Traveller Voted Awards 2009

Rankers NZ presents awards to this years outstanding experiences, as voted by travellers to New Zealand.

A Top Ranked NZ award is quite different to any other. This time tourism operators have been assessed by the most important critic of all - the Independent Traveller.

Top Ranked NZ awards are presented annually to tourism experiences and operators which have displayed a consistently high ranking score throughout the year.

Over 5,000 votes were cast by the most important critic of all - the Independent Traveller. These businesses have shown they look after their customers by going the extra mile. It's about people looking after people.

Here's to achievement, recognised. To people enterprising, in good heart, and flourishing. Cheers.

Nick, Cy and the Rankers Crew

Category Awards

Listed below are winners of each nationwide category. Tourism operators are listed within their region but are New Zealand wide winners or finalists.

North Island

South Island

Winners and finalists can display these official badges to promote their achievement:

Thumb Thumb Thumb

Read the award FAQs for further information.

The Nitty Gritty

Here's a run down of how these tourism operators where selected.

  • Results were taken from all reviews posted between June 1 2008 and May 30 2009.
  • Over 5000 reviews received in this period.
  • All Tourism Operators apply. Those with a history of good reviews before June 1st 2008 had the best foundation from the outset.
  • Qualifiers for the awards have a trusted body of high quality reviews.
  • Any tourism operator tagged to multiple categories receive the single highest award they apply for. No multiple award winners.

Awards are given according to category. Categories fall into into four areas, depending on the number of reviews and qualifiers.

  1. Categories with the most reviews and a number of strong qualifiers have one winner and two finalists.
  2. Categories with a reasonable number of reviews with some strong qualifiers have one winner and one finalist.
  3. Categories with less reviews and generally one strong qualifier have one winner and no finalists.
  4. Categories that are yet to have a trusted body of reviews have no winners or finalists.