Gentle Annie

Gentle Annie - Seaside Camping and Accommodation

Gentle Annie

Seaside Camping and Accommodation

97%

52 Rankers Reviews

4 Face-to-Face

2 Camping Grounds

1 Westport

  • Phone Enquiry

    • Call and discuss your needs.

    • Instant personal connection.

    • Credit card booking.

    • Live booking engine.

    • Automatic standard pricing.

    • No personal connection.

Accommodations

Online Maps

FREE Header

Camping NZ NEW

Welcome to New Zealand's most comprehensive database of freely available camping information. This is the only travel map of its kind in NZ.

Photos

Classic Sunset at Gentle Annie Beach
Aerial view of Gentle Annie, welcome to paradise!
Gentle Annie Point Maze
Enjoy a bonfire on the beach!

Information

Aotearoa as it used to be – lush, unspoilt and natural.

50 kilometres north of Westport on the doorstep of the Kahurangi National Park, Gentle Annie is a coastal enclave with its own warm frost-free microclimate. Bounded by the Tasman Sea, the mighty Mokihinui River and Nikau-fringed native bush, it is an excellent place to set up base and be rejuvenated and recharged.

Gentle Annie is only 10km from the world class Old Ghost Road mountain biking and walking track and within an hour of many scenic attractions of the Northern Buller Region – north to Kahurangi National Park, the Heaphy Track, and the Oparara Valley with it’s Limestone Arches and…

Details

Feature Value Info

Organisation

Gentle Annie Seaside Camping & Accommodation

Commercial organisation

Location

South IslandWest CoastWestport

Categories

  • Camping Grounds

Operating Season And Hours

Gentle Annie Seaside Camping and Accommodation is open year round.

Please note we now take bookings for our camping ground.
See our website to make a booking and for descriptions and details of our Powered Sites.

All non-powered camping sites are unallocated, and when you make a booking, you are not booking a particular spot. Sites are first in, first served. You are more than welcome to check-in after 12 noon on the day of your arrival, and extend your stay (by talking with someone at the Cowshed) while you are here (guest numbers and space dependent), and check out 12 noon on the day you depart.

Bookings Essential for December, January, February, all Statuatory Holiday weekends and School Holiday Periods.
Bookings Preferred for all other months.

Reviews

  • 52 Rankers Reviews

    Quick Quotes

    • What a place to spend the weekend!!!
    • Beautiful location and very friendly staff.
    • This place is a gem!
    • Definitely the best campsite ever !
    • This place is amazing!

    Rating Distribution

    Rating Count Percentage
    10/10 44
    85%
    9/10 5
    10%
    8/10 1
    2%
    7/10 1
    2%
    6/10 0
    0%
    5/10 0
    0%
    4/10 0
    0%
    3/10 1
    2%
    2/10 0
    0%
    1/10 0
    0%
  • Reviewed 7 months ago

    10/10

    Just simply the best, so many great spots to camp up for unpowered options.

    Great coffee muffins and of course the pizza oven cant rate it highly enough

    AMR's avatar

    AMR

    Customer

  • Reviewed about 1 year ago

    10/10

    Fabulous spot, can get a great coffee at the Cowshed.

    We were coming for 1 night so bought ingredients to make pizzas in the pizza oven but stayed for 2 nights, Jessie gave us the ingredients for the 2nd nights pizza making and wouldn’t take any money for them. There’s tons of driftwood for fires on the beach or wheelbarrows to bring it back to the camps fire pit. Nice walks, a lovely setting with a great vibe, will be back with my moko.

    Dianne's avatar

    Dianne

    Customer

  • Reviewed over 1 year ago

    10/10

    Travelling on motorbike as pillion passenger around South Island.

    This is by far the best camp site encountered on the west coast so far. Highly recommend if you enjoy camping, meeting friendly people. Clean practical facilities. Don't want to leave.

    LeeAnn's avatar

    LeeAnn

    Customer

  • Reviewed over 1 year ago

    10/10

    What a place to spend the weekend!!!

