Leith Valley Holiday Park

Reviews

Monica A's avatar

Monica A

Ranking: 8/10

Small site by the rainforest. Has its own stream running down the side of the site. The owners are really helpful. Good showes etc.

Reviewed 9 months ago

camplover95's avatar

camplover95

Ranking: 2/10

Really bad customer service and really small site, definitely wasn’t worth the money - won’t be coming back or recommending.

Reviewed 10 months ago

Renee's avatar

Renee

Ranking: 7/10

Site is in a nice spot and has reasonable amenities. Its further from town centre than the Rankers info implies (1km to main street - didn't mention another 3km to centre). Kitchen needs extractor fans ( which would also help with the "old" odour in the amenity block) and better configuration. A stove between 2 fridges is a hard spot up cook in a busy kitchen. Bathrooms good, clean and hot showers without timers.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Inge's avatar

Inge

Ranking: 8/10

Great facilities - though a bit expensive ($44 for powered site).

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Vicki Hoskinson's avatar

Vicki Hoskinson

Australia

Ranking: 10/10

Gorgeous spot our site was right on the beautiful babbling creek. Lovely clean amenities

Reviewed over 1 year ago

André's avatar

André

Ranking: 7/10

I am travelling alone in a Campervan. Had to pay 25 NZD for one unpowered site and one night. The facility is quiet, but has seen better days. Free unlimited WiFi, hot showers. Coin paited dryer and washing machine. City center takes 45 minutes to walk. Overall okay.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Richard's avatar

Richard

Ranking: 7/10

Clean bathrooms and kitchen. Friendly staff that offered us free DVDs for the night and table tennis.
Very close to town but beautiful setting right on the Leith. The sound of the water at night is quite relaxing.
Only negatives would be that it's a bit old and the taps in the bathroom had to be held down with your hand for it to work.
Other than that it was great. Would stay again.

Reviewed almost 2 years ago

Avivjones's avatar

Avivjones

Ranking: 10/10

Really fabulous place next to a bubbling stream with bush walks and trees for shade. Friendly reception, clean and modern facilities, well maintained. Would stay again

Reviewed almost 2 years ago

Cindy's avatar

Cindy

Ranking: 9/10

We enjoyed our stay here. Friendly lady in the office easily accomodated our group of 4 motorhomes without a booking she also lent us some dvds. There was also lots of room to maneuver our motorhomes into their spaces. Kitchen was well equipped, lovely clean toilets and showers. We all enjoyed the games area and there was plenty of seating for dining or just relaxing. Surrounding area is very pretty.

Reviewed almost 2 years ago

Demi Thompson's avatar

Demi Thompson

Australia

Ranking: 10/10

We loved this campsite. Great facilities available. Ping pong table was awesome. Tidy kitchen and laundry. Awesome bathrooms with a nice warm heater! Dump station is in a good spot. Staff were very friendly.

Reviewed almost 2 years ago

Trevor Wiseman's avatar

Trevor Wiseman

Australia

Ranking: 9/10

Clean, friendly and peaceful apart from the gentle trickle from the stream we are camped beside.
Love it clean camp kitchen, pot belly fire burning in lounge. Can’t get any better than that.
Host very friendly. Lovely walk to the weir from the back of the camp. Couldn’t find the glow worms.

Reviewed about 2 years ago

Rob Mellor 's avatar

Rob Mellor

Ranking: 7/10

Very friendly owner, clean and tidy site. Not sparkling, hence the 8 and not a 10, but i would recommend it to anyone. Has good games room, kitchen, showers.

Reviewed about 2 years ago

Teb's avatar

Teb

United States

Ranking: 6/10

A small place but that worked out fine. Large kitchen and relaxation area. Bathrooms were cold, especially the floors but hot water was fine. However, really annoying to have to push a button on the wall for hot water when it affected every shower. No way to know when it had been pushed or when it would shut off. Brrrr...

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Stacey&Lindsay's avatar

Stacey&Lindsay

Ranking: 10/10

We really enjoyed our experience at Leith Valley. Very courteous service with lots of information and activity suggestions, facilities were great and we were parked next to the stream which was wonderful to fall asleep to!

