Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park

Reviews

David Wilson's avatar

David Wilson

Ranking: 7/10

Really nice staff and close to the town centre.

It has all the facilities you need, and a decent amount of showers, however it is very dated.

Perfectly serviceable for a night, however I didn’t choose to extend my stay beyond that.

Reviewed 6 months ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for staying. Glad you found us convenient to the town centre and appreciated our nice staff.

Peta's avatar

Peta

Ranking: 10/10

Brilliant park! Clean and spotlessly tidy with the best camp kitchen you will ever see! Nice hot free showers. Very friendly and house proud staff. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 7 months ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thank you very much for your 10/10 rating and your recommendation! Your comments on the cleanliness of our facilities, our hot free showers and friendliness of our staff are just great. Safe travels.

Jimbo's avatar

Jimbo

Ranking: 9/10

Very good facilities, exceptionally clean and well organised. Friendly staff. 5 of us on motorbikes and tents loved it. Only complaint, it is a tad expensive. Oh and the Taupo public information office don't seem to notice it exists. We found it by fluke.

Reviewed 12 months ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

We remember your group, great to have you staying with us. Glad you enjoyed our clean facilities and appreciated our friendly staff. Look forward to seeing you all again (in fact one of your group has just stayed with us recently!)

Amy's avatar

Amy

Ranking: 4/10

Facilities are rather basic, especially for the price! 22$ pppn! Says online price ranges from 11-20!! The price of 22$ is also supposed to include free WiFi, free use of laundry etc.. yet having to pay for each of these on top of the price! wouldn’t mind too much but only in a car that needs no electrical or water lines to it.

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Our nightly rate includes free hot showers in our main bathrooms (hairdryer in female bathroom) and 100 MB Wifi on arrival. $5 gives you an extra 10GB Wifi to share between two devices. Guests also have access to power and water on site and our dump station facilities and are welcome to use our main kitchen and lounge facilities including free gas BBQs.

We have been complimented on the high standard and cleanliness of our facilities.

Please note that our information does not say laundry facilities are included in the nightly rate.

Boa's avatar

Boa

Ranking: 9/10

The park is great, went during winter time, the kitchen has provide fully equipment, washing machine & dryer $2 each, provided hair dryer in the female bathroom, even you have to press the hot water every 5min, but it was alright for us! Clean & tidy place. $19 per person, total 5 of us.

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thank you for your great review and for staying with us. All the best on your travels.

Daniel van Aardt's avatar

Daniel van Aardt

Ranking: 10/10

For the night that we stayed i think it was quite ok. The fella at the reception was an absolute cracker and a pleasure to deal with. The facilities in my opinion is adequite and very usable. Pricing is good and so saying i would absolutely stay there again

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Daniel ..... Thank you very much for your 10/10 ! Much appreciated. We enjoy having friendly wonderful travellers staying with us. Hope the rest of your trip goes well and we see you again.

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Oliver's avatar

Oliver

Ranking: 1/10

I cannot believe how terribly bad this motor camp is, looks genuinely are deceiving here. On arrival the woman behind the desk could not find my booking - which was booked online MONTHS in advance at a HIGHER rate than what is advertised at the door. After that we needed permission to use any water or the dump station and all the nozzles on all the taps have been removed so unless you have your own you have to ask again for permission. As we were the first camper here, she put us the longest drive away from the office which was fine, until two other campers arrived an hour later and she put them on either side of us out of at least 40 other spots. Just when we thought it couldn't get any worse, a MASSIVE asian family took over the kitchen as we were trying to make dinner, using 10 cooktops and asking to use ours too, the owners of the campsite however did not care about this, nor the fact their children were blasting music from 6pm onwards. We wanted to wash our clothes, she charges $4 per wash and $4 per dry (which is essential in the winter) and the bloody washing machine only runs for 20 minutes, it did not wash any of our clothes and most of them werent even wet when we pulled them out, the ones rhat were wet did not even dry in the dryer (also a short timer)
To top it all off the state of the bathrooms are horrific, they are dark, dirty, muddy and you need to press a button every few minutes for hot water (which is only hot for 2 seconds before it starts fluctuating between freezing and boiling) which then shuts off and sprays you with cold water.
I genuinely could not be paid to stay here ever again, there are even signs in the bathrooms saying you are on CCTV, strict rules about every single thing here that are only selectively enforced by the owners.
Please, go somewhere else.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

We strongly disagree with your account of your stay which gives a totally inaccurate and misleading impression of our park and other guests staying at the time.