    You see why this place is one of the best. Beautiful fishing spot, waves almost perfect and heaps to do with the kids. Everything you'd ever need in one spot the owners have done a wonderful job with the campground heaps of privacy and plenty of space top job guys.

    Kane Marshall 's avatar

    Kane Marshall

    Customer

  • Reviewed over 1 year ago

    10/10

    Awesome spot, so beautiful, so chill and everything you need.

    Richie Miller's avatar

    Richie Miller

    Customer

  • Reviewed almost 2 years ago

    10/10

    This low key relaxed campground (with cabins and houses also) is great to chill out for a bit.

    We arrived for 1 night and spent 4 here! The campground has all the necessary basics - flush toilets (2 per gender), showers (2), kitchen - with limited number of pans; gas burners (4) are in the covered outdoor area along with a wood fired pizza oven (make your own pizza) and outdoor fire pit. Washing machine tho no dryer - clothesline and clothes racks instead. The above was plenty for usage at the time we were here (Sept 2020) but in peak season may be a bit stretched. The center is the “Cowshed” , a cafe and hangout space with excellent free WIFI and plenty of charging outlets for devices open 24/7. Coffee available in the morning plus biscuits/cookies any time. During summer muffins and a breakfast menu is available. Much of the smaller payments are based on an honesty system which is very refreshing eg. Showers $2/five mins but no timer; washing machine $2; cookies - put money into the honesty box and help yourself. The owners are always helpful, kind, willing to answer questions and suggest places to visit. In like manner the success of this camping spot is consideration to your fellow campers, so there’s requests to cleanup after using kitchen etc.

    All pitches are on grass - find your space and set up; many areas are protected with plantings and give privacy, close enough to hear the surf and walk to the beach for your own driftwood fire at night.

    There’s a large grassed area for games, soccer balls and net supplied.

    This is not your Top 10 Holiday Park but a family run genuine Kiwi experience on the wonderful West Coast of the South Island where you get to meet and chat with other campers - don’t miss it!

    Boardwalk Blss's avatar

    Boardwalk Blss

    United States

    Customer

  • Reviewed over 2 years ago

    10/10

    One of the best camps we stayed at in the South island.

    Make sure and have a muffin and coffee at the cowshed cafe

    Mark's avatar

    Mark

    Customer

  • Reviewed almost 3 years ago

    10/10

    Great camping spot for the long weekend, whitebaiting, fishing, biking , relaxing all on the doorstep, lovely cafe and pizza oven , lovely people / family owners thank you 😊 We will be back for sure

    Craig/ Sarah 's avatar

    Craig/ Sarah

    Customer

  • Reviewed almost 3 years ago

    10/10

    Really nice and cozy Camping.

    The owners are kind and Jeep everything clean and will try to make your stay as pleasent as possible. We will probably come back sometime ;)

    Nick's avatar

    Nick

    Customer

  • Reviewed almost 3 years ago

    10/10

    This place has been a highlight with its wonderful views, beaches, campervan spaces, accommodations with showers, bathrooms, an outdoor pizza oven, a cafe with delicious coffee and muffins plus a lounge open all night to relax.

    Highly recommend a stay here for a few days.

    Sharron's avatar

    Sharron

    Customer

  • Reviewed almost 3 years ago

    10/10

    We were told that Gentle Annie’s was a good campground.

    It was beyond good...it was extra special. We were traveling in a caravan (all the way from Seattle) and needed some peace and quiet. We made pizza in the wood fire oven, got all cleaned up and very much enjoyed the beautiful surrounding.

    Kathy's avatar

    Kathy

    Customer

  • Reviewed about 3 years ago

    10/10

    Gentle Annies is divine.

    Sublime rural setting spiced with the best of humanity: great home cooked meals & community. We can’t wait to go back.

