Hahei Holiday Resort

Reviews

Maria's avatar

Maria

Ranking: 8/10

Very expensice and facilities are not great (but not bad either)... but the sea view camp sites are AWSOME.

Reviewed 7 months ago

Gareth's avatar

Gareth

Ranking: 7/10

Fantastic location and wonderful staff, great if you have kids. However if you don’t, it’s not great during summer holidays as they take the place over. Not quite our scene but for facilities and location it’s decent

Reviewed 9 months ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for the review. It's certainly paradise for kids.

L&A's avatar

L&A

Ranking: 3/10

Close to the beach but 65 eur for 2 ppl unpowered site is way to much.
Tiny kitchen for a huge campong ground, no pots or pans, shower 5min warm (that's alright in Januarys heat). Wifi not working at our site, it's at the very end of the campsite.

Reviewed 9 months ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for your review. We offer many different types of beachfront and camping sites. Depending on which site you chose and how many nights you booked the prices would vary, especially during our peak January period with multiple minimum night requirements. Our most expensive non-powered site for two people would have been $75NZD (43 euros) per night and our non-powered reserve would have been $65NZD (38 euros) per night in January for two people. The WiFi is now free and unlimited. We also look to make improvements each year and a new kitchen is on our wish list.

Bert's avatar

Bert

Ranking: 6/10

The place is ok, but for us the facilities were quite far from our site. Also the kitchen facilities were not great for such a big campground. If you want to stay in Hahei on a campground, there are not a lot of other options though.

Reviewed 10 months ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

There are four toilet blocks and a central kitchen hub. Outside of the peak January period, you can virtually choose a site where you want.

Timo's avatar

Timo

Ranking: 10/10

Absolutely nice Place. Several powered places with sea view. Beautiful Beach and in the Beat of the cathedral Cove.

Kirchen, shower and toilets are clean and well equipped.

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for the review.

Charlotte's avatar

Charlotte

Ranking: 9/10

BEAUTIFUL location! We stayed in the powered sight on the beach and it was stunning. Free wifi. Toilets and showers in fairly good condition. Showers were a bit of a walk if staying on the beach.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for your review.

Kate's avatar

Kate

Ranking: 9/10

Large holiday park but almost had it to ourselves in off season. We just made check in at 9pm! Staff were awesome and friendly. Lots of info of nearby walks etc. About an hour walk to cathedral cove along coast path. Beautiful long beach on the doorstep and a hot tub that can be rented overlooking the beach. A sunset must! Clean facilities, 6 min showers but adequate $42 for 2 people per night. Good WiFi and laundry

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for your review - we appreciate your feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed the campsite and the many nearby activities that Hahei has to offer. Sunsets along the beach are always a great delight when staying at our resort. Our staff are always happy to help in any way we can and hopefully we get to see you again some time.

Maggie's avatar

Maggie

Ranking: 8/10

We really enjoyed being so close to the water and Cathedral Cove hike! Bathrooms are a little dated, but I believe you pay for the spot!

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for your review. The convenience of having the beach right next to our campsites is always amazing. We strive in having our bathrooms and kitchens cleaned regularly but we are also always looking to make improvements each year and new bathroom facilities is in our sights.

Margie's avatar

Margie

Ranking: 7/10

Was quoted $22.50 power for one on phone then charged me $25 (in April). Nice lawn site but the furtherest away have ever been from facilities, only 1 shower block in middle of very large camp but shower was great. Facilities average & kitchenette near back field really was dirty & neglected. The beach is magnificent.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the beautiful Hahei beach. We offer many different beachfront rooms and campsites and always try to accommodate our guests in relation to location of their campsites. But depending on when you book (especially during our peak January period) the sites can be taken up very quickly. We also always try to make improvements and updating our communal kitchen facilities will be on the cards.

Stefan Miedzinski's avatar

Stefan Miedzinski

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

Nice clean place, hot shower is awesome, yummy burgers, good coffee, nice stuff, direct access to the beautiful beach, 1h walk to cathedral Cove.
Bit pricey but okay for what you get.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thank you very much for the review and hope to see you again some time.

Micaela C.'s avatar

Micaela C.

Ranking: 10/10

Overall great experience. Free 5 minute hot showers, a small amount of free wifi each day and clean facilities. Friendly and helpful staff. $23 per person, per night unpowered site. Stayed in the furthest camping area, was really nice. 15 min drive to Cathedral Cove/ Hahei.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very appreciative of your review. Hope to see you again some time.

Andy and Julia's avatar

Andy and Julia

United Kingdom

Ranking: 9/10

A second time stay here for one of us in Hahei, and it will be worth another visit. Large campground right next to absolutely stunning beach, and an hour walk Cathedral Cove, plus a short drive to hot water beach. So perfectly located. Clean toilets always close enough to the camp sites, and drinking water stations everywhere! Good size kitchen with many places to cook. Same with the showers, always available. A couple of downers, the tv room was out of action, which would of been handy on the rainy day we had there, and a fair few ants in the kitchen grabbing loose scraps. But, was free WiFi for March, good connection throughout the park, managed to watch Netflix in the evening. Staff were super friendly, really helpful for everything we needed, they pushed the score to a 9. We will be back!