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Michael McMahon's avatar

Michael McMahon

United States

Ranking: 8/10

Small park but convenient for heading downtown. Number 3 bus runs by every half hour right to the octagon. $3.40. Nice park like seeing in the trees. Quiet with a stream running behind many sites. Shower block was a bit cold but plenty of hot water. Not fancy but did the job.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Candy's avatar

Candy

Ranking: 9/10

Just a short drive from dunedin town center, cute campsite with spots very close to facilities. Nice bathrooms, showers, kitchen and lounge.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

S Weslake's avatar

S Weslake

United Kingdom

Ranking: 7/10

Stayed mid March 2018, 3 adults on a powered pitch. We booked with an I-Site due to busy times. We were reserved a space right on the road, and heard traffic all throughout the night. Facilities clean and in working order. Large indoor area for cooking and relaxing. Individual dump stations at each pitch. Nothing special.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Tati Moron's avatar

Tati Moron

Ranking: 7/10

Very kind staff and nice park. The bathrooms are being improved when we stayed and it was a little chaos, but was a great place.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Maureen Barlow's avatar

Maureen Barlow

Ranking: 8/10

Great little park, love it, sites large enough to fit in out huge hired camper vans. position ideal for walk into town, ( an easy 1 km) Park not too large, but in a beautiful wooded setting.. Camp kitchen best equiped I have EVER come across. Lounge area somewhat dated, but still sooo comfy and wood heater would be great in cold weather -( we were here when it was warm). Beautiful walk behind camp along stream.
Showers and toilets clean. Could do with some kind of board to stand on - floors get very wet.
All staff so helpful.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Clobby's avatar

Clobby

Ranking: 9/10

Visited as wanted to see glow-worms, but the warden didn’t know how to find them - thank goodness for google!
The site was nice and clean with really good kitchen and toilets/showers. Our van pitch was next to the office and really quiet, but I noticed tent space was limited. Good value site tho.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Hanneke van Dijk's avatar

Hanneke van Dijk

Netherlands

Ranking: 7/10

Perfect location if you want to spent the day in Dunedin. We arrived late in the evening and checked in the next morning and the lady was very friendly and gave us tips on what to see and do. The campground is small and was quite busy. Don't expect beautiful scenery as it's located in the city. But the sites are green and the amenities were good. Free (good) showers and WIFI, large kitchen / room to sit inside. Playground isn't special but our son loved the old tractor. 20 dollar pp for a powered site.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Gillian Press's avatar

Gillian Press

Ranking: 8/10

Worried when we arrived as they had us down for the previous day and it was pre-booked. However there was no problems they fitted us in fine, close to centre of Dunedin only 10 minutes drive. Good shower and toilet facilities.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Karen Forsyth's avatar

Karen Forsyth

Ranking: 9/10

Not a problem. Great location. Share facilities clean and so close to town, walking trials and botanic gardens. Owner was great and accommodating, don’t feed the ducks. Ask for creek site away from the road, nicer to fall asleep to rather than traffic.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Chris Ostrowski's avatar

Chris Ostrowski

Canada

Ranking: 10/10

Excellent facilities, and some of the cleanest too! Well equipped kitchen, unlimited hot showers, fridge, freezers, TV, free wifi, and large common area with tables and seating adjacent to the kitchen. Renovations appear to be complete as showers and toilets were clean and functional.

Reviewed almost 3 years ago

Debbie Lesurf's avatar

Debbie Lesurf

Ranking: 10/10

What a find right next to the city! Our powered spot is adjacent to the stream and interesting walking trails. Bird calls abound. Facilities are spacious and clean if not brand new. Walk around the neighbourhood and admire the older small homes, in various states of repair. Easy bus into the heart of the city or a 30-45 minute walk.

Reviewed almost 3 years ago

Nora Tobies's avatar

Nora Tobies

Ranking: 8/10

Small park right outside of Dunedin, you park your campers pretty close to each others. Big common room with pool and pingpong table, also big kitchen and clean, warm bathrooms. $40 for 2 on a powered site.

