Raumai Reserve

Raumai Reserve

86%

10 Rankers Reviews

0 Face-to-Face

7 Palmerston North

Online Maps

FREE Header

Camping NZ NEW

Welcome to New Zealand's most comprehensive database of freely available camping information. This is the only travel map of its kind in NZ.

Get the best out of it. Here's how…

Photos

Raumai Reserve

Information

Summer hot spot!

Raumai Reserve makes for a fun and relaxing overnight stay. The stoney beaches that line the river make it easy to find a good spot to swim, or try a spot of fishing. Large grey cliffs set a dramatic backdrop, while the many trees and shrubs offer shade to escape the summer heat.

Open to camping for tents and vehicles.

Max 3 night's stay per calendar month.

- Public toilets
- Picnic areas
- Swimming
- Fishing
- Gravel road access, parking on grass. Caution after rain.

Details

Feature Value Info

Organisation

Manawatu District Council

Local government organisation

Location

North IslandManawatu - WanganuiPalmerston North

Categories

  • Basic Camping
  • Free

Operating Season And Hours

All year

Reviews

  • 10 Rankers Reviews

    Quick Quotes

    • This was such a lovely spot!
    • Nice spot with a river for swimming nearby.
    • We spent one night on Raumai Reserve.
    • This was a great spot to rest for the night.

    Rating Distribution

    Rating Count Percentage
    10/10 1
    10%
    9/10 6
    60%
    8/10 2
    20%
    7/10 1
    10%
    6/10 0
    0%
    5/10 0
    0%
    4/10 0
    0%
    3/10 0
    0%
    2/10 0
    0%
    1/10 0
    0%
  • Reviewed about 1 year ago

    9/10

    This was a practice run for me in preparation for a long road trip.

    I loved that I could park and set up my gears right by the river. It would be a place to swim if warmer. Lovely birdsong beautiful fresh air. Oh and private. Perfect for freedom camping. I'd go back.

    Mereti's avatar

    Mereti

  • Reviewed almost 2 years ago

    7/10

    Large grassy area for campervans and tents by the scenic road.

    2 long-drop toilets were clean and not smelly. A lot of fire pits. Very close to a stone/sand river beach with cliffs enjoyed by many locals. Downside is that many cars are coming in and out making it noisy, and sometimes dodgy people drive to and make their car drifting on the gravel area... we didn’t stay a third night feeling insecure because of them.

    Alice's avatar

    Alice

  • Reviewed over 2 years ago

    9/10

    Great spot, large grassy area for camping with clean drop toilets that didn’t smell.

    Not very busy and plenty of space in mid January. But the best part of all is the excellent river swimming hole: clean, clear water (no dairy run off) with pebble riverbed so really nice to swim in.

    Charlotte's avatar

    Charlotte

  • Reviewed over 3 years ago

    9/10

    This was such a lovely spot!

    There was only one other group there, and the toilet was pretty good. Great grassy area. Could hear the occasional car, but slept fine.

    Julie's avatar

    Julie

  • Reviewed over 3 years ago

    9/10

    This was a great spot to rest for the night.

    Unfortunately, people who have been there before have left a mess. There are cans and scraps all over. However, the location is great and the toilets are clean.

    Brooklyne's avatar

    Brooklyne

  • Reviewed about 4 years ago

    10/10

    FREE site for all, easy access, space plentiful although be cautious on wet grass.

    Toilets supply paper and foam but no flush.

    Only people here on winter night, not far from Palmerston North, STUNNING setting beside Glen, with fire pits and stoney beach.

    C J B's avatar

    C J B

    New Zealand

  • Reviewed over 4 years ago

    8/10

    Site is large flat area just by the main road, we parked the van a little further down closer to the river.

    Brilliant backdrop of the large stone cliffs on the other side of the river. Fires ARE allowed and there’s lots of fire pits from previous people down amongst the rocks closer to the river. Only complaint is the toilet was swarmed with mosquitos. Have never seen so many in my life. Made it impossible to use toilets, otherwise brilliant site.

    Florian's avatar

    Florian

  • Reviewed almost 5 years ago

    8/10

    Great little spot next to the river, we were the only overnight campers but plenty of people coming throughout the day.

    Toilets are long drops 😐 but supplied toilet paper and hand sanitiser. Would stay overnight again!

    Sarah Forbes's avatar

    Sarah Forbes

  • Reviewed about 5 years ago

    9/10

    We spent one night on Raumai Reserve.

    The place is really quiet and toilets are clean and opened all the night long. There is no tap but you can find disinfectant to clean your hands. The site is really nice close to the River.

    Clemence Gingreau's avatar

    Clemence Gingreau

  • Reviewed over 5 years ago

    9/10

    Nice spot with a river for swimming nearby.

    Enough space for parking and grass for tents as well. It's not signed that you can camp there so without the app we wouldn't have found it. Toilets are rather new and clean but as it's a drop loo it's a bit smelly. They don't have sinks but toilet paper and foam disinfectant.

    It's directly next to the main road and you can hear all cars but there isn't much traffic.

    Christine Allgaier's avatar

    Christine Allgaier