Pacific Horizon Motorhomes

91%

Details

193 Rankers Reviews

143 Face-to-Face

12 Motorhomes

Maps

Photos

Information

Genuine family commitment

The fleet of Pacific Horizon motorhomes caters to the discerning traveller with its latest European influence in design and livability.
Both the SAM and GEM models of Pacific Horizon motorhomes are leaders in their field incorporating Mercedes driveability and safety features.
Being a private family owned operation I can assure my clients will receive the best possible service and that our pricing is based on a no hidden cost policy that the Pacific Horizon brand has been trusted and respected for, for many years.

Details

Feature Value Info

Location

North IslandWellington RegionWellington

Categories

  • Motorhomes

Contact

Campers

  • Thumb

    2+1 Motorhome - Standard

    The compact and stylish 2+1 leads its category thanks to its style, quality and functionality.

  • Thumb

    2+1 Motorhome - Premium

    2+1 motorhome offers the Premium Vehicle Guarantee option - where a vehicle built and on the road no more than 2 years (24 months) prior to hire can be booked, subject to vehicle availability, for only an additional NZ$35.00 per day.

  • Thumb

    GEM 4 berth Motorhome - Standard

    Sleek and sophisticated, with appealing curves and a contemporary interior, the GEM 4 berth luxury motorhome provides the blueprint for motorhome design.

  • Thumb

    GEM 4 berth Motorhome - Premium

    GEM 4 Berth Premium Vehicle Guarantee option - where a vehicle built and on the road no more than 2 years (24 months) prior to hire can be booked, subject to vehicle availability, for only an additional NZ$35.00 per day.

  • Thumb

    4-Berth Motorhome - Standard

    One of the largest double beds and living areas of any 4-berth available continues the Pacific Horizon focus on space and comfort. The ideal motorhome for a family group of up to four people.

  • Thumb

    4 Berth Motorhome - Premium

    4-berth motorhome offers the Premium Vehicle Guarantee option - where a vehicle built and on the road no more than 2 years (24 months) prior to hire can be booked, subject to vehicle availability, for only an additional NZ$35.00 per day.

  • Thumb

    SAM 6 Berth Motorhome - Standard

    Step into a SAM and you are stepping into a motorhome that leads the industry with a combination of innovative design and technology.

  • Thumb

    SAM 6-berth Motorhome - Premium

    The Pacific Horizon SAM motorhome offers the Premium Vehicle Guarantee option - where a vehicle built and on the road no more than 2 years (24 months) prior to hire can be booked, subject to vehicle availability, for only an additional NZ$35.00 per day.

Reviews

Showing 13 reviews of 167.

Compare and Book Campervans

schtahaups's avatar

schtahaups

Ranking: 9/10

We rent a Motorhome for 7 days at Pacific Horizon Motorhome, in Pimmerton, by Porirua, north of Wellington. They pick up us from the hotel in Wellington, and we had all explanations about the vehicle. It was comfortable and usefull. It was a good experience, very practical to visit North Island. We should return to Pacific Horizon Motorhom if we come back to New Zealand and we recommand this company.

Reviewed about 8 hours ago

Pacific Horizon Motorhomes responds:

Hi Stephane,
Thanks for your feedback and recommendation. Good to hear everything went so well for you, and that you all enjoyed your North Island holiday with us. Hope you do get the chance to return to New Zealand, and I do hope we can supply you with another motorhome - maybe to experience the sensational South Island !

Regards,
Colin Morris
Pacific Horizon

Conservation Campsite Pass

Save up to 70% on campsite fees! Support conservation and experience the natural beauty of NZ. 75 Department of Conservation campsites, one convenient pass.

Get the Pass

Erin's avatar

Erin

Ranking: 10/10

Pacific horizon motor homes were fantastic. Great value for money, everything paid for and included in the initial lump sum pricing. Colin at the Wellington base was extremely thorough with his information on how to use the van and we were so glad he took the time to explain everything to us. Would highly recommend pacific motor homes as the van and customer service was awesome!!