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thanks for the feedback. Very delighted that you enjoyed the beach and nearby activities. The direct walk from the resort to Cathedral Cove is about 3.5 kms each way but there is a track all the way so you don't have to walk on any roads which is great. We are always striving to keep the kitchen immaculate by having it routinely cleaned three times a day.

Michael's avatar

Michael

Ranking: 6/10

We stayed three nights on a campervan site with beach view. The site was spacious, had a picnic table and a clothes line and the best view we had on a paid site so far.
The park itself is huge and the kitchen, laundry and showers are located in the middle of the park. There were additional toilets on two other locations, but it felt like everything was very far away. The facilities are old, not very good maintained, but at least clean. The playground is very small and old, we expected more from such a huge park.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Marie van Tol's avatar

Marie van Tol

Netherlands

Ranking: 8/10

Great location and beach access within a minute, but very expensive with little privacy.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Francois & Caroline 's avatar

Francois & Caroline

United Kingdom

Ranking: 7/10

A bit expensive in regards to facilities and size of the resort but close to the beach and very convenient for the walk to Cathedral Cove.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Macker's avatar

Macker

Ranking: 7/10

Expensive. Lovely site near beach but limited facilities.

Reviewed almost 2 years ago

Grizzly Girl's avatar

Grizzly Girl

Ranking: 6/10

$20 for an unpowered site. Maybe 20% of the site (or even less than that) was occupied and the woman initially put me in the worst possible unpowered place immediately across from the front entrance so every single car or van entering hit me with their headlights. I asked to be moved and she put me directly next to another campervan despite there being empty rows and entire areas of powered and unpowered sites available. Not sure what happened to ruin this lady’s day but I did not appreciate her unprofessionalism. Also the bathrooms were consistently dirty from 5pm when I used them all the way to 10am when I left the next morning. Really disappointed in this site. The only thing it has going for it is location and I am guessing that it is lovely in the summer.

Reviewed almost 2 years ago

Peter's avatar

Peter

Australia

Ranking: 9/10

Nice and quiet in May. Good facilities, three toilet blocks but only one shower block.
A bit expensive but a great beach to walk on with all the islands just of the coast. Good walk to Cathedral Cove.
Second time we have stayed here.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Michael Stützle's avatar

Michael Stützle

Germany

Ranking: 6/10

Awesome location for camping and plenty of space. It takes 1 hour to get to the Cove from here by feet. Staff could be a bit nicer and they do not have possibilities to sit inside to eat. A bit surprising for that price we've paid 26 NZD pp per night

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Bradletn's avatar

Bradletn

Ranking: 9/10

Gorgeous spot. We had a beachfront motorhome site. The night we arrived was stunning. We had a walk on the beach and amazing burgers from the on site burger place for dinner at our table overlooking the beach. Moved to a grassy site the second night as 120km winds were forecast and staff were very accommodating. Resident cat Popsie was lovely. Would def recommend.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Eversons's avatar

Eversons

Ranking: 8/10

Only came here as free car park near Cathedral cove no longer available. Very expensive but pitch was nice size. Best pitches with sea view but probably need advance booking. Lovely beach right near and you can walk to cathedral cove. Facilities ok... didn’t really warrant being most expensive night of our 31???

Reviewed over 2 years ago and experienced in February 2018

Andrew Bethell's avatar

Andrew Bethell

Ranking: 10/10

Left yesterday, having stayed for just under two weeks (including an extension on our initial booking). Very nice place, great atmosphere, and a safe space for our kids to roam about in-supervised. The beach is long, pretty quiet, has golden sands and water that’s just the right temperature for cooling off on a hot day. Very hard to find anything to grumble about here - though I would like to suggest that they consider upgrading the shower heads as the water coming out of most seems to go sideways rather than down. Perhaps by the time we return next year. ;-)

Only other issue was having my sunglasses swiped from our tent - partly my fault for leaving them unattended in the tent when it was wide open. Mainly some cretins fault though for entering what should be a safe space for my wife and young kids. Thankfully, our other valuables were locked in the car. Not a Hahei problem, but something to be wise about wherever you travel. Lesson learned!

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Christoph Sand's avatar

Christoph Sand

Ranking: 5/10

The place is simply overpriced for what it is. Paid $60 for a tent space per night. (+2% if paying with credit card). Facilities weren’t clean and need some renovation. You’re definitely paying for the location since it’s just in walking distance to cathedral cove and hot water beach is also close by. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Amy Lord's avatar

Amy Lord

Ranking: 9/10

Best location and excellent facilities! The campground is a hot spot for families so lots of kids and parties. The spots on the beach were excellent. All signs have different times to walk to Cathedral Cove from 45 minutes to 1 1/2 hours. It took about and hour from the campgrounds. It had a couple steep inclines. The water taxi was right on the beach of campgrounds for $15pp one way. We took the taxi back instead of walking both ways. Hot Water Beach was only a couple minutes drive. You could rent shovel from campground for $5 or buy one in store for $15. The town had some great restaurants. Lower rating because of the crowds - tent to tent packed!

