Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park

Reviews

Sam's avatar

Sam

Ranking: 10/10

$19pp for unpowered site in May. Friendly staff - amazing location.

Reviewed 4 months ago

Josie's avatar

Josie

Ranking: 9/10

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Clean showers and bathrooms and the kitchens had everything we needed. We were lucky to be there during the kiwi mating season so they were very active. You could go out around midnight and take a stroll in their territory.

Reviewed 4 months ago

Dirk's avatar

Dirk

Ranking: 8/10

Nice campsite, close to Russell. Facilities are somewhat older, but the showers are nice and hot. Lovely owners who helpt us a great deal when we need to go to the hospital!

Reviewed 7 months ago and experienced in November 2018

Franz's avatar

Franz

Ranking: 4/10

It would be a nice place, but way to expensive.
If i have to pay 55$ for a site with power and then an extra 2$ for shower and extra for wifi that's to much.

Wouldn't come again.

Reviewed 8 months ago

Markus's avatar

Markus

Ranking: 10/10

Nothing to complain.
Great area, great KIWI WALKS, many birds, good facilities.

Reviewed 10 months ago

Sarah's avatar

Sarah

Ranking: 10/10

Our Playcentre was in need of a family friendly getaway. We all booked accommodation to best suit our individual needs and enjoyed meeting at the communal spots throughout our 3 day visit. We did campfires complete with Maori songs, stories, and of course marshmellow roasting, we built a whare, went for a kiwi walk, playground, swimming and the kids explored bush making huts of their own. We had such a lot of fun, this is now to become an annual tradition! See you next year Orongo Bay!!

Reviewed 10 months ago

Meg's avatar

Meg

Ranking: 10/10

Stayed at Orongo a few weekends back, the new owners are lovely and friendly, and the cabin I stayed in was warm and cmfortable. The setting is lovely and is perfect for families. A few minutes from town and they are also eco friendly, recycling and composting facilities available! Will be back

Reviewed about 1 year ago

Martina Horn's avatar

Martina Horn

Ranking: 10/10

Beautiful campsite, including pool, BBQ area and good, very clean facilities.
Staff are welcoming and friendly! Also they will tell you about good spots for possible kiwi and Weka encounters. Very close driving distance to Russell. So no problem if you are booked on an early boat trip from Russell. All in all great holiday park- we would definitely stay here once again.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Emma Guthrie's avatar

Emma Guthrie

Ranking: 8/10

Classic campground, quiet when we were there. Older facilities but free hot showers. Friendly office staff too. Very close to Russell, 5min drive. Can hear kiwis on a clear night if you’re nearer the back of the campground.

Reviewed over 1 year ago

Top Ranked NZ Deals Pass

Access savings worth hundreds of $$ on Top Ranked NZ Accommodation and Activities for just $1 per day.

Get deals pass

Leonie Scholten's avatar

Leonie Scholten

Ranking: 8/10

Nice camping but a bit expensive for the winter season ($40,- powered campsite, two adults). Part of the toilets and showers were closed due to the season. No free wifi. Kitchen is very basic.

Reviewed about 2 years ago

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park responds:

Thanks for your review Leonie, we hope you enjoyed your time in Russell and the Bay of Islands. We are competitively priced and pride ourselves on being the best value Holiday Park in Russell. During winter months we close one of our amenity blocks in order to reduce water usage and waste and manage energy efficiency which minimises our impact on the environment. Whilst we don't offer free WiFi it is available from as little as $2 per day. The kitchen has fridge-freezers, oven, microwave, toasters and kettles. Kitchenware is available to hire for a small charge. We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to review. Kind Regards, The Team, Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park

Mike Hopkins's avatar

Mike Hopkins

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

My family and I stayed here for a few days and it was a welcome change to the more manufactured parks such as top 10. Great space and wonderful amenities in a lovely location. What's more you got the feeling that the owners actually cared about the place and their guests - pure NZ!