Reviewed 19 days ago

Pacific Horizon Motorhomes responds:

Hi Erin,
Thanks for your kind comments here, and great to hear you had a lovely holiday.

Regards,
Colin Morris
Pacific Horizon

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

charlie35slr's avatar

charlie35slr

Ranking: 10/10

Only our second time in a camper, and our second time with Pacific Horizon. We rented a large van in 2013 but, with just the two of us this time, we opted for a 2+1, which is based on the Mercedes Sprinter van. It drives like a large car and the 2.2 litre turbo diesel really pulls up the hills. It was well kitted out: large, disappearing double bed, neat kitchen with that all-important, always-on fridge (i.e. powered by LPG when off-grid), shower, loo. Plenty of room and storage for 2 adults in a relatively compact package.

We paid the "premium" charge for a younger van and were rewarded with a van that looked and felt almost new (about 25,000 km on the clock).

We operated out of the depot at Auckland airport. The price included pick-up and drop-off from our location in the northern part of the city. We got to the depot and were given a warm welcome, a thorough and patient (or thoroughly patient - we asked a lot of questions) briefing, and a good walkthrough of the paperwork from a really likeable chap called Eddie. During our trip we had a couple of questions, both of which were dealt with quickly.

The van performed faultlessly, everything worked and it we found it to be an excellent choice for our needs (2 x relatively fit 50-somethings). We had considered sizing up to a GEM but I was grateful for the relatively compact and spritely nature of the 2+1.

Just like last time, the PH service was highly personal, responsive and friendly and I have no hesitation in recommending them to others. If you're new to travelling by camper van, NZ is so easy to move around in a motorhome! For us, PH has been a big part of both trips by demystifying the vehicle and its systems, and being there to answer questions. Thanks Maryann, Eddie and team!

Reviewed about 1 month ago

Pacific Horizon Motorhomes responds:

Hi Charlie,
Always happy to hear from repeat clients with great holiday experiences with us. Really glad to hear that you enjoyed your week in the North Island, and hope to see you again some time for another Pacific Horizon adventure.

Regards,
Colin Morris
Pacific Horizon

Campervan bookings…  Compare and Book Campervans  … best price guarantee!

John Flynn's avatar

John Flynn

Australia

Ranking: 9/10

Very good company to deal with. Provided a very good deal on a modern Mercedes Motorhome. Easy to drive, even on winding roads! Very obliging to assist in any queries, even after hours. Only real negative was a very noisy bike rack which we had not requested but was on vehicle at pickup. They were happy to remove as soon as we got to next depot and replaced all linen and towels as a further courtesy. Would happily use Pacific Horizon Motorhomes again.

Reviewed about 1 month ago

Pacific Horizon Motorhomes responds:

Hi John,
Thanks for your feedback, and great to hear you enjoyed the motorhome & enjoyed your 3-week holiday with us. Hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Colin Morris
Pacific Horizon

Bee's avatar

Bee

Ranking: 3/10

Great, fun experience with our rental. The motorhome was in excellent condition.
Couple of minor technical issues which were rectified efficiently.
The low score is due to the company charging extra to my credit card without notification to me, I found it through checking my statement.
Their claim is I had dogs in the van so additional cleaning was needed. I didn’t have any dogs in it and they refused to show any evidence or look at any evidence I supplied.
A unpleasant conversation with the manager took place who eventually refunded the extra charge while continuing to claim I was lying.
An awful shame this happened because it would be nice to use a local company, but I won’t be hiring from them again.

Reviewed about 1 month ago

Pacific Horizon Motorhomes responds:

Thanks for your review Bee.
10-Apr 2019: Glad you had a fun experience on your holiday and enjoyed the motorhome!
15-Apr 2019: Shame to hear of your extra comments added regarding the additional cleaning charge, and the resulting dispute prior to the fee being refunded. As per your signed Agreement to Hire that you completed when you picked up the motorhome, we reserve the right to charge your credit card/cash bond for any of the listed Possible Charges including the Additional Grooming Fee. We appreciate you have a choice for motorhome companies in New Zealand and respect that choice.

