Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park

79%

Details

59 Rankers Reviews

5 Face-to-Face

77 Camping Grounds

85 Dump Station

11 Russell

Maps

Photos

Rare North Island weka roam free around the park
Site for tents, caravans & campervans.
Immerse yourself in nature.
Tipi - overlooking Orongo Bay
Share stories & star gaze around the campfire.

Information

When you stay with us, you’ll be immersed in a natural playground, see rare North Island weka and pateke roam free around the park and you may even have the chance to see brown kiwi in the surrounding native bush.

Wake up to the sound of native birds, hear the call of the kiwi at night as you gaze at the star filled sky or sit around the camp fire. It’s the perfect setting to make memories as nature intended!  
 
You’ll have the best of both worlds when you stay with us. We’re set amongst 14 acres of native New Zealand bush and only minutes away from the centre of Russell and Oneroa Bay one of the many gorgeous beaches. 
 
We are the perfect location for families, large groups or couples to have a relaxing and fun filled holiday with affordable accommodation to suit any budget.
We have a range of self-contained options including a cottage, holiday house, bungalows and bay view cabins, ranging from studio up to 3 bedroom. Many with their own private deck to relax and watch the wildlife go by or the magical sunsets over Orongo Bay. The tipi and sites for tents, caravans and campervans are all set amongst our gorgeous native bush setting. Our cabins are a great budget option making use of the shared facilities. The lodge is fully equipped to accommodate large groups of over 60 people with purpose built kitchen, dining and lounge areas.

We have everything you need for a hassle-free holiday including a swimming pool, wood fired pizza oven, campfire and our very own kiwi trail through native bush - if you’re lucky you may even see a kiwi! And there is complimentary parking for all guests.

Take the short 5min drive to discover the stories, history and heritage of Russell, a romantic and charming town and the first capital of New Zealand. 
There are so many fantastic things to see and do in the area including cycling, fishing, walking, dining, golden beaches and historic sites, all only a few minutes drive from the park. Our location provides a central base to explore the stunning Bay of Islands. Make the most of our complimentary tours and activities booking service onsite with our friendly, knowledgeable staff. 
 
Book with us and a portion of what you pay will support our efforts to save endangered wildlife and ecosystems within our predator free holiday park.  

When you are here you can’t help but take in the sights and sounds of nature and the abundant wildlife making a stay with us a truly unique experience. 

Learn more…

Details

Feature Value Info

Location

North IslandNorthlandRussell

Categories

  • Dump Station
  • Backpackers
  • Camping Grounds

Contact

Calllocal

Accommodations

Reviews

Showing 13 reviews of 59.

Jennifer's avatar

Jennifer

Ranking: 2/10

52 for one person - and not even a cold shower is included. Definitely the worst camping I did so far. And not worth the money at all.

Reviewed 8 months ago

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park responds:

Hi Jennifer, we do have single person special pricing available so we apologise if you were charged for 2 people - booking online automatically does this. If you had raised it during your stay we would have been more than happy to refund you to a single person rate. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We have nice hot showers but we do limit water take by charging for shower times at peak periods as we are on tank water that is naturally sourced from a waterfall and we are subject to council water take limits so we want to make sure there is enough hot water to go around. Off peak times we offer free hot showers wherever possible. We wish you all the best.

Carys's avatar

Carys

Ranking: 10/10

I would highly recommend this campsite and cannot wait to return! Had the best time here and was actually sad to leave. The owners James and Tori are the loveliest couple you will ever meet with a beautiful family! Great swimming pool to relax in and the facilities are spot on! Great kitchen full of utensils and even has a pizza oven and fish smokery. The showers were good strength and hot. Thanks for the great stay!

Reviewed 11 months ago

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Sam's avatar

Sam

Ranking: 10/10

$19pp for unpowered site in May. Friendly staff - amazing location.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Josie's avatar

Josie

Ranking: 9/10

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Clean showers and bathrooms and the kitchens had everything we needed. We were lucky to be there during the kiwi mating season so they were very active. You could go out around midnight and take a stroll in their territory.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Dirk's avatar

Dirk

Ranking: 8/10

Nice campsite, close to Russell. Facilities are somewhat older, but the showers are nice and hot. Lovely owners who helpt us a great deal when we need to go to the hospital!

Reviewed over 1 year ago and experienced in November 2018

Franz's avatar

Franz

Ranking: 4/10

It would be a nice place, but way to expensive.
If i have to pay 55$ for a site with power and then an extra 2$ for shower and extra for wifi that's to much.

Wouldn't come again.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Avoid Camping Fines!

Each camping location is approved by a regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Markus's avatar

Markus

Ranking: 10/10

Nothing to complain.
Great area, great KIWI WALKS, many birds, good facilities.

Reviewed almost 2 years ago

Sarah's avatar

Sarah

Ranking: 10/10

Our Playcentre was in need of a family friendly getaway. We all booked accommodation to best suit our individual needs and enjoyed meeting at the communal spots throughout our 3 day visit. We did campfires complete with Maori songs, stories, and of course marshmellow roasting, we built a whare, went for a kiwi walk, playground, swimming and the kids explored bush making huts of their own. We had such a lot of fun, this is now to become an annual tradition! See you next year Orongo Bay!!

Reviewed almost 2 years ago

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Meg's avatar

Meg

Ranking: 10/10

Stayed at Orongo a few weekends back, the new owners are lovely and friendly, and the cabin I stayed in was warm and cmfortable. The setting is lovely and is perfect for families. A few minutes from town and they are also eco friendly, recycling and composting facilities available! Will be back

Reviewed about 2 years ago

Martina Horn's avatar

Martina Horn

Ranking: 10/10

Beautiful campsite, including pool, BBQ area and good, very clean facilities.
Staff are welcoming and friendly! Also they will tell you about good spots for possible kiwi and Weka encounters. Very close driving distance to Russell. So no problem if you are booked on an early boat trip from Russell. All in all great holiday park- we would definitely stay here once again.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Emma Guthrie's avatar

Emma Guthrie

Ranking: 8/10

Classic campground, quiet when we were there. Older facilities but free hot showers. Friendly office staff too. Very close to Russell, 5min drive. Can hear kiwis on a clear night if you’re nearer the back of the campground.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Leonie Scholten's avatar

Leonie Scholten

Ranking: 8/10

Nice camping but a bit expensive for the winter season ($40,- powered campsite, two adults). Part of the toilets and showers were closed due to the season. No free wifi. Kitchen is very basic.

Reviewed about 3 years ago

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Leonie, we hope you enjoyed your time in Russell and the Bay of Islands. We are competitively priced and pride ourselves on being the best value Holiday Park in Russell. During winter months we close one of our amenity blocks in order to reduce water usage and waste and manage energy efficiency which minimises our impact on the environment. Whilst we don't offer free WiFi it is available from as little as $2 per day. The kitchen has fridge-freezers, oven, microwave, toasters and kettles. Kitchenware is available to hire for a small charge. We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to review. Kind Regards, The Team, Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park

Mike Hopkins's avatar

Mike Hopkins

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

My family and I stayed here for a few days and it was a welcome change to the more manufactured parks such as top 10. Great space and wonderful amenities in a lovely location. What's more you got the feeling that the owners actually cared about the place and their guests - pure NZ!

Reviewed about 3 years ago and experienced in January 2017

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park responds:

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our unique and special Park. We offer spacious sites, a wood fired pizza oven and camp fire, native bush walks and the opportunity to interact with rare bird life, including kiwi and North Island weka, in their natural environment, so we agree that we are not your average Holiday Park! We hope to see you again soon Mike! Kind Regards, The Team, Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park