    Natazha Bernie 's avatar

    Natazha Bernie

    Customer

    Thank you for your awesome comments! Glad you enjoyed your stay! Future guests, please note we don't take bookings for the camping ground as we always have plenty of space, so no need to call before you arrive, just come and make yourselves at home, we would love to have you here! What we think you'll love about your stay at Gentle Annie: Super friendly and welcoming hosts who are here to make your stay the best it can be 😄 Delicious locally roasted organic/fair trade coffee-the perfect way to start your day! ☕️ Large, private camping areas situated amongst landscaped gardens next to the beach and river-simply beautiful☀️🏝 Wood-fired pizza oven (bring your pizza ingredients with you) and BBQ, available for your use! 🍔 Awesome campers lounge, outdoor seating area Beautiful Beach 🏖 Gentle Annie Point Bush Maze with stunning coastal views🌴🌅 Free Wifi 💻 No Checkout Time 💤 Hot Showers 🛀 Great fishing and swimming👙🎣 Bonfire on the beach 💫🔥 Super friendly and relaxed atmosphere 😀 Cozy fireplace 🔥🔥 in the lounge area-perfect for this time of year! Jessica's famous homemade baking! Travellers Paradise-you won't want to leave!

    Jesse Paley-Atkins's avatar

    Jesse Paley-Atkins

    New Zealand

    Gentle Annie

  • Reviewed about 3 years ago

    10/10

    This place is amazing!

    I’ve camped around NZ for over 50 years and can honestly say this is one of the best camping places I’ve ever found, if not the best!😃 It’s worth the $12 just for the location, let alone the facilities, which are outstanding - a feeling of ‘home ‘. Not many sandflies either, which is a blessing in these parts!

    Well done!

    River's avatar

    River

    Customer

    Thank you for staying with us 😀
    Future guests, here's what we think you'll enjoy about our special spot:
    Jessica's Famous Homemade Baking-We've kept our camping rates cheap so you can treat yourselves!
    Delicious organic, locally roasted coffee-the perfect way to start your day!
    Fast Free Wifi!
    No Checkout Time!
    Beautiful Beach!
    Gentle Annie Point Bush Maze!
    Service with a smile-we're here to make your stay awesome!
    Large private camping areas by the beach-choose your own spot!
    Bonfires on the Beach!
    Catch a Fish for Dinner!
    Use of our Wood-Fired Pizza Oven-remember to bring ingredients!
    Checkout our video on the 'Details' page for what our place is all about.
    We look forward to having you here!

    Jesse Paley-Atkins's avatar

    Jesse Paley-Atkins

    New Zealand

    Gentle Annie

  • Reviewed over 3 years ago

    10/10

    This place is so stunning!

    It has such a wonderful atmosphere, I was so relaxed after three nights. Very quiet, good coffee and homemade cakes (try the spicy chilly-brownies, they're yummy!). No powered sites and just two showers, but doesn't matter at this very special place. Loved it!

    Beth's avatar

    Beth

    Customer

    Thank you-we loved having you here, glad you enjoyed your stay! All the best with the rest of your travels in NZ :) Future guests, please note there is no need to make a booking with us, we have plenty of space and would love to have you here. Just come and make yourselves at home!

    Jesse Paley-Atkins's avatar

    Jesse Paley-Atkins

    New Zealand

    Gentle Annie

  • Reviewed over 3 years ago

    10/10

    This is THE best campsite in New Zealand !

    Go there and you won’t be disappointed! The stone oven pizza is a must do too, really worth making your own pizza, it’s so good ! The brownies, muffins are incredible too. We were supposed to stay one night and ended up staying 5 ☺️ so cheap compare to what you get in a doc. The view is amazing, so are the people working there, so helpful, WiFi is free and works perfectly, everything is clean, you can’t find a better place!