Regards,
Colin Morris
Pacific Horizon

Avoid Camping Fines!

The only camping map where each location is approved by every regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Ken's avatar

Ken

Ranking: 2/10

In response to the reply from Maryann Liddell to my complaint, we agree that we signed the Agreement to Hire that we completed when we picked up the motorhome and your company reserve the right to charge our credit card/cash bond for any of the listed Possible Charges as detailed. But the dirt you mentioned in your checklist dated 14/03 - 1. spilt liquid & food in cupboard, 2. toitle required extra cleaning (Human waste in bowel ), 3. Oven requried extra cleaning due to oil, all of these dirt is the obvious dirt. In fact we have cleaned the inner of motorhome includeing toilet bowel before we left the campsite early in the morning of 9th March. On the date 09/03 we returned the motorhomes, Maryann not only checked the outside of motorhome but had gone inside the motorhome . Maryann should find out these dirt at the spot and told us the problem. Maryann had not done so but only sent us checklist dated 14/03, 5 days after the return of the motorhome, when we complaint your company deduct NZD75- from our credit card account.

The most fury we had is, when Pacific Horizon found a problem after customer returned the motorhome, they did not informed customer with any proof or photo, figure out the solution with customer but just deducted the amount from customer's credit card and customer only got the information from the bank. I had noticed that after our case, there was another customer Bee had our same experience (dogs in van that need extra cleaning but Bee didn't have a dog) and money had been deducted from credit card without any noticification. That is why I mentioned it is highly risky to customer as they signed the agreement and money can be deducted from credit card for any unreasonable reason/non-existing facts.

Reviewed 28 days ago

Pacific Horizon Motorhomes responds:

Hi Ken,
I am sorry that your motorhome experience with us did not meet your expectations. Our Additional Grooming fee of up to NZ$150 is only ever implemented when the “vehicle is returned in a particular unclean state inside”, as worded on your Hire Agreement in the ‘Possible Charges’ section. This was the case in point for one of your motorhomes, and a charge of NZ$75 was deemed to be fair and reasonable for the additional cleaning required.

Our initial check at drop off was a check for any obvious damage and/or breakages, with the motorhome being fully groomed a few days later, as our vehicle schedule permitted. At this point the excessively unclean condition of the motorhome was discovered and was rectified.

As per your signed Agreement to Hire that you completed when you picked up the motorhome, we reserve the right to charge your credit card/cash bond for any of the listed Possible Charges as detailed. This includes the Additional Grooming Fee, along with any incurred speeding/traffic infringements, damage, late return, failure to empty toilet waste or waste water tank, failure to return diesel tank full.

Regards,
Maryann Liddell
Pacific Horizon

Catherine Johnson's avatar

Catherine Johnson

United States

Ranking: 10/10

Pacific Horizon gets the top rating from us. We had never operated a campervan before. The orientation was thorough, the vehicle was clean, comfortable, and in great condition, and support during our 17 night trek was just a phone call away. When we had 2 minor issues, Maryann quickly arranged for the repairs at our next destination. The repairs only took minutes, and our itinerary was not affected. When we had questions along the way, Maryann was always there to answer them and offer quick solutions. Returning the vehicle was very easy, and the company provided airport transportation both ways. We feel very lucky that we found and chose this company and would recommend Pacific Horizon to everyone.

Reviewed 2 months ago

Pacific Horizon Motorhomes responds:

Hi Catherine,
Thanks for your kind words, and fantastic to hear that you enjoyed both your New Zealand holiday as well as your time in one of our Pacific Horizon campervans. Hope to see you again !!

Kind regards,
Colin Morris
Pacific Horizon

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Krzysztof Jablonski's avatar

Krzysztof Jablonski

Poland

Ranking: 10/10

Perfect quality for resonable prices. Excellent service - even in case of any trouble.