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Helen Bond's avatar

Helen Bond

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

A little expensive,but great site with good facilities in line with cost. Bath available for mothers with babies. Quite big, but well laid out in sections. Shop and kiosk for chicken and chips on site. Direct access to beach and walk to Cathedral Cove.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Michelle Smith's avatar

Michelle Smith

Ranking: 8/10

Great experience. Told them that we wouldn't be able to arrive till after office hours which was fine so was given an email with instructions. Good size kitchen and bathrooms. Free BBQs and right on the beach!!

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Keith Salway's avatar

Keith Salway

Ranking: 10/10

Great facilities, great sea views ( from our powered site) stroll to restaurants in village, easy access to lovely beach. Clean toilets and showers. Hefty but rewarding walk along beach and cliff tops to Cathedral Cove. Really good site.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Hannah Young's avatar

Hannah Young

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

Amazing staff, were extremely helpful. We somehow lost our air bed plug and the staff gave us a spare mattress! Also the staff member that helped us suggested places to go and activities to do which was just great. 100% recommend and will go back.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

David Jague's avatar

David Jague

Ranking: 9/10

Camping certainly more expensive than average but very clean and with possibility of locations with views and access to the beach. Friendly staff and very good size pitches with drying rack. Private washer on each location.

Reviewed almost 3 years ago

Shawn Hoelsch's avatar

Shawn Hoelsch

Ranking: 10/10

We has a great stay here!! Such a convenient location, very clean and great amenities. We paid $60 per night for 2 nights for a beachfront powered site. SO WORTH IT! The quick access to the beautiful Hahei beach was amazing. We walked right from our camper along Hahei Beach and then to Cathedral Cove. Highly recommend this route vs from the car park, very beautiful ocean views along the way!

Reviewed almost 3 years ago

Courtney Howes's avatar

Courtney Howes

Ranking: 8/10

Beautiful location, great facilities, helpful and friendly customer service, would definitely love to come back and stay again!

Reviewed almost 3 years ago

Fifi and Jay's avatar

Fifi and Jay

Ranking: 9/10

Paid $50 for 2 per night for an unpowered site. Very spacious and it was busy but didn't seem packed. Showers were lovely and they have a great laundry area too. The campsites seemed to be divided up into cute lil names and we stayed in the area called Paradise. Toilets in this area were not very clean and the toilet block is very small. 1 wash basin and 4 toilets in this particular area, but more toilets near the laundry and shower Block. really close location to start the cathedral cove walk and situated right on a beautiful beach. also the walk down the beach to the right, takes you up the hill to a lookout. large kitchen and covered outdoor seating, friendly and helpful staff with an onsite shop as well. also has internet area and wifi, and a nicely decorated tree that lights up at night.
I really enjoyed our stay here, its a beautiful resort, and would definitely come back again. Stayed 2 nights.

Reviewed over 3 years ago

Will Casey's avatar

Will Casey

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

Great spot to spent a few nights! We had a powered site right by the beach (best site if your in a motorhome) with loads of space. The beach is awesome!! This place would be crazy busy in the summer (you would need to book in advance). Kitchen/bathrooms clean and tidy, with helpful staff. Only 5-10mins walk to the local shops/pub with local craft beers on tap, and starting point for Cathedral Cove walk (took us 50min to walk each way with two kids 10 & 12 years). Awesome views!! A must do!!

Reviewed over 3 years ago

Frank Hofmann's avatar

Frank Hofmann

Ranking: 10/10

Just great. Lot's of space. Clean. Great view. Great beaches. 'nuff said ;-)

Reviewed over 3 years ago

Lisa's avatar

Lisa

Ranking: 10/10

What a lovely place to stay, we had a beach front powered site, looking over the beach with a very short stroll to the beach and sea. Good facilities and coffee, pizza on site.

Reviewed over 3 years ago

Sean Cox's avatar

Sean Cox

Ranking: 10/10

Amazing! And the view....crazy awesome!

Reviewed almost 4 years ago

Murray Sutherland's avatar

Murray Sutherland

Ranking: 9/10

A big campsite and we paid $60 for a powered site for 2 people - but it was still a great stop. Very good and plentiful facilities, showers, kitchen, etc. Not too noisy where we were next to the beach but I could see it might be if you had a spot on the middle of the site. Helpful staff, immaculately clean and the beach at Hahei is amazing. Enjoy it.

Reviewed almost 4 years ago

Stuart Morgan's avatar

Stuart Morgan

Australia

Ranking: 8/10

Very friendly staff. Didn't book and came in after hours. Nothing was a problem. Great waterfront sites but the toilets are clean but tired.