    Thank you 🙏🏼

    Jen's avatar

    Jen

    Customer

    Thank you for your awesome comments! Glad you enjoyed your stay! Future guests, please note we don't take bookings for the camping ground as we always have plenty of space, so no need to call before you arrive, just come and make yourselves at home, we would love to have you here! What we think you'll love about your stay at Gentle Annie: Super friendly and welcoming hosts who are here to make your stay the best it can be 😄 Delicious locally roasted organic/fair trade coffee-the perfect way to start your day! ☕️ Large, private camping areas situated amongst landscaped gardens next to the beach and river-simply beautiful☀️🏝 Wood-fired pizza oven (bring your pizza ingredients with you) and BBQ, available for your use! 🍔 Awesome campers lounge, outdoor seating area Beautiful Beach 🏖 Gentle Annie Point Bush Maze with stunning coastal views🌴🌅 Free Wifi 💻 No Checkout Time 💤 Hot Showers 🛀 Great fishing and swimming👙🎣 Bonfire on the beach 💫🔥 Super friendly and relaxed atmosphere 😀 Cozy fireplace 🔥🔥 in the lounge area-perfect for this time of year! Jessica's famous homemade baking! Travellers Paradise-you won't want to leave!

    Jesse Paley-Atkins's avatar

    Jesse Paley-Atkins

    New Zealand

    Gentle Annie

  • Reviewed over 3 years ago

    10/10

    Definitely the best campsite ever !

    People are so welcoming and friendly, commun area super nice, the sunset is amazing and the labyrinthe is a good idea ! Love it ! 12$pp for one night or 30$ for 3 nights. Thank you so much to create a place like this !

    Caroline's avatar

    Caroline

    Customer

    Thank you for your awesome comments! Glad you enjoyed your stay! Future guests, please note we don't take bookings for the camping ground as we always have plenty of space, so no need to call before you arrive, just come and make yourselves at home, we would love to have you here! What we think you'll love about your stay at Gentle Annie: Super friendly and welcoming hosts who are here to make your stay the best it can be 😄 Delicious locally roasted organic/fair trade coffee-the perfect way to start your day! ☕️ Large, private camping areas situated amongst landscaped gardens next to the beach and river-simply beautiful☀️🏝 Wood-fired pizza oven (bring your pizza ingredients with you) and BBQ, available for your use! 🍔 Awesome campers lounge, outdoor seating area Beautiful Beach 🏖 Gentle Annie Point Bush Maze with stunning coastal views🌴🌅 Free Wifi 💻 No Checkout Time 💤 Hot Showers 🛀 Great fishing and swimming👙🎣 Bonfire on the beach 💫🔥 Super friendly and relaxed atmosphere 😀 Cozy fireplace 🔥🔥 in the lounge area-perfect for this time of year! Jessica's famous homemade baking! Travellers Paradise-you won't want to leave!

    Jesse Paley-Atkins's avatar

    Jesse Paley-Atkins

    New Zealand

    Gentle Annie

  • Reviewed over 3 years ago

    10/10

    Fantastic place, which just keeps getting better!!!

    Lovely owners and great staff who are always happy to help!!!

    Wayne n Leanne Johnson's avatar

    Wayne n Leanne Johnson

    Customer

    Thank you-we loved having you here, glad you enjoyed your stay! All the best with the rest of your travels in NZ :) Future guests, please note there is no need to make a booking with us, we have plenty of space and would love to have you here. Just come and make yourselves at home!

    Jesse Paley-Atkins's avatar

    Jesse Paley-Atkins

    New Zealand

    Gentle Annie

  • Reviewed almost 4 years ago

    10/10

    Grassy field with vegetation partitions at $12 a night, no powered sites.

    Beach and river are right there and lots of white baiters were out. Being October the main cafe was not really running yet (coffee only from 9-10am which is when someone is around to collect camping fees) but the communal lounging space/cafe space is a selling point foe the place. Indoor and outdoor seating with fireplaces (no dry wood left when i was there but there is a ton of wood waiting to be dried from the beach). Shower on an honesty box system at $2 and it was actually hot. Kitchen is sort of small for all the people needing to cook (which is everyone without the cafe running) and you should bring your own stuff as kitchen supplies are limited. Other than that no complaints. I would love to stay here in nice weather and during the summer.

