Hugo Campervans

  1. +
  1. We need your email in order to send you crafted quotes from companies that don't support automatic pricing.

  1. Find camper prices and availability.

    Start by selecting your location, number of adults and children, and your start and end dates. You'll get great camper prices and availability.

Nick Morrison's avatar

Nick Morrison

Rankers owner

Rankers campervan bookings give you both instant and crafted quotes backed by independent reviews. Plus our discount and personal assistance - all with no booking fee! contact us any time.

Hello, Rankers campervan bookings give you both instant and crafted quotes backed by Rankers independent reviews. Plus we throw in our Rankers discount and personal assistance - all with no booking fee! contact us any time if you need a hand.

82%

Details

14 Rankers Reviews

9 Face-to-Face

19 Motorhomes

Maps

Photos

Information

Cheap, no frills, campervan rentals. More go - less dough.

Hugo is a new way to travel New Zealand. Perfect for the backpacker-on-a-budget or any independent traveller, Hugo campervans are older, higher-mileage vehicles. But they are cheap to hire. REAL cheap.

Hugo camper vans are not pretty. There aren’t lots of ‘frills’ like microwaves or TVs, but what you do get with a Hugo campervan is a rough, yet reliable, comfortable mode of transport.

These vans have been well maintained and provide you with peace of mind because of our 24 hour roadside assistance programme. Hugo campervans are perfect for that long hire. You get a great value, low cost holiday, without the risk or hassle of buying and then selling your own van.

Details

Feature Value Info

Location

North IslandAuckland RegionAuckland

Categories

  • Motorhomes

Contact

Camper

  • Thumb

    Hugo Campervan

    Let’s be clear about this…Hugo campervans are old and a little rough around the edges. They are basically a bed on wheels…with a small kitchenette.

Reviews

Showing 13 reviews of 14.

F B's avatar

F B

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

I booked last minute and was happy there was a Hugo available. Apart from the initial docs which are comprehensive, there was no other correspondence from the company. I sent an email enquiring about something and never heard back.Luckily it was not something urgent.

The pickup process was effortless. You need to make your own way to the depot via bus or taxi ($40 discounted).

The little light green van is exactly as described, old, a little worn, but clean and functional. I liked it a lot. I had Rose Bush.

Because most places I stayed had toilets and kitchens, I did not need to use the gas cooker or sink much. It is not self contained but there were plenty of places to stay fairly cheaply around the Coromandel.

She was great going up hills as had extra umph when you wanted her to have it.

Because it is older, it is a little greedy on petrol. The brakes were lazy brakes... Keep your distance from traffic in front of you!

The only real downer for me were the cushions for the bed. I was in a lot of back and hip pain from them as they were old and a bit useless to be honest. I doubled them up but it only made a difference for a couple of nights.

Just a word for anyone with any physical disability or less agile... Get a different van... It is a bugger to get in and out of! 😁 Both the front and the back!

Otherwise, a great van, no mechanical faults, did the job well. I really liked her and was sad to part both with her and Aotearoa.

Thanks guys and gals 💗

Reviewed 5 months ago

Hugo Campervans responds:

Kia Ora
Thank you for your feedback and experience in dealing with hugo as we are always striving to be Champions of better.
There is always the document side we cant get round, but we do want our guests to have total clarity around the Terms and Conditions they sign prior to leaving the depot...no surprises.
As you have written we are straight up and honest with the hugo Campervans as they are older, higher mileage vehicles but are really cheap, reliable and comfortable mode of Transport.
The vehicles are older in the hugo fleet but are serviced on a regular basis and checked and certified by an independent vehicle safety specialist and as a business we would never compromise the safety of our guests...safety always comes first.
the mattress comfort is a difficult one to address...as the comfort of a bed is a very subjective matter but appreciate your feedback as we can identify whether this is a common theme.
So pleased to read you had an amazing time in NZ as we are (NZ) a perfect self drive destination and the hugo suited your purpose.
Thanks from the Hugo Team.

