Grumpy’s Geraldine Kiwi Holiday...

Reviews

Lauren's avatar

Lauren

Ranking: 10/10

Great spot! Unpowered sites big open field. Showers and washing included, dryer by donation. Kitchen/dining space large and well equipped. Free wifi and big airbag for jumping!

Reviewed 8 months ago

Sandra Forstner 's avatar

Sandra Forstner

Ranking: 10/10

Directly beside the road, has everything you need: fully equipped kitchen (also pots, pans, cutlery..) washing machine, tumble dryer, there is also as tv room and a pool (did not use it) WiFi works great!

Reviewed 9 months ago

Sandra Forstner 's avatar

Sandra Forstner

Ranking: 10/10

Directly beside the road, has everything you need: fully equipped kitchen (also pots, pans, cutlery..) washing machine, tumble dryer, there is also as tv room and a pool (did not use it) WiFi works great!

Reviewed 9 months ago

Sharon's avatar

Sharon

Ranking: 10/10

Our first time in our caravan, Grumpys was an excellent place. Very friendly, very clean.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Vicki Hoskinson's avatar

Vicki Hoskinson

Australia

Ranking: 10/10

Lovely quiet place, very clean amenities. Stayed our first night in New Zealand.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Nadja Kampfhenkel's avatar

Nadja Kampfhenkel

Australia

Ranking: 6/10

Park right next to a very busy road. Owner IS grumpy so be prepared. Rates on rankers outdated. We prepared $58 for 4 people and an unpowered site. Otherwise facilities are ok but wouldn't stay here again. We stayed at way better parks throughout NZ.

Reviewed almost 2 years ago

Grumpy’s Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park responds:

Thank you for your comments can't remember being grumpy in the past 20 years but from time to time children riding the bikes on the entrance ramps require stern words for their own protection. as to the road well you chose to park on the extreme boundry next to the road your choice in some 5 acres of the park.
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but hope you had a wonderful holiday.
Grumpy.

Rhiannon's avatar

Rhiannon

Ranking: 10/10

I was really impressed with the service and the facilities at grumpy’s. Really nice owners and really great value for money. Plus they offer a discount for Apollo RVs. The toilets and showers are really nice setup with lots of privacy and nice water pressure. Didn’t use the laundry but noticed it’s free with a donation for the dryer. Nice games room with a pool table on offer as well.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

wanchai anantikulchai's avatar

wanchai anantikulchai

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

Nice Camp site, everything including wifi free, hot showers, big kitchen. This is most vaule site. We have stay.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Grumpy’s Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Saleena Ham's avatar

Saleena Ham

Australia

Ranking: 8/10

Great facilities. No coins required for shower or laundry. Really well maintained and very clean. Fully equipped clean large common kitchen. There are showers for men and for women and one that is unisex. It may be for wheelchair access? Grumpy is quite friendly although he warned me his forst name was Very. 😁 Recommended.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Celine Galmant's avatar

Celine Galmant

Ranking: 10/10

Everything je perfect... a lot le space. bathroom very clean. Everything well organised...new washing machine and very good. The owner is very nice...

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Frank Bos's avatar

Frank Bos

Ranking: 8/10

Pros: very clean, good facilities, small swimming pool, spacious fully equipped kitchen, Large sites, hot showers. Although named grumpys, the owner is a friendly guy. Close to Geraldine.
Cons: close to the main road (although noise was not too bad), dogs allowed, pool is small and shallow.

Reviewed almost 3 years ago

Monique Keeper's avatar

Monique Keeper

Ranking: 10/10

For what it is, we give it a 10! The facilities are a bit older but still work well and it adds to the feel of the place! The owner was fantastic and all facilities worked well. We enjoyed our stay here, jumped on the internet and did our washing! This place and the owner are local and we are all for supporting a small local guy! Breaks up the trip to Christchurch and gave us a bit of down time before the hustle and bustle of a big city.

Reviewed about 3 years ago

Michael Menrath's avatar

Michael Menrath

Germany

Ranking: 4/10

Free laundry, but $1 per 10 minutes for the dryer. After $6 nothing was dry at all and we have to hang it anyway. :(((( so take your time to hang it.
The place has some potential but almost everything is old and not lovely maintained. The swimming pool was closed, tennis court and billiards table is as well very old. Kitchen is fully equipped and a lot of space, 2 BBQs are also available.
Free Wifi but kick you out for several times and takes very long to connect again. Owner is OK. Last but not least, location directly at the main road with lots of noise. We would recommend to take the nice camp ground downtown instead (same price, only wifi and laundry pay extra). Farmers market saturdays 9-12:30 is nice.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Grumpy’s Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park responds:

Well done Michael,
Obviously I cant be everything to all guests and I am disappointed with that. I suggest the dryer issue would have been able to have been sorted had you contacted myself, less of a load clean the lint out etc, but I hope that most will hang the clothes out. Swimming pool the weather dictates open or not?? Pool tables one has recently been recovered and the other is one month old. WIFI yes we are on the edge of reception and you must have had a bad day. Place is not maintained well that's a new one we try very hard to keep everything maintained at all the times . I'm happy you had a bad day with my park as that would have enabled you to enjoy the rest of your holiday.
Thank you. Grumpy.