Reviewed about 2 years ago and experienced in January 2017

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park responds:

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our unique and special Park. We offer spacious sites, a wood fired pizza oven and camp fire, native bush walks and the opportunity to interact with rare bird life, including kiwi and North Island weka, in their natural environment, so we agree that we are not your average Holiday Park! We hope to see you again soon Mike! Kind Regards, The Team, Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park

Andy Bond's avatar

Andy Bond

Ranking: 10/10

The name 'holiday park' at first put us off but after reading the reviews decided to try it as freedom camping in the area is not easy. Well what an amazing site, quiet and relaxed, well OK apart from bird noise. Great site, nice pitches when we stayed it was just after the bank holiday and the place was empty. Great location ideal for sea kayaking, Russell has a bar with live music.

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park responds:

Thank you for the great feedback Andy. We're glad that you enjoyed the quiet and restorative setting and hope you left us feeling rested and revived. Over 55 species of birds make the Park their home and we agree the Park can come alive with their calls! It's great to see that you made the most of your time here, we are a great base for exploring all that is on offer in the Bay of Islands. Kind Regards, The Team at Russell- Orongo Bay Holiday Park

Julia Krysiak's avatar

Julia Krysiak

United Kingdom

Ranking: 9/10

I love staying in places where the owners are passionate about what they're doing, and about looking after the landscape that surrounds them. That is exactly what Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park is. Travelling through New Zealand as a sole female traveller, the owner, Angela, couldn't have made me feel more welcome or looked after. Aside from being a fountain of local knowledge, Angela was extremely kind and gentle, and made you feel so much more than just "another customer". The personal feel of the place was what I loved about my stay above all. Apart from that, the Holiday Park is on the fringes of some extremely beautiful bays and drives, a five minute drive from the stunning town of Russell, there are hikes to go on just off the site, and the facilities are simple, but clean and eco-friendly. Perfect. I stayed in one of the glamping tents and I would really recommend the Holiday Park as a place to stay for anyone. Thank you so much to Angela for such a lovely stay!

Reviewed over 2 years ago

marion's avatar

marion

Ranking: 10/10

Very nice place. Well kept and friendly. I liked very much the 'environmentally aware' attitude of the owners. The kids loved the pool which was very clean and a great size.
We had a great time. :)

Reviewed over 2 years ago

Hannah Noble's avatar

Hannah Noble

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

We totally loved our stay - the highlights would be the pizza oven, the bird calls, seeing the stars when star gazing with the kids... Never mind the laid back, peaceful atmosphere and gorgeous scenery. The facilities are clean, tidy and just what we needed - flat campervan parks too which is always a bonus! We'll totally be back.

Reviewed almost 3 years ago

Nick Mossman's avatar

Nick Mossman

Ranking: 7/10

A pleasant park. 5 minutes drive to Russell. Nice outdoor BBQ areas (summer). Was a bit muddy when we visited in winter.

Reviewed about 3 years ago

Janneke Hekhuis's avatar

Janneke Hekhuis

Netherlands

Ranking: 9/10

The campsite is lovely and in a good location near Russell. The facilities are very good and it's a nice and quiet place, except the chicken and weka's :-). We tried to spot some Kiwi at night but the best place to spot them was a fireplace with noisy people. So the Kiwi stayed away. Overall highly recommended.

Reviewed over 3 years ago

Run2016's avatar

Run2016

New Zealand

Ranking: 8/10

A relaxed holiday park that is surrounded with native birds. Hearing kiwi all night and day was wonderful. Unfortunately we didn't manage to see any this time, although the bush track is neat to do for the whole family.
Wonderful to have a swimming pool available. Very refreshing in the hot summer sun, more shade/cover would mean the area would get more use.

Excellent free range eggs for sale and book exchange available. A lot of foreign tourists/backpackers are staying so lots of great conversations had.

The pizza oven was a huge hit and a great place to meet everyone.
I hear they will be planting a herb garden near it so those pizzas will taste even better.

The staff are wiling to listen and welcome suggestions. A hot water zip, non slip mats in the kitchen, a herb garden, and lemon trees are planned for 2016!

Reviewed over 3 years ago

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

Hana Rachfalik's avatar

Hana Rachfalik

Ranking: 10/10

One of the best camps! Very nice and helpful owners, clean facilities, big kitchen and TV room, free hot showers. We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed it.

Reviewed almost 4 years ago

Anne Hirsch's avatar

Anne Hirsch

Ranking: 8/10

Stayed there for two nights at the end of November - $25 per person (powered). It's a really nice and quiet place with a lot of nature and wild birds around. At night you can go for a walk to see some kiwis. Good and clean facilities. The owners are very friendly. You can even buy some very fresh eggs from the chicken running around.