Conservation Campsite Pass

Save up to 70% on campsite fees! Support conservation and experience the natural beauty of NZ. 79 Department of Conservation campsites, one convenient pass.

Get the Pass

German BL's avatar

German BL

Ranking: 10/10

I'm going to split the review by sections as they are so amazing I can't fit my -great- experience in a single sentence.
Booking and admin stuff: we breezed through the whole thing and while we made a lot of changes to the original booking, the guys were great at adjusting to them with no issues. Upon arrival at their office, the check-in was as easy as it could get as they went through everything really quick to get us on our way (with great sense of humour by the way). They even helped us out with a second booking as something came up and had to change our plans again and we were good to go in half an hour.
The van: they probably say you need to keep in mind it's a budget van to avoid people from setting their expectations sky-high but I have to admit it was far from being a budget vehicle. I read a lot of reviews saying the van was not that good looking but both the outside and the interior were in perfect shape. Regarding engine and performance, we didn't have a single issue with it (rented it for a month) as it worked really smoothly and we only had to put gas on it. On a side note: we added a couple of things to the booking -such as a gas cooker, cutlery, etc- and we had all we needed for our trip so keep that in mind.
TL:DR: amazing company to work with, the van was even better than as described and the team was great.

Reviewed 9 months ago

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Christer Moberg's avatar

Christer Moberg

Sweden

Ranking: 7/10

Nice staff. Old car as expected and it works really good. Clean sheets. Oil level was low and we needed to refill it on the first day.

Reviewed about 2 years ago and experienced in February 2017

Hugo Campervans responds:

Thanks for your review Christer - sorry to hear that the oil level was a bit low. Some of the Toyotas are a bit sensitive with the oil light. I note from your booking that we refunded for the oil (as per our norm) and it was the only oil used in your 3000+km trip. Hope you enjoyed your time in NZ :)
Cheers
Woody
Hugo Campervans

Campervan bookings…  Compare and Book Campervans  … best price guarantee!

Eurard Achille's avatar

Eurard Achille

France

Ranking: 9/10

For the moment we are happy, because our van is quite comfortable, very cheap and there are many comfortable accommodations: table, chair, kitchen...... BUT unfortunately, we use lots of petrol during our road trip.

Reviewed over 2 years ago and experienced in November 2016

Hugo Campervans responds:

Thanks for your review Eurard! With fuel economy we do state on our website that we work on approx. 10-12L per 100kms. It is an older 2L van after all, its not going to have hatchback economy. But really pleased to hear that you liked how comfy (and cheap) the van was :)
Cheers
Woody
Hugo Campervans

Maria Eriksson's avatar

Maria Eriksson

Denmark

Ranking: 5/10

The van is quite old, makes some noises but is okay to drive, if you remember, fill air in the tyres which the owner said he had already done. He had not. As well, remember water in the tank. Has air conditioning and the bed is big.

Reviewed over 2 years ago and experienced in November 2016

Hugo Campervans responds:

Thanks for your review Maria - sorry to hear we missed the mark on your hire. It appears our QA process has let us down for which we apologise. We are budget but still aim to provide a good product. Glad to hear you liked the queen bed and AC though.
Cheers
Woody
Hugo Campervans

Avoid Camping Fines!

The only camping map where each location is approved by every regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Coralie Dhenin's avatar

Coralie Dhenin

France

Ranking: 9/10

More than 300,000km, they are old but 11l per 100km is not too much and the price is better!!

Reviewed almost 3 years ago and experienced in March 2016

Hugo Campervans responds:

Thanks for your review Coralie - our vans are older and well travelled but we maintain them and they get you out there enjoying NZ :)
Cheers
Woody
Hugo Campervans

Frank's avatar

Frank

Germany

Ranking: 8/10

Budget vans. Old refurbished Escape vans with lots of bumps and scratches. Interior quite run down but ok (no bad smell etc), but you get what you pay for! In summary we were pleased with the package.