Reviewed almost 3 years ago

Sophie Nightingale's avatar

Sophie Nightingale

Ranking: 9/10

Really friendly guy on reception gave us info about Dunedin and places to go. Nice clean campsite with good facilities, easy to walk into the centre of town too.

Reviewed almost 3 years ago

Howard Morris's avatar

Howard Morris

Ranking: 6/10

Nice campsite with river running behind. Nothing special but convenient for botanic gardens. Only 1 shared toilet block open as they are renovating which meant very cramped & wait for showers.

Reviewed about 3 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Michael Taing's avatar

Michael Taing

Ranking: 1/10

I'll start with the positives. Kitchen is well equipped, clean and amongst the best I've used. Coin operated laundry is well equipped with commercial machines $4 per wash and $4 dry. Reasonable prices. Now the negatives: too many "rules": "turn off all lights after use"- the whole amenities area is pitch black because the owner switches off all the lights. "Don't feed ducks or they are your pets and you take them home"- this is posted EVERYWHERE-( yes, we get it)
Playground is very basic and dated. Smoking area is in the playground area!! Pool table is $4 a game. Table tennis table but no bats or balls. Wifi didn't work. When we arrived, the women's bathroom was under renovation and communal men/women bathroom and showers- but full rates still applied despite the inconvenience and building noise. Obviously the owners are super thrifty with electricity- signs everywhere to the effect of 'turn off lights and turn off heaters',
'don't do this, don't do that...". I am a frequent camper but a first time motorhome user. I connected the grey waste line to the motorhome away from the dump station, which I now know is not the right thing to do. The owner saw me do this and WENT ABSOLUTELY MENTAL. I expressed my sincere apologies; I had no idea as the hire company didn't explain it to me and although I hadn't discharged grey water (because I didn't know how to), he proceeded to yell at me like I was a child. Was planning to stay two nights but left immediately. Very dissatisfied.

Reviewed about 3 years ago

Nathan Lal's avatar

Nathan Lal

Ranking: 9/10

Good location not far from the CBD. Amenities are fine and the gentleman at reception was very helpful with information of the city.

Reviewed about 3 years ago

Linn Niziak's avatar

Linn Niziak

Ranking: 10/10

We had a wonderful stay here. The place itself is an average holiday park with a good equipped kitchen and a sitting room with everything one could ask for (oven, table tennis and billiard and a separate TV room). The real diamond about this place is the extremely friendly and helpful owner!!
We paid $20 per person for an unpowered site.
We also enjoyed the free wifi with 250 mb and the opportunity to borrow Games and dvds for the Night!

Reviewed over 3 years ago

Artemis's avatar

Artemis

Ranking: 8/10

Nice girl at the reception, small camp. Free 250Mb WiFi, not so fast, but free ;)
Facilities are clean, there a laundry, kitchen and communal room; also a dump station which can be useful.
The only thing I would recommend to the owner is to warm-up the bathrooms when temperature starts to fall down, it was pretty cold and after a hot shower you would appreciate not to freeze.
Anyway, nice camp, powered site at $40 for 2 people.

Reviewed over 3 years ago

Walter Neff's avatar

Walter Neff

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

Stayed two nights in a campervan early Feb 2017. Good facilities, more homely feeling than the big site on the south side of the city. Easy walk up the path to see the arch of glow worms at night, take a torch for coming back as it's easy to miss the turn back over the bridge to the campsite. Being on the north side of Dunedin it's handy for Baldwin Street, Signal Hill Lookout and Port Chalmers as well.

Reviewed over 3 years ago

Mike Guest's avatar

Mike Guest

Australia

Ranking: 8/10

Really helpful owner, good location. We didn't see it at its best as it rained hard and was pretty missable and gloomy during our stay. Might be a 10 on a better day.

Reviewed about 4 years ago

Lee Ling Koh's avatar

Lee Ling Koh

Ranking: 8/10

Nice cosy place to stay in. It's very quite. A bit old but tidy and clean showers. Campervans are behind a valley/small river, very chilly during winter. Wanted to have a look at the glow worms but it was too creepy to walk toward the Ross Creek area. Overall it was well facilitated with a lovely receptionist- John.