Reviewed about 4 years ago

Laurie's avatar

Laurie

Ranking: 8/10

Great holiday park, preferred it over the Top 10s we've stayed at. Had a great beach view spot. 30 seconds to the water of an empty beach (off season). Easy walk to Cathedral Cove. Helped us book into the glass bottom boat (would recommend as well). Stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it thoroughly.

Reviewed about 4 years ago

Mike Guest's avatar

Mike Guest

Ranking: 8/10

Great position. Lots of space. Enjoyed our 2 night stay.

Reviewed about 4 years ago

David Elliott's avatar

David Elliott

Australia

Ranking: 9/10

Stunning location, particularly if you get a beach terrace powered site - with a stretch of grass beside the beach! Ammenities were clean and well maintained - pay for hot shower. Note that it is a big park, and it would be busy in peak season. A long walk to the small cluster of shops. However you can walk to Cathedral cave from here along the beach.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Catherine Davison's avatar

Catherine Davison

Ranking: 10/10

This place is large, it's really well set up and is a family oriented place, lots of kids riding bikes around and playing on the big tree but it's perfectly located and has everything you'd need. Friendly, helpful staff in reception. It has a pizza and burger place on site in a pop up shipping container. Easy access to the wonderful swimming beach and walk to Cathedral Cove. Showers, kitchen, laundry are fantastic. Our powered site was leafy and green and spacious even though we were there at Easter. Fantastic place.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Peter Barker's avatar

Peter Barker

Ranking: 8/10

Typical largish family orientated holiday park with all the usual facilities and direct beach access. Well located for coastal path and the 45 minute walk to Cathedral Cove. At upper end of price range (50 dollars a night for a powered pitch) but that appears to be the going rate in 2016 for good location and everything laid on. Gets busy in season and weekends, hence missing the max score.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Julia Rey's avatar

Julia Rey

Spain

Ranking: 9/10

Amazing camping due to its location and direct access to Hahei, one of the best beaches in New Zealand. We stayed mid February so very pleasant and not very busy. I suspect facilities will run short if the camping is at its busiest. I strongly recommend it as an ideal base for beach activities such as Hahei beach, Hot Water Beach, Cathedral Cove. The beach front spots are without doubt, the best.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Hahei Holiday Resort is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Steve Newton's avatar

Steve Newton

Ranking: 5/10

This site is a rip off. $90 for a camper van for 2 people is double what we have paid for better facilities elsewhere. If you can avoid do so. However, it is a great location for the beach and Cathedral Cove walk. Facilities are good but not sufficient for numbers on this large busy site. We felt the owners are exploiting their customers.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Patrick Austin's avatar

Patrick Austin

United Kingdom

Ranking: 6/10

We had our last night here after a month in Top Tens so my experiences and comparisons are tainted by that.
Firstly we arrived at 1600 and the room wasn't ready but we were offered two cappuccinos and two ice creams as the big cleaning team leapt into action. Our Large basic cabin was a mobile/portakabin office with a big fridge freezer, a very large nice oak table and 6 chairs. We had 4 bunks and a Queen size bed all of which were new and comfortable. We had the standard picnic/park table outside on a patch of sand with no shade or roof of any type.
The portakabin had a sign over the door 'Backpackers annex 1' but we paid $180 a night and stayed for 2 nights (backpackers bed rate is $16 - 6 X 16 =$96). during the afternoon it was baking hot, even when opening the patio doors and three windows the heat in the plastic/metal kept it uncomfortably hot. we had only 2 twin neon tubes as the other lights didn't work and had to hang a blanket on a window as it was missing a curtain. However the fact the cabin was stand alone means no noise from early departing neighbours.
The camp facilities seemed a little tired but coped with 500 guests although I really wonder what it would be like if full with 2000. There was a great pizzeria in a container which had nice pizzas, avg $20. The TV room only opened at 18 or 1900 which my kid wasn't happy about as it is a good place to meet other kids in the shade no games for him either.
The beaches are lovely but bear in mind it is a long walk for kids to Cathedral Cove and the tiny carpark means you take the Park & Ride to the top car park for $20 per family return.
On checking out we were asked 'everything OK' and responded with the above, a manager appeared who very nicely explained that they had taken over the park only in November and agreed on most points saying they plan to add a heat pump to cool the building and a terrace.
A day later we were pleasantly surprised to find an email with an $80 refund so judge yourself.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Hana Rachfalik's avatar

Hana Rachfalik

Ranking: 10/10

Very big family camp and really awesome! Especially because of that wonderful beach! Helpful and friendly staff. Hot showers, big kitchen, BBQs. Everything clean and tidy. Close to Hot Water Beach. We stayed here for two nights before Christmas and it was such a good relaxing time.

Reviewed almost 5 years ago

Christopher's avatar

Christopher

Germany

Ranking: 9/10

Hot free showers. Unpowered place $20 per person. Good kitchen, nice access to the beach.

Reviewed almost 5 years ago

Iwona Garczynska's avatar

Iwona Garczynska

Poland

Ranking: 8/10

Nice camping, $20 per person, unlimited shower included in the price, with direct access to a beach. At the very end of November almost empty.

