Mad Campers

97%

Details

51 Rankers Reviews

0 Face-to-Face

4 Motorhomes

Maps

Photos

Mad Campers
External canopies available for hire
Large bed perfect for watching sunset!
Pull out kitchen equipped with everything you need.
Extendable water hose for after the beach!

Information

Experience all New Zealand has to offer in one of our certified self contained Mad Campers. We've got the most innovative 2-berth and 1-berth campers on the market, allowing you to go wherever you want in comfort... and at whatever pace you desire!

Certified Self Contained Mad Campers have been thoughtfully designed to optimize your travel experience with a high quality, innovative and functional fit out. We're really proud to offer added extras such as an extendable hose tap, a switch board controlling your electrics from the back of the van, and our innovative pull out kitchen that provides you with HEAPS more living space!

Details

Feature Value Info

Location

North IslandAuckland RegionAuckland

Categories

  • Motorhomes

Contact

Campers

  • Thumb

    MAD2 - 2 Person Self-Contained Campervan

    We’re travellers too and understand life’s much better when you are cruising in comfort, so we’ve developed the most comfortable and functional 2 berth campers on the market. Our fleet is entirely AA Safety Certified. Enjoy your NZ adventure!

  • Thumb

    MAD1 - 1 Person Self-contained Campervan

    There are a multitude of reasons people choose to travel alone - and here at Mad Campers we respect them all. In fact we’ve gone a step further and created New Zealand’s FIRST single berth self-contained campervan especially for our solo adventurers!

Reviews

Showing 13 reviews of 51.

Indra Prasetyo's avatar

Indra Prasetyo

Indonesia

Ranking: 10/10

Smooth ride, helpful staff, fast respond to contact and amazing company, what else do you want from this? The car might be smaller and no powered (though they have 2nd battery for your need if you want to charge or want to listen music while you sleep) than the other camper van out there, but if you're only going solo or couple, you could'n find a better company than this.

Thanks Madcamper for bringing the camping van experience.

Reviewed 12 days ago

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Summer Peterman's avatar

Summer Peterman

Ranking: 10/10

We rented a van from both Auckland and Christchurch. The customer service was fantastic! All correspondences were done in a timely manor. My questions were kindly answered. The vans were clean and in good working order. I would highly recommend this company.

Reviewed 12 days ago

Campervan bookings…  Compare and Book Campervans  … best price guarantee!

Will Johnson's avatar

Will Johnson

United States

Ranking: 10/10

Great experience with Mad Campers! The van rental cost exactly what we expected when it was all said and done, and it was great value. Great place to call home for 2 weeks, and a great way to see most of the South Island in a short time. The van was loud, and missing a few non-essential parts like plugs in the ceiling and 2 hubcaps, but it ran great and gave us no trouble in the up- or down-hills. We used the Rankers app's offline feature and word of mouth to find good campsites with bathrooms, and never used our van toilet. We found about 4 free campsites, 6 DOC campsites ranging between $8-13 NZD per person, and 2 holiday park nights for showers which were 17 and 28 NZD per person. All in all, it was a great trip and the van from Mad Campers was a big part of it going smoothly. I'd recommend them.

Reviewed about 1 month ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks for sharing your adventure with us, Will! We're stoked to hear you enjoyed the camper and had a great trip in New Zealand. Welcome to the Mad Fam :)

Stephanie Hill's avatar

Stephanie Hill

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

Our camping experience in Canterbury couldn’t have been easier with Mad Campers. They arranged a pick up from Christchurch airport who helped us with our bags and took us to Mad HQ. We were shown around the camper, given free T-shirt’s and Whittaker’s chocolate and with that were on our way! We thought for 6 days this was the ideal size for us as a vehicle with a place to rest our heads at the end of the day. We felt like a lot of thought went into fitting out the van, they made the most of the available space. Second battery that charged while you drive was great to charge our phones and the fridge etc. We didn’t run out of battery but we switched things off when they weren’t in use. We didn’t use the toilet, and didn’t make any meals using gas so I can’t comment on those facilities.
The bed was easy to set up. Mattress was alright, but nothing beats your own bed at home.
At the end of our trip we were taken back to the airport and service both ends was good.
Service by phone and email to Mad Campers was excellent. Would definitely recommend for short trips or minimalist campers!