Reviewed over 3 years ago

Hugo Campervans responds:

Thanks for your review Frank, yes we are unashamedly a budget company :) The vans do reflect that - but they are tough and get you to those awesome places where you want to go. We're pleased that you're pleased!
Cheers
Woody
Hugo Campervans

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Anna Rauschen's avatar

Anna Rauschen

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

Nothing to complain about. We can highly recommend Hugo Campervans. We even prolonged our trip, no problem with that. And the campervan was such a bargain compared to other companies.

Reviewed over 3 years ago and experienced in November 2015

Hugo Campervans responds:

Thanks for the awesome review Anna! :-)
Cheers
Woody
Hugo Campervans

c s's avatar

c s

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

We would highly recommend Hugo to all backpackers with a limited budget. We were sceptical at first because you don't find many reviews about Hugo Campervans but when we got there and Crispy showed us the van and instructed us, all worries were blown away. The guys from Hugo/Escape are really friendly and they help you with everything you need when starting your journey. Our van (Joe) had already 488000km on it but he drove like a new one. We had absolutely no problems during the nearly 7000km we have driven for 6 weeks (22/2 -3/4). We ordered the Summer Slammer package which includes everything you need besides a chilly bin, but you can get one for 20 bucks at any warehouse. We also took the King of the Road Insurance which puts your mind really at ease with all the crazy roads in NZ =) We are absolutely satisfied with the van and the price...it's the best you can get in NZ. We really miss "Joe" and are hoping to return soon to NZ!
Cheers,
Heni & Chris

Reviewed about 4 years ago and experienced in February 2015

Hugo Campervans responds:

Thanks for the epic review Heni and Chris!! Joe misses you, he wants you to come back and roadtrip him again ^_^
Cheers
Woody
Hugo Campervans

Candice Bergon's avatar

Candice Bergon

France

Ranking: 8/10

A good company, easy to drive.

Reviewed over 4 years ago and experienced in November 2014

Hugo Campervans responds:

Thanks Candice! Glad you had a good trip :-)
Cheers
Woody
Hugo Campervans

Paul de Bruijn's avatar

Paul de Bruijn

Netherlands

Ranking: 8/10

The car drives pretty good and is not too expensive for backpackers.

Reviewed over 4 years ago and experienced in November 2014

Hugo Campervans responds:

Thanks for your review Paul :-)
Cheers
Woody
Hugo Campervans

Catarina  K's avatar

Catarina K

Belgium

Ranking: 9/10

We had a great experience renting our Hugo campervan for 6 weeks. As said on the website, the vans are a bit old (but so charming!!), they were the cheapest we could find and you really have everything you need (we also took the Summer Slammer package for 100$ which included all cutleries, picknick table/chairs, BBQ, etc). The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and I am sure you would get good support in case of breakdown or anything else (which luckily didn’t happen to us). The vans seemed indeed very well maintained so I believe it shouldn’t happen too often.

There were maybe two points for improvement: The BBQ we got was really dirty (it took us almost an hour to get in decent state) and the music installation in the car was barely audible (we luckily had our own speakers).

Would still definitely recommend!

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Hugo Campervans responds:

Thanks for your awesome review Catarina! We are working on some tweaks and improvements to the fleet over the coming months and bringing some additional vans onto our fleet too :)
Cheers
Woody
Hugo Campervans

Guillaume Yedoux's avatar

Guillaume Yedoux

France

Ranking: 8/10

Very good van. Consumes lots of petrol. Good price.

Reviewed about 5 years ago and experienced in March 2014

Hugo Campervans responds:

Hi Guillaume, thanks for your review! Our vans are a bit older but we find being trusty Toyotas and Nissans that they are still economical, yours was a manual gearbox also which normally means you can squeeze a bit more out of the tank if you don't have a heavy foot (like me). Being you had 7 weeks in NZ I hope you took him everywhere and had a great time!!
Cheers,
Woody
Hugo Campervans