Reviewed about 4 years ago

Luke Young's avatar

Luke Young

Ranking: 9/10

Cosy little place. Friendly staff. Heated common area with fireplace. Next to stream. Stayed one night, nil issues. Access to town 10 minutes down the road. When parking in town, park next to the train line $4 for 4 hours as parking large campers will be difficult in Dunedin.

Reviewed about 4 years ago

Beth Goodrich's avatar

Beth Goodrich

Australia

Ranking: 10/10

Favourite place of the entire trip! The owner was extremely friendly and helpful, small site but amazing facilities. Very clean, good showers, plenty of utensils and space in the kitchen, tv room, and awesome room with pool and ping pong (small cost). Nice little walk out the back through the bush and board games free to borrow from reception. Loved it!

Reviewed about 4 years ago

Helen Souloglou's avatar

Helen Souloglou

United Kingdom

Ranking: 9/10

A great holiday park with convenient access to all the sights of dunedin. Really great staff and lots of unmetered HOT shower water. Great.

Reviewed over 4 years ago and experienced in January 2016

Wayne Jeskie's avatar

Wayne Jeskie

Ranking: 10/10

We arrived late in the evening and the owner was lovely, took his time with us and gave us info. $57 for a powered site for 3 adults and really worth it. We had a site right on the river, amenities clean, great hot showers that are free, and a shower curtain! (Hello not spraying water all over the cubicle!) Sanitisers in the loo, everything was spot on. Laundry excellent, cool playground for the kids. It's a great place and I'd recommend it to anyone visiting Dunedin.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

veda wills 's avatar

veda wills

New Zealand

Ranking: 8/10

A great wee holiday park that's quite handy to the centre of town. We have stayed here a few times over the last few years. Nice clean facilities. Lovely creek running through and a nice walk up the hill where you can see the glow worms at night.

Reviewed over 4 years ago and experienced in October 2015

Andrik's avatar

Andrik

Ranking: 5/10

Reasonable location, friendly if slightly unprofessional staff and overpriced for what you get. Facilities were immaculately cleaned but simply old and worn; in bad need of renovation. Sites themselves are small and awkward to manoeuvre into.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Averil Ford's avatar

Averil Ford

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

This is an excellent well priced camp close to the city.The new owners are friendly and can't do enough to ensure the people staying are comfortable. The large common room and tv room are a great asset in this camp. Hot water, free showers and very clean facilities. We really enjoyed our 2 night stay.

Reviewed over 4 years ago and experienced in January 2016

Avoid Camping Fines!

Each camping location is approved by a regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Faye  Livock 's avatar

Faye Livock

Ranking: 9/10

Cosy, clean, and close to town. Welcoming and helpful manager. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Reviewed over 4 years ago and experienced in November 2015

Des Corner's avatar

Des Corner

Ranking: 8/10

Nice friendly staff. The facilities were excellent and the site was in a nice quiet location but within easy reach of the city centre.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Hannah-Luisa Behrendt's avatar

Hannah-Luisa Behrendt

Ranking: 6/10

Nice facilities, well located. $24 for one person on an unpowered site.

Reviewed almost 5 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing feedback. Its great the location and facilities. If there is more than one person we charge $19 per person for both powered and unpowered sites. We hope to see you again in the future.

David From Switzerland's avatar

David From Switzerland

Switzerland

Ranking: 8/10

Small and nice camping site. Facillities were a bit dated but all fine. TV, pingpong and a pool table to use, paid wifi (250mb = 2$), some trees and a small river at the site.

Reviewed almost 5 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you were able to also view glow worms and the local bush walks which are across the lovely Ross Creek which boarders our park. We hope to see you again in the future.

Helen B's avatar

Helen B

Ranking: 8/10

Lovely wee park. Superb facilities - would have been a 10 if I hadn't had to squabble with front of house lady after washer/dryer eating our $. Lots of ducks, walkway with bridge and reserve bordering it - wouldn't have been overly comfortable if had kids with us on that side of the park.