    Grizzly Girl's avatar

    Grizzly Girl

    Customer

    Thank you for staying with us 😀
    Future guests, here's what we think you'll enjoy about our special spot:
    Jessica's Famous Homemade Baking-We've kept our camping rates cheap so you can treat yourselves!
    Delicious organic, locally roasted coffee-the perfect way to start your day!
    Fast Free Wifi!
    No Checkout Time!
    Beautiful Beach!
    Gentle Annie Point Bush Maze!
    Service with a smile-we're here to make your stay awesome!
    Large private camping areas by the beach-choose your own spot!
    Bonfires on the Beach!
    Catch a Fish for Dinner!
    Use of our Wood-Fired Pizza Oven-remember to bring ingredients!
    Checkout our video on our website for what our place is all about.
    We look forward to having you here!

    Jesse Paley-Atkins's avatar

    Jesse Paley-Atkins

    New Zealand

    Gentle Annie

  • Reviewed almost 4 years ago

    10/10

    This is the best campsite on the entire South Island.

    I almost don’t want to give it 10/10 as then more people will discover this magical spot. Jesse and his family have thought of every possible need a Traveller may have! Warm fire for winter, delicious home cooked biscuits and soothing warm showers are some of the facilities available. Their campsite comes with a beautiful story and they are happy to share their exerpeince and knowledge of the area with you! Don’t miss out on this West Coast gem! We will definitely be back to base ourselves here and explore Kahurangi NP further!

    Kim's avatar

    Kim

    Customer

    Thank you for your awesome comments! Glad you enjoyed your stay! Future guests, please note we don't take bookings for the camping ground as we always have plenty of space, so no need to call before you arrive, just come and make yourselves at home, we would love to have you here! What we think you'll love about your stay at Gentle Annie: Super friendly and welcoming hosts who are here to make your stay the best it can be 😄 Delicious locally roasted organic/fair trade coffee-the perfect way to start your day! ☕️ Large, private camping areas situated amongst landscaped gardens next to the beach and river-simply beautiful☀️🏝 Wood-fired pizza oven (bring your pizza ingredients with you) and BBQ, available for your use! 🍔 Awesome campers lounge, outdoor seating area Beautiful Beach 🏖 Gentle Annie Point Bush Maze with stunning coastal views🌴🌅 Free Wifi 💻 No Checkout Time 💤 Hot Showers 🛀 Great fishing and swimming👙🎣 Bonfire on the beach 💫🔥 Super friendly and relaxed atmosphere 😀 Cozy fireplace 🔥🔥 in the lounge area-perfect for this time of year! Jessica's famous homemade baking! Travellers Paradise-you won't want to leave!

    Jesse Paley-Atkins's avatar

    Jesse Paley-Atkins

    New Zealand

    Gentle Annie

  • Reviewed about 4 years ago

    10/10

    Came across Gentle Annie by accident, and oh so pleased we did.

    Cannot rate this campground high enough for wonderful hospitality shown by all staff, the amazing cafe and muffins, plus home cooked pizza's in the pizza oven creates a meeting place for campers to enjoy each others company.

    The scenery and walks along the rugged beach, collecting fire wood for the pizza oven and building fires gives you the freedom of yesteryear. Of all camps we have visited this is the best, and well worth the time to travel here not only to enjoy the camp but the amazing surrounding area.

    Facilities are basic but clean.

    Helen Moxon's avatar

    Helen Moxon

    Customer

    Thank you for staying with us 😀
    Future guests, here's what we think you'll enjoy about our special spot:
    Jessica's Famous Homemade Baking-We've kept our camping rates cheap so you can treat yourselves!
    Delicious organic, locally roasted coffee-the perfect way to start your day!
    Fast Free Wifi!
    No Checkout Time!
    Beautiful Beach!
    Gentle Annie Point Bush Maze!
    Service with a smile-we're here to make your stay awesome!
    Large private camping areas by the beach-choose your own spot!
    Bonfires on the Beach!
    Catch a Fish for Dinner!
    Use of our Wood-Fired Pizza Oven-remember to bring ingredients!
    Checkout our video on our website for what our place is all about.
    We look forward to having you here!

    Jesse Paley-Atkins's avatar

    Jesse Paley-Atkins

    New Zealand

    Gentle Annie