Reviewed almost 4 years ago

Michael Ohnemus's avatar

Michael Ohnemus

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

A lovely place with everything you need to relax. Pretty good quality of equipment, maintained carefully.
Nice free range chickens (eggs are sold!), many birds, plenty of space (at least in November).
Distance to the city of Russell (which is lovely as well, not so busy as most other touristic places) is approx 2 km.
Very recommendable!

Reviewed almost 4 years ago and experienced in January 2015

Sarah Gurney's avatar

Sarah Gurney

Ranking: 9/10

Lovely campsite just outside of Russell. It was very quiet when we visited (October) and when we arrived we were greeted by chickens which made our son's day :) the trampoline was also a big hit. The powered pitches were on grass. We walked into Russell which took about 45 minutes each way. It cost $42 for two of us and the baby which was a bit pricey but overall very nice.

Reviewed almost 4 years ago

Anne-G. G's avatar

Anne-G. G

France

Ranking: 9/10

Good value (16$/d/p). A very big and very nice place to stay in the Bay of Islands. The campground is huge, with big open places - and very nice hidden and shaded tent sites also if you like it better. Facilities are a bit old but well maintained, just as the lawn - so comfortable if you're intent! Full of wildlife here, we even spotted up to eight colorful native parrots that we had never seen before in two months travelling NZ. The owner is very friendly and knows what's worth doing around).

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Addy Willcock's avatar

Addy Willcock

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

Came here with our family for birthday. Had a lovely time. Accommodation was nice and clean and the managers went out of their way to advise us on things to do. Kids loved the park and the wildlife

Reviewed over 4 years ago and experienced in March 2015

Ally Cook's avatar

Ally Cook

United Kingdom

Ranking: 6/10

Nice but do not tell them you like freedom camping!! They won't like it much.

Reviewed over 4 years ago and experienced in December 2014

Inga Hinnerichsen's avatar

Inga Hinnerichsen

Canada

Ranking: 10/10

Up close and personal with Nature and Wildlife! We enjoyed a couple of days at this beautiful, quiet campground sharing our site with a Weka and her 2 chicks. The ducks and free-range chickens were regular visitors as well. We were thrilled to learn that the Managers of this lovely spot also are keen naturalists and are actively involved with habitat restoration. Two thumbs up!

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Wolfgang and Christine's avatar

Wolfgang and Christine

Germany

Ranking: 9/10

Nice place to stay.

Reviewed over 4 years ago and experienced in March 2014

Avoid Camping Fines!

The only camping map where each location is approved by every regional council in NZ. So if it shows on the map, you’re allowed to stay.

The Rankers Camping NZ app, is also in association with…

Laurie's avatar

Laurie

United States

Ranking: 8/10

We stayed in several holiday parks and DOC campgrounds during our stay. We were in an unpowered campervan and were looking for good communal facilities and scenic location.

This park is out of the way, not crowded, quiet, and surrounded by greenery. The wekas made their way around camp, along with other birds, which we enjoyed. We did not use the kitchen or laundry or lounge, only the showers, which were fine (and I think cost $1.00).

We got advice on things to see and do, and so made our way out to Otehei Bay for a day of kayaking and hiking. Absolutely lovely. We enjoyed our stay in such a calm place.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

anna anastasia's avatar

anna anastasia

Australia

Ranking: 9/10

On the recommendation of a friend we planned to spend a few nights at Russell Orongo Bay holiday park. We were given several different accommodation options upon our arrival. The options ranged from camping, dorm style accommodation to self contained cabins as well as our choice, the tourist tent. These gave us enough space to feel comfortable without losing the charm of sleeping in a tent. It had a double and single bed (real mattresses!), along with a small table and a couple of chairs that could be used outside or inside the tent, (if mosquitos were a problem). We were also provided with enough cutlery and utensils to prepare and cook our own meals on the communal bbqs, wood fire pizza oven and make use of the communal kitchens. As people who are partial to the camping ‘experience’, it was really great to have an opportunity to do this without our own camping gear, as we had come from overseas.
We were given a comprehensive and detailed range of activities in and around the area by the friendly staff. With no previous knowledge of the area we immediately felt like one of the locals. Angela, at the front desk was able to suggest many activities which all of which suited our relatively disorganised and uninformed itinerary.
Another highlight at the holiday park was without doubt the prolific birdlife. This really added a sense of ‘being away from it all’ and the tireless work of maintaining a natural habitat for them really shows. If you are looking for a dose of tranquillity, this is the place for it! At the same time, if you are looking for things to do in the area there is nearby picturesque and historical Russell as well as the countless secluded beaches and bays of this hidden treasure. Fortunately we were able to extend our stay for a whole week, allowing us to make the most of such a special place.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Tim Cook's avatar