Reviewed almost 5 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for your feedback. Its great our facilities meet your needs and I hope you were able to enjoy the Ross Creek walking tracks. It can be tricky having young children near the stream but we do have other areas of the park if parents are concerned. I am very sorry you had a disagreement with staff during your stay. If you still have concerns regarding this please feel free to email the owners to discuss. We hope you come and stay with us during your next visit to Dunedin.

Jade Duncan's avatar

Jade Duncan

Ranking: 8/10

Fair sized unpowered site next to the stream but quite a small campsite overall. Nice walks nearby. Good, clean and adequate powerful showers. WiFi costs extra and you have to buy it from reception. The common area has ping pong (buy a ball from reception for $1) and a pool table.

Reviewed about 5 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for your feedback. Its great you were able to enjoy the Ross Creek walkways and hope you were able to see the glow worms after dark. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Karmen Bond's avatar

Karmen Bond

Ranking: 10/10

I can't fault this park, ok maybe the washing machine is a little more than I expected to pay, but free showers, with music in the bathrooms. Didn't notice any noise from the road, mind you we were parked right next to the lovely stream. Take a torch for the glow worms!

Reviewed about 5 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. Its great that you had a nice stay and ranked us so highly. We are lucky to be situated next to the peaceful Leith Stream yet only 1km from the main street. Torches are available to borrow from the office needed. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Carsten Philipp's avatar

Carsten Philipp

Ranking: 8/10

$36 for a powered site for 2 adults. Kitchen, bathroom and common room all very clean and well equipped. All common rooms haven't been heated, so very cold. Wifi has to be paid extra.
Nice and helpful staff.

Reviewed about 5 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad our amenities suited all your needs we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our park and strive to ensure customer comfort. Our common areas all have heaters which customers are able to turn on to keep warm, we also have a large pellet fire in the lounge which is lit in winter and on request. I have passed on your comments to our staff and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Ceri Davies's avatar

Ceri Davies

Ranking: 10/10

Super friendly staff. Lovely and picturesque with clean facilities including a good social room and kitchen.

Reviewed about 5 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for your positive feedback and for rating us so highly. I have passed on your comments to our wonderful team. Its great you had a good stay and that all our facilities meet your needs. We home to see you again in the future.

AusCampa's avatar

AusCampa

Australia

Ranking: 9/10

Great Little Park, set beside a stream with easy walks. Can walk into town, but not too close. Great amenities for our young family. Fully equipped Kitchen. Indoor & outdoor play areas. Modern & Clean Bathrooms.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for rating us so highly. It sounds like you had a great stay and made the most of our family friendly park. We hope you were able to see the glow worms and enjoy the surrounding bush walks. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Stephanie Poppe's avatar

Stephanie Poppe

Ranking: 6/10

Real small spot to pitch a tent. Close to town and very friendly hosts. Clean and good facilities free hot shower and nice cooking utilities. Too bad the communal lounge closes around 22.00.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for your feed back and for choosing to stay in our park. We have a large central grass area for tents as well as numerous grass sites. Our communal area is open from 7am and closes at 10pm as we are a family friendly park and this aides in noise reduction overnight. We hope to see you again in the future.

Mike Gornall's avatar

Mike Gornall

United Kingdom

Ranking: 7/10

Very friendly welcome and helpful lady at reception, provided lots of information. Easy bus ride into the town centre. Facilities are older but clean and the whole site is well kept. A walk from the site leads up to the glow worm caves and reservoir.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you had a great stay with us, and I have passed on your comments to the reception staff. Its nice to hear you saw the glow worms which are only a five minute walk do the Ross Creak track. I'm glad you found your site acceptable and we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the amenities. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Adam Wight's avatar

Adam Wight

Ranking: 6/10

Small site, seemed to have been filled over capacity. Easy distance from town though and clean facilities, shower, kitchen etc.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for your feedback. It has been a great summer for our very popular park and at this time of year we have been busy. I'm glad you found the facilities and location great. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kris Marinomunn's avatar