On arrival at the office, you identified yourself differently from the family name your booking was under. Once this had been clarified and you were checked in, your van was placed on a powered site away from the road and with convenient access to our main facilities building.

Your site had power and water which were readily accessible for self contained vans and there was no requirement for permission.

We welcome all visitors, whatever their nationality, with the same courtesy as we would expect from them. (For the record, the family that you refer to are New Zealand residents of Chinese origin and enjoyed their stay immensely).

We do not have 10 cooktops in our main kitchen. As in other holiday parks, it is a communal environment and guests work together in sharing the facilities (and often meet new people in the process).

The machines in our laundry are of a commercial capacity and work efficiently when used correctly.

Our facility block is well lit and is cleaned thoroughly every morning and then inspected later in the day to check for any further requirements. I personally (as the owner) inspect the bathrooms, laundry and kitchen every day as I did at 5pm on that day when I found them spotless).

Our variety of signage in our main facility block emphasises that it is a shared environment for many travellers. The overall aim of this signage is to ask for appreciation of the facilities provided and assistance in maintaining the standard of these facilities for other guests staying with us.

We also have signage regarding rubbish disposal and recycling to assist us with helping the environment for future generations.

At no time during your stay did you express any concerns to the park's owners who were on site throughout the stay.

Ash's avatar

Ash

Ranking: 5/10

Having only just arrived and had a quick look through the facilities, the price seems to be justified. Kitchens seem clean and tidy, the showers and toilets are clean and look relatively new. The WiFi ISN’T free but it only $5 for 10gb which is not too bad.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thank you for staying with us

Gerson Vergacas's avatar

Gerson Vergacas

Ranking: 3/10

We arrived there and the old lady was just rude and un polite. We just stayed there because it was 22:00. They charged me 50 dollars for 1 campervan with 2 people. They really overcharged us, it was ok if we had a friendly reception but NOT AT ALLLLLLLLL.
Toilet was very dirty and the things they sell there are EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE.
DO NOT RECOMEND.

Reviewed almost 2 years ago

Nadene Wheatley's avatar

Nadene Wheatley

New Zealand

Ranking: 5/10

This site is ok. It's quite close to the road, and has a lot of permanent residents, so is quite full. Toilets and showers are the best bit; seems like they've been recently renovated. You do have to press a button for 5 minutes of hot water. And no free wifi: only some you can pay for. Functional site.

Reviewed about 2 years ago

Mark van Beers's avatar

Mark van Beers

Ranking: 7/10

It's an okay place to stay with a tent. Not spectacular but relatively close to Taupo. A lot of noise from sheep nearby. Just a little bit above average, not bad and not excellent!

Reviewed almost 3 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Mark van Beers! Sorry about the noisy neighbours, the iconic New Zealand Sheep are unfortunately out of our control but we are glad you found the short 3.5kms to town centre an advantage! We are lucky enough to be out of the hustle and bustle of town centre but only a 15minute walk to the Lake and local bar & restaurant!

Shane Mun's avatar

Shane Mun

Malaysia

Ranking: 5/10

It's not a bad place if you are planning to park in a powered site as its below $20, just that the facilities such as the washing machine, dryer and kitchen are a little bit old. Especially the washer and dryer where the machines are dirty and you need to clean it yourself before using. Most ridiculous part during the winter time is the time limit set for using the hot water shower, you have to press the hot water button in order to activate it for 5 minutes, if you need it longer, you have to press it again, so be prepared to get shock by the sudden change of temp if you did not press the button again to reset the timer. Kitchen wise the pro points are its quite spacey with multiple sinks, but without ventilation and the oven is charged by the hour for $2 per use. I believe it's OK during dry seasons and summer, but definitely not recommended during the winter. Overall it's a site with RV camp facilities, but there are better experiences by just paying an extra $5.

Reviewed over 3 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Shane Mun!

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Mallory Lopez's avatar

Mallory Lopez

United States

Ranking: 6/10

The park and facilities were clean and the kitchen was large enough for at least four other families to cook. The showers weren't hot and the sites were smaller than other places we stayed. It was fine with a camper van because we had curtains, but it seemed pretty open for anyone in a tent.