Tim Cook

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

We had a superb time at the Orongo Bay campground. There are lovely big sites, perfect for running around with the kids. Weka visits were in unexpected treat and our evening forays into the nearby bush to eavesdrop on and try and spot kiwi was amazing. The pool was lovely with the warm weather and the facilities were perfectly adequate. Staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. I would recommend this camp ground as an excellent base for exploring the Russell region. Russell only being 5 mins drive away, with Orongo Bay being a nice quiet relaxing place to relax after busy days of holiday making! We look forward to our return in the not too distant future. Thanks for having us.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Trevor Sharman's avatar

Trevor Sharman

New Zealand

Ranking: 9/10

Fantastic family holiday park! We're coming back!

What a wonderful holiday we have had. This is a great family camp. The facilities are clean and the sites large. We had a caravan, awning, car and bags of room to sit out under the trees. The management are friendly and helpful. The scenery is fantastic and the bird song Tuis, Wekas Kiwis makes you feel like you are deep in the bush. They screen out a lot of would be noisy young groups and so it's a quiet safe family place, there's even a few ducks and chickens which the kids loved. The kids also loved the playground but best of all the pool which even in early Jan was quiet and clean and in a stunning setting. We feel like we have been to Fiji or something. Top marks thank you Angela. Trevor & Kate and family.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Julie Jennings's avatar

Julie Jennings

Ranking: 8/10

We had a lovely stay. The best thing about the park in mid January is the space. However I think the shower and toilet facilities are looking tired and past their best. The site is up for sale. The owners are extremely helpful, the grounds are well kept, but it is hard for the seasonal staff to keep on top with cleanliness as the facilities make it hard for them. The booking and payment system could also be improved by using credit card facilities. But the site is fabulous with its bird life. Showers... A dollar token with no control over the start or knowledge of when your 5 mins is up...but that's the joy of camping!

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Loz Moody's avatar

Loz Moody

New Zealand

Ranking: 9/10

We stayed here over the New Year, on the non powered sites. They sites were great, they were large and some backed onto lovely bush. There was also a seating and a place for a bonfire at the back of the sites. Weka and ducks roamed around the campsite and we could hear Moreporks at night. The staff were helpful and friendly, the facilities were clean and tidy, with great showers. The campsite is not too far from Russell to handy to everything! A great place to stay, would recommend this campsite.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Hannah Woodhouse's avatar

Hannah Woodhouse

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

What a lovely place! Our hosts were really helpful and arranged various experiences for us and suggested walks for us to go on. Really good facilities, amazing wildlife in the area and just a charming place. We really enjoyed our stay and if we ever manage to get back to NZ will definetly visit again.

Reviewed over 4 years ago

Angela Vandy's avatar

Angela Vandy

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

Our hosts at the Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday park were incredibly accommodating of our big school group and were extremely helpful during the months leading up to our trip up North. They helped us organise several activities in the area and were in constant communication with us which was fantastic. The campground was perfect for a large school group. We particularly appreciated the large communal kitchen and dining room, the small and clean cabins, the beautiful grounds and the close proximity to Russell and the car ferry crossing. We would definitely recommend this as a venue for school camps (although the bus on the ferry did prove a bit challenging at times). Great spot, thanks!

Reviewed almost 5 years ago

Richard Slee's avatar

Richard Slee

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

Stayed at the Orongo Bay Holiday Park back in August. We had a lovely stay at the park.The site is beautiful with birds running around (Wekos were abundant, which I hear isn't common). The staff had great advice on local attractions such as the The Duke inn and a trip on the bay. Great place to stay for relaxing and enjoying the Bay of Islands.