Reviewed 3 months ago

Pacific Horizon Motorhomes responds:

Hi Krzysztof,
Thanks for your review. Happy to hear we helped make your New Zealand motorhome adventure such a great time.

Kind regards,
Colin Morris
Pacific Horizon

Rogie's avatar

Rogie

Ranking: 9/10

Great service from start to finish, our only problems were are own, not using the central heating. Support from the office was great, when I just queried something. Nice friendly out fit.

Reviewed 3 months ago

Pacific Horizon Motorhomes responds:

Hi,
Thanks for your review, and great to hear that we could help with your questions. I trust you enjoyed your holiday and had a great time in your motorhome.

Kind regards,
Colin Morris
Pacific Horizon

Thomas Heri's avatar

Thomas Heri

Ranking: 10/10

We had a great time with our Pacific Horizon Mercedes Campervan. Great service at the pickup and return. We made a roundtrip from Auckland to Rotorua, Taupo, the Tasman Coast, then to Napier and back over Taupo to Auckland. This was our 4th time we rented a campervan by different renting companies, but Pacific Horizion was the best! Friendly staff, a brand-new and clean campervan (only 8000 km on the display), great support as we had to reset the water heater….everything was just perfect! We are coming back for sure!

Reviewed 3 months ago

Pacific Horizon Motorhomes responds:

Hello Thomas,
Thanks for sending through your comments from your recent New Zealand holiday - sounds like you had a great time and got to see a fair bit of the North Island. We definitely hope you do make it back this way again, and that we can help make your next holiday equally enjoyable.

Kind regards,
Colin Morris
Pacific Horizon

John I.'s avatar

John I.

Ranking: 10/10

We are Americans living in Taiwan and this was our first visit to NZ and our first time in an RV. We loved our experience with Pacific Horizon Motorhomes. The vehicle was is great condition and drove perfectly. It was well appointed and cannot think of a single thing we didn't have provided. As first time users, was nervous about all the things involved in using an RV, but the instructions were clear and we had no issues. The company provided us information in advance of our trip that was essential in planning and ensured we had a great time. They picked us up at the airport before we rented and took us to our hotel afterwards and the two fellas that drove us (John and Colin) were charming, informative and on time. Maryann in the office was great in explaining the rig to us and answered all of our questions in an effective and friendly way. I cannot think of a single criticism and wholeheartedly recommend them

Reviewed 3 months ago

Pacific Horizon Motorhomes responds:

Hi John,
Thanks for your comments. Great to hear your first-time motorhome adventure with us was so enjoyable. I just hope it won't be your last, and we get to see you again sometime to explore a bit more of New Zealand.

Kind regards,
Colin Morris
Pacific Horizon

Bk's avatar

Bk

Ranking: 10/10

The CamperVan was new (registered 11/2018). Convenient and comfortable interior design. Travelled +5.000 km through NZL - absolutely reliable van. Kind handover in CHC with in-depth introduction by Barry. Friendly return in Mangere plus transfer to AKL. Will hire again at PacificHorizon and will definitely recommend their services.

Reviewed 4 months ago

Pacific Horizon Motorhomes responds:

Hi,
Thanks for your positive feedback. Definitely hope to see you again sometime soon!!

Kind regards,
Colin Morris
Pacific Horizon

Agnès's avatar

Agnès

The authenticity of this review is currently being investigated

Ranking: 10/10

Excellent service. Excellent Camping-Car tout neuf, très bien aménagé et confortable. Tout pour passer l'excellent séjour que nous avons passé à découvrir la Nouvelle-Zélande pendant 3 semaines.

Reviewed 4 months ago

Pacific Horizon Motorhomes responds:

Merci Agnès.
Content d’entendre si bien vos vacances en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Kind regards,
Colin Morris
Pacific Horizon

Compare and Book Campervans

Love Christchurch