Reviewed 2 months ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks for taking the time to post this review, Stephanie!! We are stoked you had a great trip and enjoyed your time with Mad Campers :)

Avoid Camping Fines!

The only camping map where each location is approved by every regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Lorrie Kaplan's avatar

Lorrie Kaplan

United States

Ranking: 10/10

We loved our Mad Camper van! We drive it all over the South Island for five weeks and had a great experience. The van was clean, smart, well organized, and fun. We received great information and instructions about using everything in the van. We never had any mechanical problems of any kind. The staff is friendly and responsive. We never used the toilet provided; we decided to just use public toilets and campground toilets. I would highly recommend Mad Campers!!

Reviewed 2 months ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks for your review Lorrie!! We're stoked to hear you enjoyed your experience with Mad Campers! Thanks for sharing your adventure with us and welcome to the Mad family :)

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Alan Whitlock's avatar

Alan Whitlock

United States

Ranking: 10/10

My Wife and I rented a 2 berth Campervan from Mad Campers, and were extremely pleased with our experience! From the time of check-in & orientation, to the minute that we returned the van to Christchurch......there was always a Staff member to assist and answer any questions. The excellent customer service ratings was the main deciding factor for us, and this crew did not disappoint! We are from the United States, and we are "Van Campers" here, so this type of rental was right up our alley. Two of us traveling with one large backpack each and smaller carry on backpacks, and we had plenty of room for everything. Our journey began at Christchurch, and from there we toured the South Island for 10 days. The Van (we nicknamed him "Frodo") was a great size, and got really good gas mileage. It also had an extremely tight turning radius, something that was very useful in tight campgrounds and parking lots. We had a minor issue with a circuit breaker that was linked to the auxiliary battery, but the Mad Campers team responded immediately to our calls, and helped us to get this issue resolved quickly. Recently, they added the rooftop box and rack to each 2 berth van at no charge, and this was a HUGE help! We were able to store our table, chairs, and toilet atop the vehicle.....which left more room in the main cabin. We had extremely great weather during our visit, and spent very little time in the van except for sleeping and driving. This allowed us to keep the bed assembled the entire time, and we used the sofa/table configuration minimally. If you are a couple that wants to travel with minimal gear, and travel light and fast.....these guys are for you! Thanks to the Mad Campers Team!

Reviewed 3 months ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks so much for your kind and thoughtful review, Alan! We really appreciate you taking the time and are so glad you enjoyed your experience with Mad Campers! It was great to meet you guys, and we loved being a part of your NZ adventure. Stoked you loved the camper and the new roofbox as well :)

Welcome to the Mad Family - hopefully we can send you off on another roady soon!

William Nash's avatar

William Nash

United States

Ranking: 10/10

We had an amazing couple of weeks cruising around the North and South Island in our Mad2 (Mt Lincoln). We did a bunch of research and was tempted to go with one of the bigger brands (we had previously had a Spaceship and Wicked Camper in Oz). But after reading all the reviews, comparing photos and pricing there was only one winner. The camper van was literally spotless when we picked it up, we were given a personalized tour of the van and didn’t feel rushed at all- we even were given two T-shirt’s to complete our Mad Camper challenge and chocolate!! The van had relatively low mileage and you could tell it had a recent facelift.
We booked campsites all around NZ, so we only used the gas burner a couple of times, but when we did it was super easy and fast. The bed only took 2mins to set up and was very comfortable. There was plenty of storage for two of us. We did stay at one freedom campsite as we had the self contained sticker (didn’t use the toilet onboard once, but it’s there for emergencies).
A massive bonus is that the van has two batteries. One that starts the car and operates headlights etc. the second operates the fridge, LED lights in the back and power outlets inc. USB’s. So you don’t have to worry about the van not starting in the morning or paying extra for a powered spot at a campsite.
After seeing the Juicy/Spaceship/Wickeds, we were so happy with our decision! Many of the other campervans looked run down and identical to what we rented a few years ago!
We completed the Mad Camper challenge (doing things like eating fish and chips on a beach with your MadCamper T-shirt on and posting it on Instagram) it was fun to do and we got 5% off our rental! I don’t write many reviews, but felt compelled to for Mad Campers as it’s such a cool company and made our trip so easy!

