Kaeser

Switzerland

Ranking: 10/10

Great experience with the Volkswagen T5 from Wendekreisen. Smaller, age-related quirks but nothing that worried us. Vehicle seems to be well maintained and in good condition for its age. Communication with "Wendekreisen" always great. Price-performance ratio is very good. We had two great months and can strongly recommend Wendekreisen as camper rental companie.

Reviewed 28 days ago

JAN SCOTT's avatar

JAN SCOTT

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

We can't express how fantastic Wendekreisen were from our initial enquiry to collecting our campervan and enjoying the most perfect 11 week trip around New Zealand. We hired a Koru 2 Star Walk Through. I would recommend the walkthrough so that if you have rain you do not have to leave the cab. We were a party of 2 and on collection our van was brand new out of the showroom. The king size bed was super comfortable, sheets, pillows, duvet all cleaned and wrapped. 2 gas burner hob, sink, hot and cold water, rotating toilet in shower room. 2 slide out storage cupboards. surround storage cupboards above dining/seating area. Huge storage drawer in the back. TV although we only found 5 places that received a signal in 11 weeks! this did not bother us. Fridge with small ice box that never let us down. 2 kettles, one to use on electric if hooked up, along with toaster, coffee pots etc. All pots, pans, crockery, cutlery. A diesel campervan, excellent mileage, drove beautifully, only slight struggle was driving to the Crown Range Summit, the highest sealed road in NZ, everyone struggled getting up there! Very comfortable front seats with armrests. We chose the comprehensive insurance which came with Sat Nav included. Easy to park anywhere and easy to drive on and off the ferry. One evening in very rainy Milford Sound we had a small leak through the sky light, next day we were passing through TeAnau and the lovely man at the named Caltex garage added mastic within 10 minutes, never had any other issues.
We did a huge amount of research when hiring a campervan, we were so very pleased that we chose Wendekreisen in Auckland. We collected the van here, drove almost 10,000km and returned it here, we could not have been happier. Added bonus is that Wendekreisen do not charge diesel tax, the company pay this, unlimited mileage. We will be back!

Reviewed about 1 month ago and experienced in November 2018

Faraday's avatar

Faraday

Ranking: 10/10

We have hired the Koru 2+1 Berth and were fully satisfied with the condition of the campervan and the service of Wendekreisen.
During our trip we detected a hole along the grey water tank for which reason we lost all our water.
After having a call with a very helpful technician he suggested us a workshop where to go to get the tank repaired. The costs have been fully absorbed by Wendekreisen.
We were very happy with the great support and can recommend Wendekreisen for 100%. Great service, faire prices and good insurance model.

Reviewed about 1 month ago

Gurt Markus's avatar

Gurt Markus

Switzerland

Ranking: 10/10

Sehr zufrieden. Unkompliziert und freundlicher Kontakt. Fahrzeuge sauber und gepflegt.

Reviewed about 1 month ago

Ariel Pioli's avatar

Ariel Pioli

Uruguay

Ranking: 9/10

Buen servicio. Vehículo en condiciones. Muchas gracias

Reviewed 3 months ago

Compare and Book Campervans

Love Christchurch