Avoid Camping Fines!

Each camping location is approved by a regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Tony Maroulis's avatar

Tony Maroulis

Ranking: 10/10

Owner does not live up to the "Grumpy" name. Friendly and very relaxed instead! Cabins available for reasonable prices, but also plenty of open space to tent/park campervans. Everything within sight (except for dryer) is included: laundry, clothes line, WiFi, tennis courts (rackets provided), kitchen, pool table, TV access etc.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Sammy Cronin's avatar

Sammy Cronin

Ranking: 10/10

Great, not crowded place! The kitchen has it all, and I mean all. Laundry and WiFi is free of charge.

Reviewed almost 5 years ago

Yung Ok  Yoo's avatar

Yung Ok Yoo

Ranking: 8/10

Grumpy's is not the most scenic - with simple amenities, however the place was clean, quiet and very comfortable. Grumpy himself is a great character and was very generous with his amenities - 3 adults for $46 (powered site) with free wifi, clean showers and laundry (which was (surprisingly hi tech)... Grumpy's was the best value we've seen so far in the South Island!

Reviewed almost 5 years ago

Avery Wong's avatar

Avery Wong

Ranking: 10/10

Free, fast wifi! Nice kitchen area and clean bathrooms. We stayed here on our last night before flying out of Christchurch.

Reviewed almost 5 years ago

Oscar Brun Urzaiz's avatar

Oscar Brun Urzaiz

Ranking: 10/10

Owner very friendly, thanks!!! Toilets ok, shower ok, kitchen very big and clean with a lot of furniture. Wifi free. $32 for 2 people, recommend!!!

Reviewed almost 5 years ago

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Alison Cary's avatar

Alison Cary

Ranking: 9/10

Cheerful, clean and tidy. Freshly painted on my visit in October. Kiwiana feeling to facilities which I liked, green grass and trees made a nice setting next to the road. Unlimited wifi, lots of hot water in shower and powered site for my motor home made the place great value for me. Single person in a motorhome, powered site $20.

Reviewed about 5 years ago

Luis .'s avatar

Luis .

Portugal

Ranking: 7/10

Free wifi, good kitchen, and free laundry but keep away from the drying (eating coins) machine.

Reviewed about 5 years ago

Manuela Opprecht's avatar

Manuela Opprecht

Ranking: 10/10

Excellent value for money. $55 for a cabin. Everything what you need to feel at home.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Thomas Blom's avatar

Thomas Blom

Netherlands

Ranking: 7/10

Quiet camping. A little bit old. Wifi not stable. Bit overpriced. (36 dollars Powered site) . At the main road.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Claudia's avatar

Claudia

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

Really good and friendly campground. I think we paid 30$ non powered for two people and got free wifi. The kitchen is big and clean, showers are good and a big tv room.

Reviewed about 6 years ago

Grumpy’s Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Anouck Roudet's avatar

Anouck Roudet

France

Ranking: 9/10

Nice campground, very quiet, not expensive with all the facilities you need (big kitchen, laundry, nice showers and toilets.

Reviewed over 6 years ago and experienced in February 2014

Claire Storey's avatar

Claire Storey

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

Beautiful peaceful location, friendly owners, clean and hot showers, free wifi, free laundry facilities ( with the exception of dryers). Excellent value for money. Would come here again.

Reviewed almost 7 years ago

Steve's avatar

Steve

United States

Ranking: 9/10

Good facilities, ran by a man called Grumpy. Price is fair. Is close to main road, some car noise. Otherwise clean and as advertised.

Reviewed over 7 years ago

Laura vanGool's avatar

Laura vanGool

United Kingdom

Ranking: 9/10

The only campsite we have found with free internet!! Great kitchen facilities, the only negative were the showers, although hot were very small. Also free washing machines. Paid $34.

Reviewed about 8 years ago and experienced in March 2012

Remke's avatar

Remke

Germany

Ranking: 8/10

Free WIFI, free washing machines, free showers, a nice campground.

Reviewed over 9 years ago