Reviewed over 3 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Mallory Lopez!

Deblaize Marc's avatar

Deblaize Marc

Germany

Ranking: 6/10

Just ok, but you can do nothing without your car or van, camp is directly on the street and all the beaches are far away... Pretty expensive ($45 powered).

Reviewed almost 4 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Deblaize Marc! Sorry you felt we were expensive as the rate of $45 is the cheapest option in town, at $20 per person and the extra $5 for 10gb of WiFi you bought we feel we are fairly priced in this market. We are only a 15 minute walk to the Lake and a local bar & restaurant so their are options for your next visit hopefully should you wish to leave your car or van behind next time!

Wout van Dijk's avatar

Wout van Dijk

Ranking: 7/10

This is a nice campsite near Lake Taupo. We stayed here for one night $36 (2 persons unpowered) the places are spacious and the showers are good. The kitchen was OK and clean.

Reviewed almost 4 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thankyou for your review Wout van Dijk!

Ahmed Mohsen Aly's avatar

Ahmed Mohsen Aly

Netherlands

Ranking: 6/10

Superb facilities. The kitchen was clean and the shower was hot. But kind of on the expensive side. $19 per person for an unpowered site. When I asked the lady for another wifi voucher (they give you 30 minutes for free) because there were two of us, she flat out refused. And the washing machine and dryer were 4 buckaroos a cycle.

Reviewed about 4 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Ahmed Mohsen Aly! What a wonderful word 'Superb' is- Thankyou!! Sorry you felt we were expensive, at $20 per person we are the cheapest in town so feel we are fairly priced for this competitive market. The Wifi voucher on arrival is a complimentary gesture, we have very reasonable prices should you wish to purchase more.

Herman Holmgist's avatar

Herman Holmgist

Sweden

Ranking: 8/10

Nice camping spot! Got everything we need!

Reviewed about 5 years ago and experienced in March 2014

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Tor your review Herman Holmgist! Glad we catered to your every need- awesome to hear!

Josefin Lind's avatar

Josefin Lind

Sweden

Ranking: 9/10

Nice place, relaxed and with everything you need.

Reviewed about 5 years ago and experienced in March 2014

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Josefin Lind! Awesome to hear we had everything you needed hopefully we will see you again one day!

Avoid Camping Fines!

Each camping location is approved by a regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

ilove totravel's avatar

ilove totravel

New Zealand

Ranking: 3/10

lovely tidy kitchens. downside is the heaters are on timers and you get approx. 1 min before they switch of so are constantly getting up and down to get some heat. Not great for in the middle of winter

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review ilove totravel!

Jake Bell's avatar

Jake Bell

Singapore

Ranking: 6/10

Very basic and rugged. The woman who runs the place is somewhat helpful. The first night out power did not work and our food nearly spoiled in our camper van fridge. Everything else worked well but the bathroom was full of giant bugs at night. Pretty expensive considering what you get if you stay at taupo top 10.

Reviewed almost 6 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Jake Bell! Unfortunately that evening we had a local hatching of flying beetles invade the entire park and the entire local area, something completely out of our control, we did however address the situation as soon as we became aware of it the next morning. Mother Nature has a lot to answer for sometimes!

Patricia Busbach's avatar

Patricia Busbach

Germany

Ranking: 5/10

small sites for campervans, no view , expensive for what you get, showers were cold in the morning

Reviewed over 6 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Patricia Busbach! Our sites are a generous 7m x7m sorry you did not find this suitable i hope you asked for another site perhaps? As it is never a problem to move you if we can! As for the showers, i hope you brought it to our attention also so we could have dealt with this for you.

Roux's avatar

Roux

France

Ranking: 8/10

Clean, free showers, friendly.

Reviewed almost 7 years ago and experienced in December 2012

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Awesome- thanks for your review Roux!

Nikki's avatar

Nikki

Poland

Ranking: 5/10

Was ok. But the tent site was very unsuitable and surprisingly hard.

Reviewed almost 7 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for the review Nikki!

Eline Vakentijn's avatar

Eline Vakentijn

Netherlands

Ranking: 8/10

No extra charge for powered site. You get the real camping feeling, really nice people.