Reviewed almost 5 years ago

Gerrit Groeneveld's avatar

Gerrit Groeneveld

Ranking: 1/10

After 9 years of motorhoming here in N.Z and Australia I would say that my experience at this park was one of the worst. I've had to park on the road as sites were too boggy to park. The motorhome was not allowed to park on the powered site solid pad even though there were 4 available so got overcharged for staying in a muddy bog hole unimpressed to say the least.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park responds:

We are sorry that during winter 2014, Northland experienced " exceptional rainfall" according to NIWA ( National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research) The winter in Russell was relatively warm, but we, along with the rest of Northland, experienced the second wettest winter on record for Northland - the wettest was in 1946.
When you checked into our holiday park Gerrit we offered you a powered site with a gravel surface which was a couple of dollars more than the unpowered site which you chose. For the $20 per night you paid you had full use of the Park facilities, including unmetered hot showers, full kitchen and laundry and TV lounge with log fire ( wood provided)
We explained that the unpowered sites were muddy because of the rain and suggested that you park on the gravel roadway running around the grassed unpowered area, the purpose of which is to access the unpowered grassed tent sites. As you were the only camper in this area you would not be disturbed or blocking anyone. This internal Park roadway has grass on either side and picturesque views and the surface is similar to our powered gravelled sites.
Russell - Orongo Bay Holiday Park drains well to the adjacent wetland and we have never experienced flooding, however the volume of rain we experienced this year was exceptional.

Camping NZ App Icon

Camping NZ App

Every camping site on your iPhone™, iPad™ or Android™ phone or tablet. Avoid camping penalties using this council approved app. Featuring offline maps.

Download from the App Store Download Android app on Google Play

Sue Maher's avatar

Sue Maher

New Zealand

Ranking: 9/10

Stayed a couple of nights here and found it a great spot for a base to head out during the day and explore locally. So much to do around the area and this campground is nice and central. Really tidy and clean and relaxed with loads of friendly Wekas and Ducks to keep the kids entertained. It was lovely in the off-peak season and I can only commend Don and Angela on their insightful understanding of women to put a full length mirror next to two power points in the women's toilets. First time I've EVER seen this in a campground - it was brilliant (and great showers too)! Also a welcome feature was the open fire in the communal room which was great on the cold night. Thank you for a lovely visit.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Chaloner Chute's avatar

Chaloner Chute

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

We greatly enjoyed our stay here in February - most helpful welcome, lovely attracyive site, excellent facilities, clean bathrooms, toilets and kitchen - everything worked for us!

We are seasoned Campervanners and will heartily recommend to others.

Our hosts Angela & Don were very helpful, informative and just nice! They have great passion!

And we liked the Wekas! Cheeky chaps.

Reviewed over 5 years ago and experienced in February 2014

john anderson's avatar

john anderson

United Kingdom

Ranking: 9/10

Excellent and well maintained open campsite with good facilities. the pitch we had was ideal for bird watching!. very helpful reception staff. The swimming pool was a real bonus.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Lindley Clements's avatar

Lindley Clements

New Zealand

Ranking: 9/10

Our family camped here in January for a week, with another family. Flat, spacious, natural campsite, clean and ample bathrooms with nice soft water and good long hot showers for $1.00.We were very impressed with all the facilities on site , including the swimming pool, campfire site and dedicated fish cleaning bench and smoke house. This produced the best smoked kahawai ever! They even provide a bin for the fish guts etc - very thoughtful.
The kids spent hours in the swimming pool every day and at night loved lighting the campfire (firewood provided) to roast marshmallows.Wonderful experience for kids to be allowed and encouraged to light a fire outside at night. Another highlight was the resident weka population - a rare native bird which are abundant in the bush behind the camp.They are entertaining to watch and cheeky enough to steal food from your camp.The wekas do screech a lot at night but otherwise a quiet campground.Very good value for money . Do try the fresh oysters on sale just up the road too.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Caroline Jackson's avatar

Caroline Jackson

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

Great family camping experience. Good, clean, well-maintained facilities. Wonderful playground for kids and a big well-situated pool enjoyed by all. Fantastic birdlife. Large pitches with trees for shade and very close to Russell township. Can highly recommend.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Jan Craig's avatar