Reviewed almost 5 years ago

misstassie's avatar

misstassie

Australia

Ranking: 7/10

Large, popular park, with loads of people packed in fairly tightly. A bit noisy at night and some sites are a long way from facilities. However, the location next to a fantastic beach makes it well worth it.

Reviewed over 5 years ago and experienced in January 2015

Mike Merrick's avatar

Mike Merrick

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

Very expensive site right on beach - 50$ for unpowered site, 55$ for powered and 90$ for beach front! However ideal for families with small children. Excellent clean facilities and direct safe access to a good beach.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Bert Snel's avatar

Bert Snel

Netherlands

Ranking: 9/10

Very nice camping on a beautiful beach. Near Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach.

Reviewed almost 6 years ago

Jan Legein's avatar

Jan Legein

Belgium

Ranking: 9/10

Fantastic campsite next to the beach, wow! Friendly staff, very good and clean shower, toilets and camp kitchen.

Reviewed almost 7 years ago and experienced in March 2014

Tobias Thull's avatar

Tobias Thull

Germany

Ranking: 7/10

Clean, friendly, lot of people to meet, expensive $20 for a campsite.

Reviewed over 6 years ago and experienced in February 2014

Aurelien Noailly's avatar

Aurelien Noailly

France

Ranking: 6/10

$20 per person. Well located near a beautiful beach, but expensive (few services).

Reviewed over 6 years ago and experienced in February 2014

2 tent travelers from Montreal's avatar

2 tent travelers from Montreal

Canada

Ranking: 10/10

Although this a a very big motor-camp, it was one of the best campground we had in our whole trip. Very close to the beach. You can walk to Cathedral Cove. Facilities are super clean. Very friendly staff.

Reviewed almost 7 years ago

Missy and Chaz's avatar

Missy and Chaz

United States

Ranking: 3/10

After finding no free campsites we reluctantly stayed at the holiday park. Fee were way overpriced ($40 for a campsite) with no perks or beautiful views.

Reviewed over 7 years ago and experienced in February 2013

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience. We feel that Hahei Holiday Resort is priced appropriately for the region and is on par with other camp grounds around. Our campers do have access to free hot showers and affordable WI-FI, and we do have sites with Sea Views.
Basic Campervans/Vans are not permitted to Freedom Camp on the Coromandel peninsular. One could take this as an opportunity to treat yourselves to a hot shower, internet, TV room and large kitchen.

Julian Roots's avatar

Julian Roots

United Kingdom

Ranking: 9/10

We paid extra for the sea front pitch which was a very short walk to the beach...and what a beach!! A picture perfect sub tropical pacific cove which was simply jaw dropping. The facilities were clean and tidy and were also spread about the site which was handy. Excellent reception.

Reviewed over 7 years ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Hi Julia. A huge thank you from the Team for taking the time to respond so positively. The Beach is gorgeous all year round. We look forward to seeing you again on your next big Kiwi Adventure.

Alekandra Ulm's avatar

Alekandra Ulm

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

Great location at seafront available.

Reviewed over 7 years ago and experienced in December 2012

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thank you! We really appreciate your positive feedback & look forward to seeing you again.

Philip Gibbons's avatar

Philip Gibbons

United Kingdom

Ranking: 7/10

Great location with a short walk along the river to the beach. Close to cathedral cove too...bit pricey, but that is standard for all the main holiday parks

Reviewed over 7 years ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thank you for your feedback, and taking the time to respond. We agree, the location doesn't get much better! Our rates do vary with the Seasons.

Will and Taylor's avatar

Will and Taylor

Canada

Ranking: 5/10

Tent city.

Rather disappointing.

We paid $54 for two people per night for a non-powered campsite.

Facilities closed early. Tons of kids. Campsites were elbow-to-elbow...we felt like we were squished into Hahei Holiday "Resort" like sardines.

On the bright side - close to the beach, a good location to walk to Cathedral Cove, hot showers, decent kitchen facilities, and helpful staff.

Reviewed over 7 years ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Peak Season (December/January) at Hahei Holidays Resort, along with most other New Zealand camp grounds, is the busiest time of our year because it is Summer and School Holidays. Families get together with friends met from many years of Camping. A more preferable time for your visit may have been outside of Peak Season which is reflected in the rates, and capacity of the camp. We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay.

1246km's avatar

1246km

Australia

Ranking: 4/10

After the tranquility of the west Coromandel it came as a shock to arrive here. Elbow-to-elbow large groups and 4WDs packed into small sites gave the impression of a camping shanty town.

We paid twice as much per night here as we had at Coromandel, and paid even more to get an 'oceanfront' van site up on the hill. Ocean view was obscured by scrub but at least it got us out of the tent city. Shame about the permanent van next door with the flashing fairy lights.

Still, it was handy to walk onto the beach and walk to the kayaking departure.

