Grumpy’s Geraldine Kiwi Holiday...


28 Rankers Reviews

3 Face-to-Face

20 Camping Grounds

16 Dump Station

4 Geraldine

  • Phone Enquiry

    • Call and discuss your needs.

    • Instant personal connection.

    • Credit card booking.

    • Further information.

    • Standard company pricing.

    • Realtime booking engine.

    • Automatic standard pricing.

    • No personal connection.


Online Maps

FREE Header

Camping NZ NEW

Welcome to New Zealand's most comprehensive database of freely available camping information. This is the only travel map of its kind in NZ.




GRUMPY'S RETREAT 'N' HOLIDAY PARK is a neat, tranquil, flat and spacious 2ha holiday park set in heartland New Zealand farming country, Orari Bridge, Geraldine only 6km/5min north of the Geraldine village.

Geraldine has an idyllic setting, with plenty of activity for adults and children alike. Enjoy top hospitality at Grumpys Retreat 'n' Holiday Park while you explore this exciting location or use as a base for your holiday. The atmosphere is like an English country village with craft shops, gourmet food and a selection of NZ clothing and art. There is an abundance of attractive parks, reserves and walkways where you can tramp, bike, horse trek or feel the thrill of rafting on the Rangitata River.

Come and enjoy a relaxing escape, fun family holiday or romantic weekend away at Grumpy's Retreat 'n' Holiday Park. There is accommodation to suit all budgets that we can advise you on, and an abundance of attractions and activities to entertain you.


Feature Value Info


South IslandCanterburyGeraldine


  • Camping Grounds
  • Dump Station


Showing 13 reviews of 28.

Lauren's avatar


Ranking: 10/10

Great spot! Unpowered sites big open field. Showers and washing included, dryer by donation. Kitchen/dining space large and well equipped. Free wifi and big airbag for jumping!

Reviewed 9 months ago

Sandra Forstner 's avatar

Sandra Forstner

Ranking: 10/10

Directly beside the road, has everything you need: fully equipped kitchen (also pots, pans, cutlery..) washing machine, tumble dryer, there is also as tv room and a pool (did not use it) WiFi works great!

Reviewed 9 months ago

Grumpy’s Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Sandra Forstner 's avatar

Sandra Forstner

Ranking: 10/10

Directly beside the road, has everything you need: fully equipped kitchen (also pots, pans, cutlery..) washing machine, tumble dryer, there is also as tv room and a pool (did not use it) WiFi works great!

Reviewed 9 months ago

Sharon's avatar


Ranking: 10/10

Our first time in our caravan, Grumpys was an excellent place. Very friendly, very clean.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Avoid Camping Fines!

Each camping location is approved by a regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Vicki Hoskinson's avatar

Vicki Hoskinson


Ranking: 10/10

Lovely quiet place, very clean amenities. Stayed our first night in New Zealand.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Nadja Kampfhenkel's avatar

Nadja Kampfhenkel


Ranking: 6/10

Park right next to a very busy road. Owner IS grumpy so be prepared. Rates on rankers outdated. We prepared $58 for 4 people and an unpowered site. Otherwise facilities are ok but wouldn't stay here again. We stayed at way better parks throughout NZ.

Reviewed almost 2 years ago

Grumpy’s Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park responds:

Thank you for your comments can't remember being grumpy in the past 20 years but from time to time children riding the bikes on the entrance ramps require stern words for their own protection. as to the road well you chose to park on the extreme boundry next to the road your choice in some 5 acres of the park.
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but hope you had a wonderful holiday.

Rhiannon's avatar


Ranking: 10/10

I was really impressed with the service and the facilities at grumpy’s. Really nice owners and really great value for money. Plus they offer a discount for Apollo RVs. The toilets and showers are really nice setup with lots of privacy and nice water pressure. Didn’t use the laundry but noticed it’s free with a donation for the dryer. Nice games room with a pool table on offer as well.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

wanchai anantikulchai's avatar

wanchai anantikulchai

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

Nice Camp site, everything including wifi free, hot showers, big kitchen. This is most vaule site. We have stay.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Saleena Ham's avatar

Saleena Ham


Ranking: 8/10

Great facilities. No coins required for shower or laundry. Really well maintained and very clean. Fully equipped clean large common kitchen. There are showers for men and for women and one that is unisex. It may be for wheelchair access? Grumpy is quite friendly although he warned me his forst name was Very. 😁 Recommended.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Celine Galmant's avatar

Celine Galmant

Ranking: 10/10

Everything je perfect... a lot le space. bathroom very clean. Everything well washing machine and very good. The owner is very nice...

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Grumpy’s Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Frank Bos's avatar

Frank Bos

Ranking: 8/10

Pros: very clean, good facilities, small swimming pool, spacious fully equipped kitchen, Large sites, hot showers. Although named grumpys, the owner is a friendly guy. Close to Geraldine.
Cons: close to the main road (although noise was not too bad), dogs allowed, pool is small and shallow.

Reviewed almost 3 years ago

Monique Keeper's avatar

Monique Keeper

Ranking: 10/10

For what it is, we give it a 10! The facilities are a bit older but still work well and it adds to the feel of the place! The owner was fantastic and all facilities worked well. We enjoyed our stay here, jumped on the internet and did our washing! This place and the owner are local and we are all for supporting a small local guy! Breaks up the trip to Christchurch and gave us a bit of down time before the hustle and bustle of a big city.

Reviewed about 3 years ago

Michael Menrath's avatar

Michael Menrath


Ranking: 4/10

Free laundry, but $1 per 10 minutes for the dryer. After $6 nothing was dry at all and we have to hang it anyway. :(((( so take your time to hang it.
The place has some potential but almost everything is old and not lovely maintained. The swimming pool was closed, tennis court and billiards table is as well very old. Kitchen is fully equipped and a lot of space, 2 BBQs are also available.
Free Wifi but kick you out for several times and takes very long to connect again. Owner is OK. Last but not least, location directly at the main road with lots of noise. We would recommend to take the nice camp ground downtown instead (same price, only wifi and laundry pay extra). Farmers market saturdays 9-12:30 is nice.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Grumpy’s Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park responds:

Well done Michael,
Obviously I cant be everything to all guests and I am disappointed with that. I suggest the dryer issue would have been able to have been sorted had you contacted myself, less of a load clean the lint out etc, but I hope that most will hang the clothes out. Swimming pool the weather dictates open or not?? Pool tables one has recently been recovered and the other is one month old. WIFI yes we are on the edge of reception and you must have had a bad day. Place is not maintained well that's a new one we try very hard to keep everything maintained at all the times . I'm happy you had a bad day with my park as that would have enabled you to enjoy the rest of your holiday.
Thank you. Grumpy.