Kris Marinomunn

Ranking: 9/10

Great spot in the city, about 8 minute drive from the centre, but still in a nice green area. The facilities are well kept with good showers/toilets. A short walk up the trail gets you to the glow worms. Great experience overall.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for your review. Our peaceful park is in the perfect spot only 1km from the city center and surrounded by the Leith Stream. Its nice to hear the location was good for you and you were able to see the glow worms just across the bridge. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Mike Merrick's avatar

Mike Merrick

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

Considering this is a city camp site it's remarkably good and welcoming. A powered site was $38 with good free showers. The site is small but well organised and very clean. There is noise from the adjacent road but this isn't excessive.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for your review and for rating us so highly. Its nice to hear you found your stay good value for money. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Gethin Pearson's avatar

Gethin Pearson

Ranking: 9/10

Great facilities and friendly staff. 20 min walk into town from the site but it's peaceful and you can bag a spot next to the stream.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for your feedback. Our peaceful park is a short distance from town with public transport outside the gate and surrounded by bush walks. We hope you were able to see the glowworms during your stay. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Nell Hearle's avatar

Nell Hearle

Ranking: 8/10

This place has all the facilities with welcoming staff. We had a nice stay and would return/recommend!

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for your feedback and recommending us to others. Its great you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.

Ron Clarke's avatar

Ron Clarke

Czech Republic

Ranking: 8/10

Nestled in the city beside a fast moving stream. All amenities clean and functional. Very helpful staff. Great common room. Short walk to glow worms.
Busy spot.

Reviewed almost 6 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for your feedback. Its great you rated us so highly and enjoyed our staff and amenities. We hope to see you again in the future.

Michele's avatar

Michele

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

V nice surroundings, stream running down the back of the park and lots of trees, bush walk from the park etc. Designated spot so you can go out and know you'll be able to park in the same place when you come back. Great facilities, v clean bathrooms, showers included in price. $38 per night for 2 people on a powered site.

Reviewed over 6 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for your feedback. Its great to see you ranked us so high and enjoyed your stay. We are lucky to be located on the banks of the Leith Stream with access to bush walks and glowworms. Hope to see you again in the future.

Andrew Cattanach's avatar

Andrew Cattanach

Australia

Ranking: 7/10

We stayed two nights in a motorhome with two kids (3 & 9).

Relatively small campground with good, well maintained facilities and well located to the city centre. Facilities more than appropriate for the number of sites.

We were there in bad weather (cold and very windy) and camp ground is well protected from southerly winds.

Playground for the kids which was a bonus.

Managers friendly and helpful.

Reviewed over 6 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin responds:

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a good stay and that the kids enjoyed our playground. Hope to see you again in the future.

Sandy Goh's avatar

Sandy Goh

Singapore

Ranking: 8/10

Great amenities and the common area is cozy.

Reviewed almost 7 years ago

Bertiethebus's avatar

Bertiethebus

Ranking: 7/10

A warm welcome on Good Friday, our host equally looking forward to the Super 15 rugby match that night in Dunedin, and this site was a 20 minute walk to the rugby, and equally short walk to the streets of Dunedin itself. The site seems a bit dated compared to some, the concrete block shower blocks bristling with plastic curtains and metal shower trays, but some effort to jazz up the scene with colourful toilet seats. Facilities kept very clean, good showers, excellent swings for the kids.

Reviewed over 7 years ago

Andrew K's avatar

Andrew K

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

Good facilities, friendly staff and a pleasant (3km) walk into town. Wasn't busy at all when we stayed.

Reviewed almost 8 years ago

Kathy_a's avatar

Kathy_a

United Kingdom

Ranking: 4/10

The facilities were clean here and the park is well situated, a nice walk through the park into town. But this isn't somewhere I'd recommend for people in small campas or tents, as vehicles are crammed in together like cattle and unless your van is self contained, you'll get very little space or privacy. the kitchen is tiny and we were jostling for room. And at 24 dollars a night, it was a bit gutting to have to pay for internet on top of that! I had a great time in Dunedin itself though, wonderful city.