Reviewed over 7 years ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

We're sorry your experience wasn't completely positive. The Beach-front sites are a popular choice for Caravans and Campervans. The proximity to the beach is unbeatable, and the extra perks of spring-water, picnic tables, and a clothesline are often welcomed. Many families congregate to Hahei for their Summer Holidays making our Resort one of the most popular holiday destinations. By the beginning of February, when schools have gone back, you'll find a more relaxed atmosphere.

Jim and JoAnn Harllee's avatar

Jim and JoAnn Harllee

United States

Ranking: 10/10

Great location and nice site!

Reviewed almost 8 years ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

We really appreciate you taking the time to comment, and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.

Lutz Huuemorder's avatar

Lutz Huuemorder

Germany

Ranking: 8/10

On the beach, direct access.

Reviewed almost 8 years ago

Hahei Holiday Resort responds:

Thank you for your comment. We just can't get much closer to the beach!

Rob Klauer's avatar

Rob Klauer

Netherlands

Ranking: 9/10

Beautiful beach, laid back atmoshphere and a great location!

Reviewed about 8 years ago and experienced in March 2012

Ralf Glaser's avatar

Ralf Glaser

Germany

Ranking: 9/10

Beautiful beachside location, perfect to start a tour (one hour walk) to Cathedral Cove.

Reviewed about 8 years ago and experienced in February 2012

Jonathan Tuthill's avatar

Jonathan Tuthill

United Kingdom

Ranking: 7/10

Great location if on beach front sites otherwise for majority of sites view/location wouls be a let down if seen advertising on internet.

Reviewed about 8 years ago and experienced in March 2012

Avoid Camping Fines!

Each camping location is approved by a regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Shain Herbert's avatar

Shain Herbert

United States

Ranking: 9/10

Good facilities, stones throw to the beach. Worth paying up slightly for the ocean view.

Reviewed about 8 years ago and experienced in March 2012

Susanne A's avatar

Susanne A

Germany

Ranking: 8/10

Nice, clean, expensive internet, close to a nice beach, paid $19 - too expensive.

Reviewed about 8 years ago and experienced in March 2012

suemax's avatar

suemax

United Kingdom

Ranking: 9/10

We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather out of season! We stayed in our camper van with a friend and her son in a tent next to us. The setting is glorious with instant access to the beach, straight over the dunes (no road). The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The facilities were clean, but a little tired.

Reviewed over 8 years ago and experienced in April 2012

Janet's avatar

Janet

England

Ranking: 8/10

Lovely position, but facilities looking a little jaded.

Reviewed over 8 years ago and experienced in February 2012

Markus Heummer's avatar

Markus Heummer

Germany

Ranking: 8/10

Simply good.

Reviewed over 8 years ago and experienced in February 2012

Preben vil Helmsen's avatar

Preben vil Helmsen

Denmark

Ranking: 9/10

Near the Cathdral Cave, beautiful surroundings, good cabins, little expensive.

Reviewed over 8 years ago and experienced in February 2012

Nout de Wit's avatar

Nout de Wit

Netherlands

Ranking: 7/10

Beach views, seaside sites and hot water beach nearby.

Reviewed over 8 years ago and experienced in February 2012

Maria Dietrich's avatar

Maria Dietrich

Switzerland

Ranking: 8/10

Beautiful location.

Reviewed over 8 years ago and experienced in February 2012

joules1000's avatar

joules1000

New Zealand

Ranking: 6/10

Great location next to a fantastic beach. Place looking a little tired and an expensive camping ground.

Reviewed over 8 years ago

Christian & Julia's avatar

Christian & Julia

Germany

Ranking: 9/10

Close to beach, clean, spacious sites for large campervans.

Reviewed over 8 years ago

Stephan Wolter's avatar

Stephan Wolter

Germany

Ranking: 9/10

Great luxury site on the top of teh beach; just 10m walk to the beach.

Reviewed over 8 years ago

Ryan Pynappels's avatar

Ryan Pynappels

Netherlands

Ranking: 9/10

Very nice receptionist (older lady). Nice place at the beach, toilets and showers were very clean and smelt really nice!

Reviewed over 8 years ago

Rachel's avatar

Rachel

United States

Ranking: 7/10

We slept here for only one night, slept in a caravan which was a bit old. Nice location nearby the beach.

Reviewed over 8 years ago

Remy van Heugten's avatar

Remy van Heugten

Netherlands

Ranking: 4/10

We came in late, the person on staff was clearly disturbed of his meal, not friendly at all. We paid $116 for a smelly, old, crappy caravan.

Reviewed over 8 years ago

Lilja Bjork Hermannsdottir's avatar

Lilja Bjork Hermannsdottir

Iceland

Ranking: 1/10

Stingy man. Felt as if he took advantage of our late arrival, due to a very fully booked town and we got confused by the signs! All B & B ful. A crappy, unclean caravan is what we got!

Reviewed over 8 years ago

Willem & Lilian's avatar

Willem & Lilian

Netherlands

Ranking: 7/10

Beautiful near the beach, clean NZD$92 - 4 persons, not really value for money.