Reviewed 3 months ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thank you SO much for your kind review, William!! We are so stoked you had an incredible time with Mt Lincoln and were happy with your decision to travel with us :)

Congratulations again on completing the Mad Challenge - you guys did an epic job! Thanks again for sharing your New Zealand adventure with us and welcome to the MAD Family!!

Milena Tkotz's avatar

Milena Tkotz

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

The car was as expected, small but very well designed. With the free included roof box your suitcase is not in the way once it has been unpacked. Sadly we had a broken radiator in our last week. The emergency response from Mad Campers was fantastic. They immediately organized a workshop, which diagnosed the error and as soon as it was clear, that the car will not be repaired today, they organized an other car and a motel so we could continue our trip and do our booked experiences in Kaikoura. Thanks for the great time!

Reviewed 3 months ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks Milena!! It was great to send you guys off on your NZ adventure. Unfortunately these things can happen with cars/vans, but we appreciated your cooperation and are happy to hear you were pleased with how we dealt with the issue for you. The most important thing to us is our travellers experience, and we are stoked you had a great one and got to see the dolphins!! All the best for any future adventures :)

Bob Bergman's avatar

Bob Bergman

United States

Ranking: 10/10

Had a lovely 12 day South Island tour. Very glad I chose Mad Campers. Met up with some friends not as happy about their customer service from other rental company. Appreciated the little extras like salt and pepper and laundry soap. Will be a return customer if I make it back there.

Bob

Reviewed 3 months ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks Bob!! So stoked to hear you were happy with your decision to share your adventure with Mad Campers :)
Welcome to the Mad Family and hopefully we can send you off on another NZ roady some day soon!

Chris Bollington's avatar

Chris Bollington

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

Good experience with no hassles. The van was exactly as described. Could have done with a few more BHP on some of the hills.

Reviewed 4 months ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks Chris!! We hope you loved your time in NZ and enjoyed the camper :)

Sean Seguin's avatar

Sean Seguin

United States

Ranking: 10/10

Mad Campers was an absolute pleasure to rent a campervan from. From the moment we began communicating with us, their friendliness and level of service was extremely noticable. They were very responsive over email and I could tell that every member of the team really cared about our travel experience. We rented the MAD2 model, a 2-person campervan, which was designed extremely well. Mad Campers is the kind of company that takes customer service seriously and they really deliver. I highly, highly recommend going with them!

Reviewed 4 months ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks so much for the kind words, Sean! We are so happy you enjoyed your time in NZ, experience with Mad Campers and the camper itself! All the best for any more adventures in 2019 :)

Matthijs de Jong's avatar

Matthijs de Jong

Netherlands

Ranking: 10/10

Mad campers provide great vans! Perfect service, easy to ride, and everything is included in the small vans! The roofbox is included for free! The bed is cosy, but works perfectly for 2 tall Dutch people! The fridge and stove works fine! Also nice is the Madcampers Challenge which gives 5% retour of the total price, if you do 9 challenges! The challenges are worth it as you get a nice inside in what New Zealand has to offer!

Mad campers! Thanks for making our trip a success!
Matthijs & Marijn

Reviewed 4 months ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks guys!!! It was awesome to send you both off on your Kiwi Adventure and we are so stoked you enjoyed the camper! Congratulations on completing the Mad Challenge and welcome to the MAD Fam :)

fabien Lafond's avatar

fabien Lafond

France

Ranking: 9/10

Very nice trip! Mad camper’s guys are very helpful and kindness! The van was perfect for the road.
We spend very good and fun time.

Reviewed 4 months ago

Mad Campers responds:

Thanks so much Fabien! We're happy to hear you had a great trip and loved sending you off on the adventure - thanks for sharing it with us :)

Love Christchurch