Reviewed over 7 years ago and experienced in February 2012

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Awesome- thanks for your great review!

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

ClaireBear83's avatar

ClaireBear83

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

Friendly staff, good site, great kitchen/tv area - the cleanest toilet/shower facilities i have seen in ANY campsite/holiday park!!!

Reviewed over 7 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Wow! Awesome review- thankyou ClaireBear83!

Marilyn Mobley's avatar

Marilyn Mobley

United States

Ranking: 8/10

Very accommodating staff, covered BBQ area and table, hot tub costs extra.

Reviewed over 7 years ago and experienced in February 2012

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Marilyn Mobley!

Jon_and_Family's avatar

Jon_and_Family

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

Good advice given for nearby restaurant - "The Bay".

OK overnight stay. Free showers - always a bonus!

Manager was up late cleaning as previous people have mentioned.

Reviewed over 8 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Jon_and_Family! Glad you found the short walk to the local bar & restaurant "The Bay" an advantage- isn't it great!

Claudia Vermeer's avatar

Claudia Vermeer

Germany

Ranking: 8/10

Lots of facilities, hairdryer, baby bathtub. Free showers. New and clean, nice lounge, kitchen and dining room.

Reviewed over 8 years ago and experienced in February 2011

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Claudia Vermeer! Glad you you made the most of all our facilites!

English_Campers's avatar

English_Campers

United Kingdom

Ranking: 6/10

Good facilities at the park, we were in a tent and the ground we were given was not really suitable for a tent which made our stay unpleasurable :(

Reviewed over 8 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thankyou for your review English-Campers! Sorry your visit was unpleasurable- it sounds like it was something that could have been rectified if it had been brought to our attention, we are always available to help.

Nick Roberts's avatar

Nick Roberts

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

Great location by the lake and pleasant staff. Slightly out of town centre though.

Reviewed over 8 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Nick Roberts! We are lucky to be only 3.5kms out of the hustle and bustle of town centre into the relaxing countryside but a short 15 minute walk to the lake and local bar & restaurant in the other direction if you want to leave the car behind next time!

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Robert Haidt's avatar

Robert Haidt

Germany

Ranking: 9/10

Nice place to stay for excurtions to the Sounds or Lake Te Anau. Very good installations. The places for the campervans were a bit small.

Reviewed over 8 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Robert Haidt!

Hans & Karin's avatar

Hans & Karin

Netherlands

Ranking: 8/10

Clean and enough sanitary, friendly

Reviewed over 9 years ago and experienced in November 2009

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thankyou for your review Hans Karin!

Vanessa's avatar

Vanessa

England

Ranking: 9/10

Really warm welcome with advice on free local walks & great lookout points. View of Taupo & Tongariro, good facilities, clean, helpful team.

Reviewed over 9 years ago and experienced in November 2009

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Awesome review Vanessa- thank you! We have such a beautiful local area with so much to see and do, hopefully we can welcome you back again soon!

Kazmeister's avatar

Kazmeister

New Zealand

Ranking: 9/10

Excellent facilities - extremely clean - the owners were still cleaning the bathrooms at 11pm. Pretty basic facilities for kids - but big and spacious grounds and plenty of room to run around.

Reviewed about 10 years ago and experienced in November 2008

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Kazmeister! We pride ourselves in our clean facilities and maintaining a high standard especially important throughout the peak season when the traffic is heavy on our facilities- hence the late night! Lots of room for running around your right and all the trees make for an awesome space for a game of hide and seek....maybe next time?!

clairet's avatar

clairet

United Kingdom

Ranking: 9/10

Best facilities. Better than at Top 10. Great kitchen and shower / wc. Very modern and well thought out. We didn't want to leave. Paid $30.

Reviewed over 10 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Wow- well it doesn't get any better than that- you didnt want to leave says it all- Thankyou so much for an awesome review! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

katesh's avatar

katesh

Australia

Ranking: 9/10

Friendly. Very clean. Excellent facilities. Only problem is distance from town and takeaways.

Reviewed over 10 years ago

Great Lake Taupo Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review katesh! Although we are 3.5kms from town centre there is the option to walk 15 minutes (2 minute drive) in either direction for a local bar & restaurant, fish and chip shop or Indian Takeaway! Hopefully we can see you again and you can explore these options!