Jan Craig

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

Best little camp ground we have come across. My partner Stu and I booked for two nights stayed for three and would have stayed longer if we didn't have work commitments. Angela and Don are clearly passionate about their business and make sure you are not just welcomed to the camp but also that you are well informed on the local attractions and how best to access them. The wekas trotting about the camp and the sound of kiwi at night was an added bonus. Any time I went by the office I would see Angela and/Don helping another lot of campers giving them directions or advising on what to do. They deserve an award from the tourist board. The camp is not flashy but everything is there and available. The facilities were always clean and stocked. Very natural and highly recommended. We will be returning and have been telling our friends and family about the camp - Russell's best kept secret. Oh the sunsets each evening were stunning.

Reviewed over 5 years ago

mark burley's avatar

mark burley

England

Ranking: 10/10

We stayed at Orongo Bay Holiday Park for two nights during the week of the 25th Nov in our hired motorhome.

We were delighted by the fafacilities and location and received a very warm welcome from the park owners Angela and Don.

We experienced some problems with our motorhome during our stay and Angela and Don could not have been more helpful and we are extremely grateful to them both.

A lovely clean establishment that we would heartily recommend.

Mark and Vicky Burley

Reviewed over 5 years ago

Peter Obermaier's avatar

Peter Obermaier

Germany

Ranking: 10/10

Anfang November verbrachten wir ein paar wunderschöne Tage in der außergewöhnlichen Cottage des Orongo Bay Holiday Park. Neben den zahlreichen Wekas, Sittichen und anderer Vogelwelt, sowie der liebevollen und aufmerksamen Betreuung durch Angela möchte ich hier auf den einmaligen "Bay walk"-die Rundwanderung um die Bay, hinweisen. Diese ein Tages Wanderung ist ein ganz besonderes Erlebnis und in solcher Abwechslung wohl kaum noch einmal zu finden. Plankenwege über die Mangrovenlandschaft, subtropischer Regenwald, Strandpartien, Fährpassagen und nicht zu vergessen der sehenswerte Ort Russell, wechseln sich dabei ab und verleihen diesem Rundwanderweg ein ganz besonderes Flair und beeindrucken nicht nur den Naturliebhaber sondern hinterlassen einmalige und unvergessliche Eindrücke! Absolut empfehlenswert und jeder Schritt, jede Minute des "Bay-walk" sind die Mühe wert.

Reviewed almost 6 years ago

Rosie Leota's avatar

Rosie Leota

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

My partner, 3 year old son and friends had a wonderful time staying here over the labour weekend. The owners Angela and Don were very helpful and welcoming. We met so many wonderful people from other parts of the world and found there was plenty to do and enjoy for the kids. The playground, pool, camping area - bonfire (we enjoyed), alot of space for the kids to run around and explore. The facilities are great, kept clean and well maintained as well as very close to Russell township. It was brilliant! Definitely coming back here next time we are in Russell.

Reviewed almost 6 years ago

Dale Mercier's avatar

Dale Mercier

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

I recently stayed in this place. I have stage 4 (supposedly terminal) breast cancer which is also in my lymphs, lungs, and bones. I feel strongly that chlorine and fluoride in the water have been major contributors. I was delighted to find that the water at the park is from spring and boar sources. Not only that but it is treated with ultraviolet light - a non toxic alternative to chlorine. Chlorine is a proven neurotoxin and carcinogen (cancer causing substance).
I had a wonderful toxin-free shower. This may seem like a small thing but to me it is huge. The care with the water is matched by the cleanliness and friendliness of the camp. We were given free range eggs as well. All up a wonderful experience and highly recommended.

Reviewed almost 6 years ago

Russell-Orongo Bay Holiday Park is open for business… Visit Website …now's your chance to take a closer look.

K P's avatar

K P

New Zealand

Ranking: 9/10

Angela took our short notice booking on the day and was exceptionally helpful throughout our stay making tour bookings for us and giving us heaps of local information that made our time in Russell go smoothly. The birdlife was great and sorry Nelly & Lisa those were Weka running around, not Kiwis, but like K & F said they can be heard at night in the bush. It was a lovely place and even though our unit was one of the smaller ones, the larger than normal deck gave us great shelter and a prime spot for reading and relaxing. We were pleased to have stayed there & ended up staying an extra night. If you want a peaceful place with good facilities, modern and clean, with exceptional hosts, stay here.

