Dolphin Encounter Kaikoura

Dolphin Encounter Kaikoura

Dolphin Encounter Kaikoura

93%

255 Rankers Reviews

210 Face-to-Face

4 Marine Animals

1 Dolphin Watching

12 Kaikoura

  • Check Availability

    • Call and discuss your needs.

    • Instant personal connection.

    • Credit card booking.

Online Maps

Photos

Meeting the locals in Kaikoura
The Dolphin Encounter boat
Show off dolphins
Photo session on the Dolphin Encounter tour

Information

Swim with and watch wild dolphins in Kaikoura

The Dolphin Encounter tour is a boat based tour that takes you to swim with or watch the acrobatic dusky dolphins along the Kaikoura coastline. An incredible tour and a "must do" during your time New Zealand!

Details

Feature Value Info

Organisation

Encounter Kaikoura

Commercial organisation

Location

South IslandKaikoura RegionKaikoura

Categories

  • Marine Animals
  • Dolphin Watching

Reviews

  • 255 Rankers Reviews

    Quick Quotes

    • Lots of dolphins, got to swim with them 5 times.
    • Everything I expected it to be.
    • Brilliant tour, must do when in Kaikoura.
    • Well organised.
    • Must do!

    Rating Distribution

    Rating Count Percentage
    10/10 136
    53%
    9/10 74
    29%
    8/10 31
    12%
    7/10 13
    5%
    6/10 1
    0%
    5/10 0
    0%
    4/10 0
    0%
    3/10 0
    0%
    2/10 0
    0%
    1/10 0
    0%
  • Reviewed 7 months ago

    10/10

    Incredible experience swimming amongst a super pod of dusky dolphins.

    Small boat with small number of participants made this a very special experience. Staff and crew were excellent.

    Cannot recommend highly enough, worth every cent.

    Lisa's avatar

    Lisa

    Customer

  • Reviewed almost 5 years ago

    9/10

    Good and informative service.

    Professional staff that make you feel comfortable, safe and well taken care of at all times. Very cold water!! But absolutely wonderful experience swimming with the dolphins and seals.

    Michael Holm's avatar

    Michael Holm

    Denmark

    Customer

  • Reviewed about 5 years ago and experienced in February 2017

    10/10

    Nothing to say more that this was a perfect trip, worth the money.

    Katharina Koch's avatar

    Katharina Koch

    Customer

  • Reviewed about 5 years ago and experienced in February 2017

    9/10

    Absolutely amazing but really expensive, something to have one time in life.

    Aurelie and Ben Marie's avatar

    Aurelie and Ben Marie

    France

    Customer

  • Reviewed about 5 years ago and experienced in February 2017

    9/10

    Unforgettable experience, nice employees, great photo opportunities, nice to see the animals in the wild.

    Seasickness! But the employees did care for us.

    Fentrup's avatar

    Fentrup

    Germany

    Customer

  • Reviewed about 5 years ago and experienced in February 2017

    10/10

    It was a great experience.

    The people there are very kind and well organised. Cost $169 for swimming with the dolphins.

    Stefan  Zink's avatar

    Stefan Zink

    Germany

    Customer

  • Reviewed over 5 years ago and experienced in November 2016

    9/10

    Well organised, saw a lot of dolphins, long time in the water, bad weather conditions.

    Sebastian Braun's avatar

    Sebastian Braun

    Germany

    Customer

  • Reviewed over 5 years ago and experienced in March 2016

    10/10

    Fabulous!

    200 dolphins, a lot of interaction with them. Long time in the water so worth the money!

    Virginia Fradin's avatar

    Virginia Fradin

    France

    Customer

  • Reviewed over 5 years ago and experienced in March 2016

    10/10

    We did the tour at 5:30am, when the Dusky Dolphins were very lively and playful.

    The most enchanting thing I did in my life. The only negative is that the people in the water is too much.

    Wendy van Boom's avatar

    Wendy van Boom

    Belgium

    Customer

  • Reviewed over 5 years ago and experienced in March 2016

    9/10

    Breathtaking experience!!

    Professional, experienced organisation. One minor issue: groups were too big. Besides that, a thumbs up!!

    Olivier Anciaux's avatar

    Olivier Anciaux

    Belgium

    Customer

  • Reviewed over 5 years ago and experienced in March 2016

    10/10

    Perfect = equipment was new, size of the boat, number of swimmers, respect of wildlife, time of the trip was comparable for the price.

    Olivier Reculeau's avatar

    Olivier Reculeau

    France

    Customer

  • Reviewed over 5 years ago

    10/10

    Didn't get to experience it as access to Kaikoura was cut off after the earthquake.

    Called in to cancel our reservation and it was very fuss free. Thumbs up to the staff! Will definitely return to try it in future!

    Joanne Woo's avatar

    Joanne Woo

    Singapore

    Customer

  • Reviewed almost 6 years ago

    6/10

    Quite pricey, we had really horrible weather and the sea was not great, but we didn't have much choice but to go as they were operating and we'd already paid.

    The staff who handed out the wetsuits kept giving wrong sizes and even after we asked for a specific size they gave a different one that what we'd asked for, so suiting up wasn't a pleasant experience. I wasn't able to complete the swim as it was way too much for me and the waves were shocking. They did however refund my money and charge me a spectator rate. I think this would be a really wonderful experience in good weather, so I suggest you plan your swim around the weather.

    Chris's avatar

    Chris

    New Zealand

    Customer

  • Reviewed almost 6 years ago and experienced in March 2016

    9/10

    It was so amazing to swim with wild dolphins in the sea and totally worth the $170 and throwing up!

    Daniel Weber's avatar

    Daniel Weber

    Germany

    Customer

  • Reviewed almost 6 years ago and experienced in March 2016

    10/10

    Had an amazing time swimming with dolphins, they literally swim around you.

    It was incredible.

    Josh Legge's avatar

    Josh Legge

    United Kingdom

    Customer

  • Reviewed almost 6 years ago and experienced in March 2016

    10/10

    A fantastic experience to swim with the wild dolphins, staff were really nice, also we made a short trip to see other marine life.

    Susanne Breudel's avatar

    Susanne Breudel

    Germany

    Customer

  • Reviewed about 6 years ago and experienced in January 2016

    10/10

    Quite cold, but we did swim with heaps of dolphins, definitely one of the highlights of travelling.

    Nils Kissel's avatar

    Nils Kissel

    Germany

    Customer

  • Reviewed about 6 years ago and experienced in February 2016

    10/10

    One of the most beautiful experiences in my life!!

    The staff were friendly and the dolphins were amazing! Take some medication with you if you tend to get seasick.

    Mira Huckfield's avatar

    Mira Huckfield

    Germany

    Customer

  • Reviewed about 6 years ago and experienced in March 2016

    10/10

    Very well organised company: great location, easy to find, lots of parking space available.

    Literally everything is taken care of, from a dry wetsuit to anti fog spray and hot showers. Once in a lifetime experience, but do not forget to bring your sea sickness pills because you really need them when the sea is a bit rough. It might seem a bit expensive but it is truly worth the money!

    Bas Hoogteijling's avatar

    Bas Hoogteijling

    Netherlands

    Customer

  • Reviewed over 6 years ago and experienced in February 2016

    9/10

    The experience was amazing.

    We wanted to swim with them but there was no more space. We watched and it was a special day. We saw four dolphins, something uncommon on this activity. But the boat went lots of times after the dolphins when it was enough. For us it was time to leave them alone.

    magdalena gomez haedo's avatar

    magdalena gomez haedo

    Uruguay

    Customer