Reviewed over 8 years ago and experienced in November 2011

Manuela Zimmerti's avatar

Manuela Zimmerti

Switzerland

Ranking: 9/10

A cool small camping place. Top BBQ and very clean.

Reviewed over 8 years ago and experienced in November 2011

Gerard Crothers's avatar

Gerard Crothers

Australia

Ranking: 9/10

Fantastic views - nice campground.

Reviewed over 8 years ago and experienced in November 2011

Ross Cooke's avatar

Ross Cooke

Australia

Ranking: 8/10

Office staff need to lighten up - but probably best views of any park stayed at.

Reviewed over 8 years ago and experienced in November 2011

Cornelia & Josef's avatar

Cornelia & Josef

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

Site directly on the beach front with a beautiful view of the ocean and islets. Very quiet and peaceful.

Reviewed over 8 years ago and experienced in November 2011

Theresa's avatar

Theresa

Germany

Ranking: 9/10

Good location, good view, good facilities.

Reviewed over 8 years ago and experienced in November 2011

Waldemar Schuler's avatar

Waldemar Schuler

Germany

Ranking: 9/10

Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach nearby.

Reviewed over 8 years ago and experienced in November 2011

Caroline & Jochen's avatar

Caroline & Jochen

Germany

Ranking: 3/10

Loud, crowded and expensive.

Reviewed over 9 years ago and experienced in February 2011

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Helen Evans's avatar

Helen Evans

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

Reasonable campsite right on the beach, a bit overpriced.

Reviewed over 9 years ago and experienced in March 2011

Jason & Beth Berlin's avatar

Jason & Beth Berlin

Canada

Ranking: 9/10

Amazing views, older facility but very helpful staff.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Dirk Van Den Berg's avatar

Dirk Van Den Berg

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

Campground direct to the beach, amazing view.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Michael Messuie's avatar

Michael Messuie

Germany

Ranking: 9/10

Very beautiful location directly behind a marvelous beach.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Jackie MacRostie's avatar

Jackie MacRostie

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

Lovely location.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Faye Cox's avatar

Faye Cox

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

2mins to beach, good walks, good facilities.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Kurmann/Kayser's avatar

Kurmann/Kayser

Switzerland

Ranking: 9/10

Wonderfully located, enough facilities.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Michel Op't Landt's avatar

Michel Op't Landt

Netherlands

Ranking: 8/10

Facilities and surrondings were good, but internet access was crappy.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Chamton's avatar

Chamton

Switzerland

Ranking: 2/10

Too big, too dirty.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

David and Karin's avatar

David and Karin

Austria

Ranking: 10/10

Great campsites along the beach. Affordable prices.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Wouter Teensma's avatar

Wouter Teensma

Netherlands

Ranking: 9/10

Stayed in a cabin. Very good facilities (cooking, laundry) great location near the beach.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Trov & Liz Warren's avatar

Trov & Liz Warren

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

Booked a kayak trip to Cathedral Cove, another great day out with our guide Hayden.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

David's avatar

David

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

By the beach, paid for sea views.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Matthew's avatar

Matthew

England

Ranking: 9/10

Amazing beachfront location, you could hear the waves crashing in as you slept.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Campfans's avatar

Campfans

New Zealand

Ranking: 1/10

Didn't get a chance to stay there. We were looking to book 2 sites for 2 weeks and they flatly refused to confirm a reservation. Not prepared to drive 6 hours to take pot luck on site availability so we'll take our $1200+ elsewhere! Their email communications were unhelpful to the point of being downright rude. Won't ever be going there!

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Mikeminch's avatar

Mikeminch

United Kingdom

Ranking: 9/10

We had a fantastic beach view site and it was only $44. The site was quiet but all wash room facilities were open. We liked the location and enjoyed the walk along to Cathedral Cove.

Reviewed almost 10 years ago

BigSis's avatar

BigSis

Singapore

Ranking: 4/10

It was off season - toilets weren't very clean, showers looked uninviting and BBQs were filthy and they weren't putting the lights on over most of the site because there weren't many people, but they were still charging peak season rates! It was too expensive for what it was - $61 for a seaview power site - the only thing that was worth it was the view.

They didn't have the toilets open near the seaview sites and those were the only ones that were occupied at this time of year.

It was the most expensive site we stayed on and it wasn't a patch on the Top 10s.

Reviewed about 10 years ago

David's avatar

David

United Kingdom

Ranking: 7/10

Good location, good beach, kitchen could be better.

Reviewed about 10 years ago and experienced in May 2010

Rob's avatar

Rob

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

Very good location, good showers.

Reviewed about 10 years ago and experienced in May 2010

kempt's avatar

kempt

Australia

Ranking: 8/10

Beautiful beachside campground. Amazing place to catch a sunrise or sunset.

Reviewed over 10 years ago

Venot's avatar

Venot

France

Ranking: 8/10

Crowded camping. Unbelievable scenery and beach!! This is your first stop after Auckland to the south.