Reviewed almost 6 years ago

Tracie Thornborough's avatar

Tracie Thornborough

New Zealand

Ranking: 10/10

WOW. what an amazing place, quiet, peaceful back to nature holiday park. very clean units. get greeted with rare new zealand birds, only a short ferry ride from Paiha. Russell is not a place to be missed on the map. alot of history around this place and even my 3 year old was interested in the history. The staff are very friendly and is happy to tell you all you need to see and do. great walk way across the water

Reviewed almost 6 years ago

Kt0909's avatar

Kt0909

Ranking: 9/10

My husband, 3 year old son and I stayed in our campervan, in a lovely powered site surrounded by greenery and native birds at our door every morning!

Angela and Don were extremely welcoming and really helped us make the most of our stay, with recommendations for whatever we were interested in seeing and doing in and around the town.

It's a short drive to Russell, but well worth it, to be in such a beautiful setting, and with owners who care so much about the environment and local flora and fauna. It made the stay more personal and rewarding.

All the amenities are very clean and high quality - the best we saw during our two week trip around the north island. We would come back as soon as we could!

Reviewed about 6 years ago

K & F's avatar

K & F

France

Ranking: 9/10

We spent March 2013 travelling around North Island in a large self-contained camper van. We visited a lot of different camping places and holiday parks and we’ve reviewed them all for Rankers. We judged them by different criteria from most people. We weren’t interested in playgrounds, paddling pools, trampolines, or all the other facilities for children. Instead we wanted peace and tranquillity, a beautiful location, clean and accessible facilities, and a decent amount of space between sites. We used the holiday parks mostly for one night stops and did not consider them as holiday destinations in their own right. Please read the following review with this in mind.

One of the best sites we found during our NZ trip. It was quiet and peaceful and the wildlife in the area was fascinating.

Kiwis are not “running around everywhere” as another reviewer has said, they’re too shy for that, and anyway they’re nocturnal, but they are there and you can see them if you take care. You can certainly hear them at night. The whole area is a kiwi and weka protection zone.

There were lots of weka on the site, and they’re fun to watch as they chase each other around.

Facilities are very good.

Russell (only 3km away) is a charming little town and well worth a visit. From there you have easy access across the bay on a regular passenger ferry to Paihia, which is much more touristy and a good access point to the Bay of Islands and all its attractions.

Be aware that to get to the holiday park you have to take a vehicle ferry across from Opua (or drive a very long way around), but don’t let this put you off, it only takes 5 minutes and it’s worth it !

Reviewed over 6 years ago and experienced in March 2013

alan_lynda's avatar

alan_lynda

Ranking: 8/10

A well equipped site with spacious pitches we had a very enjoyable stay. The owners are very friendly and informative. Great pride is taken in the wildlife that is encouraged in and around the campsite and for anyone interested, the bird life is a real bonus.

Reviewed over 6 years ago

Nelly & Lisa's avatar

Nelly & Lisa

United Kingdom

Ranking: 8/10

Amazing wildlife - kiwi running around everywhere. Great location, wildlife, brilliant beaches. Basic campsite but great.

Reviewed over 7 years ago and experienced in February 2012

graemec's avatar

graemec

New Zealand

Ranking: 9/10

Good rates very friendly
every thing we needed
thinks

Reviewed over 7 years ago

Siobhan Lorgena's avatar

Siobhan Lorgena

United Kingdom

Ranking: 9/10

Cheap rates and run by a very friendly woman. Just a short drive into Russell. TV room, kitchen and pool.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Alies van der plank's avatar

Alies van der plank

Netherlands

Ranking: 8/10

Very nice.

Reviewed over 9 years ago

Seacookie's avatar

Seacookie

United Kingdom

Ranking: 10/10

We loved our stay at Orongo Bay. It's quiet and friendly. Feels like a DoC site but with clean, modern facilities. Fantastic location close to Russell surrounded by bird life. We didn't want to leave! Much nicer place to stay than Top 10!

Reviewed over 9 years ago