Reviewed almost 8 years ago

jenny's avatar

jenny

Australia

Ranking: 9/10

Very clean kitchen, showers and toilet.....staff lovely...the sound of the river running just under our campervan window was very relaxing and enjoyable...the walking path behind the park was beautiful...realy enjoyed our stay...thankyou

Reviewed almost 8 years ago

nireyor's avatar

nireyor

Singapore

Ranking: 8/10

Facilities area very cozy. Shower floor is metal and without mat, it could get slippery. Friendly staff. Beside a stream and nature but yet near to town as well.

Reviewed about 8 years ago

Lindsay Berquist's avatar

Lindsay Berquist

New Zealand

Ranking: 9/10

Very helpful & friendly staff. Amenities were spotless. Nice setting.

Reviewed over 8 years ago

Carel's avatar

Carel

Netherlands

Ranking: 7/10

Nice office manager, good information, hard work - cleaner.

Reviewed over 8 years ago and experienced in February 2012

Gillian Rowe's avatar

Gillian Rowe

Canada

Ranking: 10/10

Clean, good facilities, friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed over 8 years ago

Mirando4ka's avatar

Mirando4ka

Ukraine

Ranking: 8/10

Good and clean facilities. We were visiting on some game day and it was overcrowded.
You have to leave at 10 am, which i dont like in expensive campings (and it was expensive).

Reviewed over 8 years ago

Leith Valley Holiday Park - Dunedin is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

E Brockbank's avatar

E Brockbank

Australia

Ranking: 9/10

Excellent.

Reviewed over 9 years ago and experienced in March 2011

Tom Shemp's avatar

Tom Shemp

United Kingdom

Ranking: 3/10

Felt like we were battery farmed campervans, too many pitches for size of site.

Reviewed over 9 years ago and experienced in March 2011

Lorraine Leonard's avatar

Lorraine Leonard

New Zealand

Ranking: 7/10

Good but a bit cramped.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Raith's avatar

Raith

Germany

Ranking: 7/10

Near by the centre of Dunedin, but in green surroundings.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Teum and Orselien's avatar

Teum and Orselien

Netherlands

Ranking: 7/10

The camping was very nice but I slipped in the shower. Mental floor and soap very slippery. Put a mat in!!

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Smithy's avatar

Smithy

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

Good clean facilities. it was great for the kids had lots of things to do at the camping ground. it was great to sit around the nice warm fire when the kids were playing table tennis

Reviewed over 10 years ago

EthanSmith's avatar

EthanSmith

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

Nice and clean with friendly staff and close to everything

Reviewed over 10 years ago

jenniferuk's avatar

jenniferuk

United Kingdom

Ranking: 5/10

Too near main road and camping sites are too small. Facilities very basic.

Reviewed over 10 years ago and experienced in May 2010

deepujames's avatar

deepujames

Singapore

Ranking: 10/10

Great facilities. Stream running near to the park. Cosy atmosphere. Nice showers. Worth for money.

Reviewed over 10 years ago

nztraveller11's avatar

nztraveller11

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

Good facilities, in walking distance to town. Fantastic to have beautiful bushwalks and glow worms right at the park.

Reviewed over 10 years ago and experienced in March 2010

Angela's avatar

Angela

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

Familiar and good equipment.

Reviewed over 10 years ago

Nicky and Andy Prescott's avatar

Nicky and Andy Prescott

United Kingdom

Ranking: 9/10

Short bus into town (parking in town is expensive), nice clean amenitites and friendly staff. Plus they have board games for free and DVD player to hire.

Reviewed over 10 years ago

Geoff Renshaw's avatar

Geoff Renshaw

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

great site if you want to feel you are not in a city - but easy walk to explore Dunedin.

Reviewed over 10 years ago and experienced in November 2009

bhb's avatar

bhb

Australia

Ranking: 9/10

Beautiful, small and well managed.

Reviewed about 11 years ago

gerrys's avatar

gerrys

Australia

Ranking: 8/10

Small site, cosy, good atmosphere. Stream running beside it. 2km from town.

Reviewed over 11 years ago