Reviewed over 10 years ago

eowyn2k's avatar

eowyn2k

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

If you get a sea view camper spot you wont want to leave. Hahei beach is beautiful. There are kayak trips and a few bars/restaurants a short walk away. Close to Hot Water Beach. Wifi available near reception and very friendly.

Reviewed over 10 years ago and experienced in November 2009

EelcoK's avatar

EelcoK

Netherlands

Ranking: 8/10

Right at the beach, good facilities, clean

Reviewed over 10 years ago and experienced in February 2009

Hahei Holiday Resort is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

RichardE's avatar

RichardE

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

Excellent site, very clean, good price, amazing location.

Reviewed over 10 years ago and experienced in February 2009

DaveV's avatar

DaveV

Australia

Ranking: 9/10

Very good.

Reviewed over 10 years ago and experienced in March 2009

AnneliesK's avatar

AnneliesK

Netherlands

Ranking: 6/10

Beautiful location and all facilities are there, but our site was small and quite busy and 2 of the 3 internet - pc's were broken

Reviewed over 10 years ago and experienced in February 2009

ZimmermannA's avatar

ZimmermannA

Netherlands

Ranking: 4/10

Dirty, neglected.

Reviewed over 10 years ago and experienced in February 2009

david's avatar

david

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

Great location and very good facilities.

Reviewed over 10 years ago and experienced in February 2009

Jakob Pedersen's avatar

Jakob Pedersen

Denmark

Ranking: 9/10

Location, location, location. Stunning beach views good location for exploring the area. Facilities not as good quality as seen on the other camp sites, therefore not ranked 10.

Reviewed over 10 years ago

Hans & Huxi's avatar

Hans & Huxi

Denmark

Ranking: 9/10

Great location right on the beach. Great atmosphere. Great!

Reviewed over 10 years ago

Gail Mckinstry's avatar

Gail Mckinstry

Ireland

Ranking: 10/10

friendly well run site right beside a fantastic beach and a good starting point for the cathedral cove walk

Reviewed over 10 years ago

Hans Hoff's avatar

Hans Hoff

Germany

Ranking: 9/10

beachfront sites

Reviewed over 10 years ago and experienced in November 2009

Belinda Godhard's avatar

Belinda Godhard

Australia

Ranking: 2/10

$40 for a spot in a paddock nowhere near the facilities, what a rip off. A beautiful town and beach but suggest you find somewhere quiet on the side of the road to stay.

Reviewed over 10 years ago

Lamb's avatar

Lamb

United Kingdom

Ranking: 1/10

Advertising itself as a ''Super Campervan Site'' It was new, poorly designed, the toilet block were to 1950 standard, most expensive. DO Not Go.

Reviewed over 10 years ago

Becky's avatar

Becky

New Zealand

Ranking: 8/10

Beautiful beaches and walks close by. Large campground right onbeach, however no local supermarkets.

Reviewed over 10 years ago

Martÿn Steenvoorden's avatar

Martÿn Steenvoorden

Netherlands

Ranking: 5/10

The super sea view campervan sites are good, but the high prices and poor facilities stick with you the longest.

Reviewed over 10 years ago

Bernard Misfud's avatar

Bernard Misfud

France

Ranking: 9/10

Perfectly located

Reviewed over 10 years ago and experienced in November 2009

Debbie Rathbone's avatar

Debbie Rathbone

United Kingdom

Ranking: 1/10

Had clothes stolen x 7 people. No contact via phone or email from the place to even apologise. Told safe to hang clothes on the line.

Reviewed over 10 years ago and experienced in November 2009

Ulyate's avatar

Ulyate

South Africa

Ranking: 8/10

Right on the beach, Cathedral Cove access, good facilities , recommended!

Reviewed over 10 years ago and experienced in November 2009

Roeder Grit's avatar

Roeder Grit

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

Try to get one of the sea-view power sites right in front of the beach.

Reviewed over 10 years ago and experienced in November 2009

usigmund's avatar

usigmund

Germany

Ranking: 7/10

Great views.

Reviewed over 10 years ago

olafrick's avatar

olafrick

Australia

Ranking: 6/10

Good location near the beach but not ON the beach. There are a few "hill sites" closer to the beach but they were all booked out. Facilities are average. There is only one shower block for the whole place and it gets pretty busy in summer.

Reviewed over 10 years ago

deanlaw's avatar

deanlaw

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

This campground has views of the beach with great facilities and friendly people - need to book early though as the best sites fill up quickly!

Reviewed over 10 years ago

Emma Coltman's avatar

Emma Coltman

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

Great location on beach, very relaxed. Friendly owners.

Reviewed almost 11 years ago

annett's avatar

annett

Germany

Ranking: 9/10

Campground is right on the beach.

Reviewed almost 11 years ago

lannie's avatar

lannie

Netherlands

Ranking: 4/10

Very expensive. Facilities old and dirty. Service poor. They only get a 4 because of the good internet facilities.

Reviewed over 11 years ago