Franz Josef Campervan Park

Franz Josef Campervan Park

79%

32 Rankers Reviews

1 Face-to-Face

  • Phone Enquiry

    • Call and discuss your needs.

    • Instant personal connection.

    • Credit card booking.

Accommodations

Online Maps

FREE Header

Camping NZ NEW

Welcome to New Zealand's most comprehensive database of freely available camping information. This is the only travel map of its kind in NZ.

Photos

Franz Josef Campervan Park, 30 Cron Street, Free Wifi
Franz Josef Campervan Park, 30 Cron Street - View
Franz Josef Campervan Park, 30 Cron Street - van site
BBQ area Franz Josef Campervan Park, 30 Cron Street
Franz Josef Campervan Park, 30 Cron Street
Franz Josef Campervan Park, 30 Cron Street - bathroom
Franz Josef Campervan Park, 30 Cron Street
Franz Josef Campervan Park, 30 Cron Street - Dump Station
Franz Josef Campervan Park, 30 Cron Street - sites
Franz Josef Campervan Park, 30 Cron Street - sites
Franz Josef Campervan Park, 30 Cron Street entrance

Information

GREAT LOCATION & PRICE, UNLIMITED FREE WIFI & HOT SHOWERS. 100% LOCALLY OWNED

The 100% Locally owned Franz Josef Campervan Park is located right in the centre of Franz Josef allowing you to park up your Campervan and walk to the local shops, restaurants and activities. It offers modern ensuite style bathrooms with a high shower to guest ratio. It is one of the cheapest Campervan Sites in Franz Josef but still offers free limited WiFi, hot showers and the best location - from your site you will be able to see snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier. Some sites are set against native forest but these tend to go first.

WINTER…

Details

Feature Value Info

Location

South IslandWest CoastFranz Josef Glacier

Categories

  • Camping Grounds

Operating Season And Hours

8 AM - 8pm

Reviews

Showing 8 reviews of 32.

Lea vellenoweth's avatar

Lea vellenoweth

Ranking: 10/10

Awesome place - friendly, helpful and so reasonable for a powered site. Best spot I’ve found so far after tripping around in my campervan for 3 weeks in the South Island. Wifi, lean amenities - perfect!

Reviewed 4 months ago

Stef's avatar

Stef

Ranking: 8/10

Free showers. Great pressure. Clean.
Kitchen very basic. You have to provide everything.
No rubbish bins anywhere. Not even in the kitchen.
Dump station very narrow.
Gave us 2 sites as we were a 6.9 camper which was very nice as we didn’t want the site beside the road.
$29 for 2 people powered which was a really good price .

Reviewed 7 months ago

Avoid Camping Fines!

Each camping location is approved by a regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Natalia's avatar

Natalia

Ranking: 8/10

great place to stay, toilets and showers are clean and super close to restaurants and shops.

Reviewed 12 months ago

Franz Josef Campervan Park responds:

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the facilities clean. We hope you can stay again.

Hamid's avatar

Hamid

Ranking: 10/10

Clean with all equipment functional, high pressure warm and clean shower,hair dryer, clean toilets.
stove, microwave, toaster, bbq, electric kettle,wifi. Coin operated laundry.
recommended

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Franz Josef Campervan Park responds:

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us, we hope you can stay again.

Splatts's avatar

Splatts

Ranking: 5/10

Wasn't a fan of this site. It's just a gravel car park and its expensive. Wifi doesn't reach the lounge. The lounge is a concrete floored room with some tatty sofas. The bathrooms look like they're from the 80s. It's impossible to wash your face over the sink which means the floor gets soaked.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Franz Josef Campervan Park responds:

I am sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay. Guests are welcome to check out the facilities before deciding to stay.

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Brian Palmer's avatar

Brian Palmer

United Kingdom

Ranking: 1/10

Gravel car park with portaloos.
Not the best site in NZ.
Helicopters buzzing around all day.
I should have done my homework and read other reviews. 👎

Reviewed almost 3 years ago

Franz Josef Campervan Park responds:

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We are right in the centre of Franz Josef allowing you to park up and walk everywhere, unfortunately we can't control if some visitors to the region want to go on a flight to see the glacier. Guests are welcome to look at the site before deciding if they wish to stay.

Safire B's avatar

Safire B

Ranking: 10/10

We were hesitant with the prior reviews but thoroughly enjoyed this spot. Check in was just signing the paper (easy as) and there were clean, well built shower and toilet block with beautiful hot showers. There were 3 showers each in male and female part and a family room as well. Camping spots are around the site with trees providing some separation. Was worth the extra few dollars to the other DOC sites in the area. There were BBQ’s and cleaning stations as well as drinking water around. Wifi was only in certain parts. More than fine for what we wanted. $15 per person per night.

Reviewed almost 3 years ago

Marilli's avatar

Marilli

Ranking: 5/10

Hot showers (3) and toilets. Also good working free wifi!
But there is only 1 cooking spot in the ‘kitchen’.
But it’s way to expansive! (42$ for 2 people)
But it’s the cheapest in franz josef so what else can you do

Reviewed almost 3 years ago